We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Maine B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2010

After staying for a week in Eastport and driving through Nova Scotia, I ended two weeks of travel at the Peacock House. Innkeepers were excellent and even greeted me by name upon arrival. Breakfast was lovely. The house itself was exceptional as was the bed and linens. Lots of thought was put into this B&B. I took their suggestion and went back over to Campobello Island to the beach and enjoyed a memorable walk.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 272 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

We traveled the coast of Maine, staying in various B&Bs, and this was the best bang for the buck. What a wonderful couple! What sincere hospitality and care. Very peaceful, lovely, quiet, homey. Sue was always there, like Mom, ready to help, advise, listen to the tales of your day. The town is sweet and warm. We'd come back here just for the B&B experience. Bravo.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan1954Nport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Loved it from the moment we arrived and we didn't want to leave! One night was just not enough! Dennis and Sue make you feel very welcome. The house is simply delightful. It's well decorated and maintained. The room was amazing (we stayed in the Captain's Cabin). If you want to know about things to do, just ask Sue! She told us we couldn't miss Campobello Island in New Brunswick and she was right! We absolutely loved Lubec!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askssk715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The nicest B & B we've ever stayed in. Wonderful restored home of a ship''s captain, lovingly cared for. Everythng is for the benefit of the guests. Host & hostess couldn't do enough in terms of making recommendations; accommodated ourt older bodies with the use of a side door, Made us feel entirely welcome. Fabulous breakfast and wonderful cameraderie with other guests. They put everyone in a happy mood.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We live in Maine and had heard about Lubec and the Bay of Fundy. We booked at the Peacock House and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The innkeepers, Sue and Dennis, could not have done more to make us feel at home. A beautiful facility and we were surprised at the number of restaurants in Lubec. We did a day trip through Canada which involved 2 ferries and all quite fun. Campobello is literally across the river and so worth it. You can just picture the Roosevelt's in their home there and how much the area meant to them. .Seeing the tides in the Bay of Fundy is worth the trip alone. We visited local chocolate factories, salmon smoke houses and Rayes Mustard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jweston20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed 3 nights recently. The house is beautifully decorated, the food delicious and the hosts were delightful. What a find!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameliaandtoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

From the moment you arrive, to the time you reluctantly leave, Dennis and Sue at Peacock House make you feel very welcome.
They are justifiably proud of the beautiful improvements they have made to this lovely old Victorian.
All the work they have done is in keeping with the period of the house----wall paper, furniture, art work etc.
The breakfasts are delicious .
Sue is very obliging and willing to fill whatever requests her guests may have.
We were traveling with a dear friend, and when Sue noticed we were all sitting outside on her pretty patio having some wine and "munchies", she arrived with a beautiful ice bucket, glasses and bowl.
The location is ideal for visiting Campobello Island and FDR's summer house. A fascinating place.
We highly recommend Peacock House.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Katrina_S_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
2.5 mi away
Eastland Motel
Eastland Motel
#2 of 8 in Lubec
415 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
0.2 mi away
Cohill's Inn
Cohill's Inn
#5 of 8 in Lubec
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock House offers gracious accommodations in the easternmost town in the US. The inn, built in 1860 has seven well-appointed suites (with king beds) and standard-sized rooms (with queen beds), all with private bath. Also enjoy four common rooms downstairs where you can mingle with guests, or find a cozy corner to relax. The inn is the ideal place for couples and girlfriends get-aways. Located by the Bay of Fundy, see the rugged coast with 20 foot tides, explore renowned hiking trails , and visit nearby beaches and lighthouses . Whales, seals and bald eagles frequent the area. Campobello Island, the summer home of Franklin Roosevelt is less than three miles from the inn. Peacock House is located within the village of Lubec, within easy walking distance of the local restaurants. A full breakfast is included with your stay and is created to please the eye and palate. Visit Peacock House and see why tripadvisor reviewers have given it the highest rating in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing