We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience”
Review of Home Port Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Port Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice experience”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely B+B in Lubec, Maine.
The owners Susanna and Dave, were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was substantial and delicious. Fruit was fresh; coffee was rich, not watered down. The warm blueberry muffins each day were a wonderful addition.
The home is nicely furnished and our room and bed were comfortable and clean.
We would definitely return to this B+ B.
Joyce

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably quieter because kitchen and dining room are on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and felt at home. Breakfast was delicious and varied. The proprietors were warm and anxious to make us feel at home. They also gave us suggestions as to how to best see the sights. I would love to go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sdsimmons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 4 nights during the 4th. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was great and on mornings when he had to leave before they served breakfast they provided a bagged lunch. If we are in the area again, we will stay here.

The house is about 2 blocks from the couple of restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jungbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I traveled to Lubec to see West Quody lighthouse. We arrived late at the Inn and had to call several times for directions. Dave and Suzanna were great. They were so gracious and understanding and breakfast was outstanding, from the homemade cereal to the blueberry pancakes and in between. Our only regret is that we could not enjoy the Inn more then we did. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our week in Maine. Dave was a very welcoming host and makes a terrific breakfast! He made us feel at home instantly. Room was very comfortable, clean and charming. Dining room made you want to linger over coffee.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, ME
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed one night over Labor Day and really enjoyed our visit. The hosts were very warm and helpful, the room was really sweet, and the breakfast was delicious. We stayed in the Library room and it was great. The bathroom was super tiny but not a big deal. Breakfast was delightful and the entire place was very clean and comfortable. Wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ribsmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Those remembering Home Port Inn dinners may be disappointed to learn its dining room now operates for breakfast only, but it is an appealing Bed and Breakfast Inn. Dave and Suzanna are friendly and helpful. My wife and I stayed there two nights in August as part of our 10-day touring trip in Maine. The weather changed unexpectedly our first night there to rainy, and we had left our rain gear in our car. As we prepared to go out the next morning, we were looking out the front door and came up with the idea I should go back to our room and get a bath towel to put over my head and upper body to go get our jackets and umbrella. Suzanna overheard, interrupted, and volunteered Dave's rain parka on a hook by the front door and urged me to wear it to go to our car. That certainly made us feel as if we were family.

The living room is spacious and inviting. That still-rainy evening we came in to find a fire going in the fireplace, very homey. The Inn has lovely features such as a bay window in the living room, and a garden terrace outside the dining room connected by glass doors. Our room had a king-size bed, and was very comfortable. You must pre-select your breakfast time (7:30, 8 or 8:30 AM) the prior evening, and choose whether you'd like Dave's homemade granola as the main item, or Suzanna's hot entree, that changes from day to day. The breakfast buffet includes choice of juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, and toast. There is no off-street parking, but the traffic level on Main street is quite low, and usually one will be able to park within a few car lengths of the front door on one side of the road or t'other.

We attended an outstanding free piano concert our second evening, in the church across the street, part of the ongoing Summerkeys music festival in Lubec. It is a four-blocks walk down the hill to Water Street, where most of the restaurants and businesses are.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaigesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.1 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
235 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
23 reviews
13.4 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
48 reviews
16.5 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Port Inn

Property: Home Port Inn
Address: 45 Main St, Lubec, ME 04652-1035
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Port Inn is a comfortable and hospitable bed and breakfast inn situated on a tree lined street in the village of Lubec. We have 7 delightful rooms and start your day with a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Home Port Inn Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing