We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy inn, wonderful innkeepers”
Review of Home Port Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Port Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Dave and Susannah Gale really go out of their way to make guests feel at home and to accommodate any special requests. While they no longer serve dinners, their full breakfasts are delicious.
The rooms are charming and comfortable. Though the bathrooms are not large, they are functional with plenty of hot water. If the weather should turn cold (possible even in July!), Dave will light a fire in the cozy living room.
If you want to attend SummerKeys classes or events, the location of the Home Port is ideal.
This is a great place in my favorite vacation spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here on the last leg of our trip! We are so glad we did. The hosts are wonderful people and very easy to talk to. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic Suzanne! Okay I'm sure that Dave's would've been. The beds were comfy, the place is quiet and charming. I love old houses to begin with so I fell in love with it the minute I entered the main area. Upon my arrival, I asked for some hot water to have some tea on the front lawn and Suzanne was very accommodating. I wished we could've stayed another night but we had been on the road for 8 days via a motorcycle and we needed to get home. I will be back by vehicle in the near future and I would not hesitate to stay with these folks again. Thank you for making our last night a relaxing one! Not sure where you get the soaps you use in the rooms, but they were wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsGMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at the Home Port Inn Thursday July 7. It was booked online two days before our stay. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Suzannah and given a tour of the house and shown to our room. We briefly met Dave, as he was headed out. The room had a feeling of home (a true B&B). We headed to town for suppper and had a nice meal at Frankies on the deck. Upon our return, we found Suzannah busy in the kitchen making breakfast. No TV in the rooms, which I like, but wifi was available. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very soundly. We got up and went to breakfast and was treated to a very FILLING meal (they will not serve anything before it's time) that was just right. Dave gave us an itinerary for our visit to the area that was just right. Suzannah gave Carol a tip on tickets for tea, which we made and are so thankful for the advice. We almost stayed another night, but our schedule just wouldn't allow it. We will be back!!! GREAT HOSPITALITY and would recommend to anyone going to Lubec, ME or the area. ***** rating

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Rarely stay in small towns or inns but we needed a midpoint place to stay on way to NS, Canada. The Home Port Inn was just wonderful. Charming innkeepers, cozy rooms and decorated lovely. The breakfast was delicous, set out artfully and plenty to eat. Campobello and light houses are very close to the inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evie12339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our two night stay at The Homeport Inn with Dave and Suzanne, the inn keepers, could not have been more pleasant. They made us feel welcome and especially went out of their way to make our 8.5 yr old daughter feel welcome. They truly love what they do!

The breakfast is simple but quite good. The homemade cereal is wonderful and the dinners we had one of the nites that we stayed there were quite good too.

The location of the BnB is convenient to walking downtown Lubec and the room with a view that we occupied is great. A wonderful view and the two wonderful nites of rest.

Give them a try if you are up Lubec way!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boilermaker_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Very charming inn offering just what we wanted. David & Suzannah made us feel so welcomed into their home, we felt like one of the family.We never felt more welcomed anywhere.You can't beat that. Nice continental breakfast with yogurt,whole grain breads,English muffins, home made jams,cereal,juices,excellent coffee.Much more than expected & very satisfying.Fantastic seafood meals at reasonable prices. Really, you can't beat the lobster.Extreme satisfying experience all around. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed one night and thought it was great. It was quirky, with some lovely old fashioned touches to the rooms, especially in the bathroom. The host was very friendly and helpful and the inn was very clean and the room was nicely decorated. But the breakfast was the best bit. It was a continental breakfast, but there was loads to choose from with the highlight being the delicious fresh fruit, and homemade granola. And Lubec is a wonderful town, we had a great visit.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ReduceReuseRecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lubec hotels
0.1 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
2.5 mi away
Eastland Motel
Eastland Motel
#2 of 8 in Lubec
414 reviews
3.3 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Port Inn

Address: 45 Main St, Lubec, ME 04652-1035
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Home Port Inn is a comfortable and hospitable bed and breakfast inn situated on a tree lined street in the village of Lubec. We have 7 delightful rooms and start your day with a delicious breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Home Port Inn Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing