We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hosts and accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Sue and Dennis provided a friendly welcome and excellent service throughout our stay of three nights. Tips about restaurants and activities in the area were very helpful. The bedrooms, like the rest of the house, are tastefully furnished, comfortable and immaculate. We had very interesting conversations with Sue and Dennis and guests in the lounge in the evening and at breakfast in the morning. Dennis cooks varied and tasty breakfasts which are attractively presented, and Sue provides friendly and attentive service in the dining room. There is a small fridge in the lounge for the convenience of guests. We like everything about Peacock House and definitely intend to return. We've stayed at many B & Bs, and Peacock House is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary271230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 269 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

We have just left Lubec after spending three wonderfully restful nights at Peacock House, a true gem. Sue and Dennis are wonderful hosts and made everyone feel welcome, nothing was too much for them but at the same time you had peace and privacy if that is what you wanted. Rooms are beautifully furnished and after a long day sightseeing it is lovely to be able to sink into comfortable sofas and compare notes with other guests. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottage01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Sue and Dennis Baker make you family as soon as you walk in the door of this charming comfortable house. They are wonderful hosts who introduce you to the other guests who are all enjoying the sunroom, living room and beautiful gardens. Our main reason for coming to Lubec was to visit Campobello Island, across the harbor. Sue gave us a list of places to stop and see on the Island, filling our whole day. Dennis cooks delicious, gourmet breakfasts with Sue serving her guests, who feel more like visiting relatives. Our room was the Captain's Cabin. Beautifully decorated and so, so comfortable. Sure hope we get to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We went to Lubec to go on a Whale watching tour and last minute schedualed a stay at the Peacock House. The Inn lives up to all of the other reveiws on trip advisor. Sue and Dennis are incredibly gracious hosts and creat such a friendly atmosphere that all of the guests are involved in fun conversation at the breakfast table and late a.fternoons. Dennis creats mouth watering and filling breakfasts. The Inn is very tastefully decorated and exeptionally clean. We have stayed at several B&B's, the Peacock House certainly ranks as one of the very best we have ever stayed at. We might return to Lubec just to enjoy another stay at the Peacok House.
Steve and Shelley

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeekedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We spent only one night in Lubec while visiting coastal Maine and Campobello Island New Brunswick CA and happily chose the amazing B and B ... PEACOCK HOUSE! We stayed in the lovely Wedgewood suite and enjoyed every minute of our all too brief stay with the most friendly innkeepers Sue and Dennis Baker. The inn is beautiful inside and out, and the breakfast prepared by Dennis was delicious! Thank you ... we enjoyed meeting you and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

There can be no complaints about the Peacock Inn. I have never been to a place where the innkeepers were so intense about making everyone's stay absolutely PERFECT! The people who stay there all mingle so well. The food was wonderful and the rooms were all beautiful with thoughtful detail. There is not much to do in the village, so you don't miss being right on the water. You can still hear two fog horns going at night. It was a very warm and inviting place to be and especially great to use as a base to Canada and other coastal villages.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiebell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Words to describe - Beautiful, Clean, Relaxing, Cozy, Friendly, Quiet, Delicious Breakfast, Wonderful Hostess, and WIFI!!!!! No complaints on this one.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warmlittlediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
20.6 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
23.7 mi away
Margaretta Inn
Margaretta Inn
#1 of 3 in Machias
344 reviews
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock House offers gracious accommodations in the easternmost town in the US. The inn, built in 1860 has seven well-appointed suites (with king beds) and standard-sized rooms (with queen beds), all with private bath. Also enjoy four common rooms downstairs where you can mingle with guests, or find a cozy corner to relax. The inn is the ideal place for couples and girlfriends get-aways. Located by the Bay of Fundy, see the rugged coast with 20 foot tides, explore renowned hiking trails , and visit nearby beaches and lighthouses . Whales, seals and bald eagles frequent the area. Campobello Island, the summer home of Franklin Roosevelt is less than three miles from the inn. Peacock House is located within the village of Lubec, within easy walking distance of the local restaurants. A full breakfast is included with your stay and is created to please the eye and palate. Visit Peacock House and see why tripadvisor reviewers have given it the highest rating in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing