We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B and B has more than a night's lodging to offer.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
336 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“This B and B has more than a night's lodging to offer.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We came through from Canada to coastal Maine without any booking for night-time "shelter" and arrived in Lubec in fog/mist with everything looking closed up awaiting summer. But no, Sue and Dennis had a small light on in Peacock House, and on opening the door we found a warm welcome, and a fantastic host and hostess. We had the spacious Margaret Chase Smith Room, commemorating the first woman Senator in the US...a fearless woman, who refused to be called a feminist as she considered herself first and foremost a human being. Hurrah for that! There was a slim volume in the room for guests to read, possibly sitting on one of the two easy (rocking) chairs. But you did not need to sit alone upstairs. there is a sunroom where hot drinks are available, a lounge where folk can congregate, and a library full of interesting books. The unpretentious knowledge and enthusiasm of your hostess, Sue, for reading, and the literature she has enjoyed, are infectious, and you can talk the sun round discussing Kafka, Scot-Fitzgerald and Charlotte Bronte with her. I have met another Trollope fan who would like to alter the ending of "The Small House at Allington"! Your guests know how to make you feel comfortable, and help to socialise with others if that is you way. They keep a spotlessly clean house and care that their guests enjoy their stay. We left, after a light breakfast, with one regret: that we did not get up to see the sun rise over the water. Apparently on occasion you can get the famous "green sky effect". This is the most easterly point in the US. Having seen the sun set over the Egg and Rhum from the Ardnamurchan Peninsular, the most westerly point of the British Isles in Scotland, it would have been perfect to see it rise where the two land split away millions of years ago. Another time maybe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
175
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are seasoned visitors to Maine, and have enjoyed discovering many of the coastal communities over the past ten years, but had never made it up to the Bold Coast until this trip. Lubec is the real coastal Maine and the Peacock House is everything a B&B should be.

The hosts Dennis and Sue are gracious and welcoming; you can see that the inn is their pride and joy and they genuinely want you to enjoy it. The surroundings are immaculate and tastefully decorated. They have anticipated every guest need and the common areas are relaxing and comfortable. We sat outside on the deck with a drink and enjoyed their beautiful garden.

We stayed in the Peacock suite which was spacious, light, airy, private and comfortable. It had a full bath plus a sink and small refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was delicious - there are two sittings and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Easy parking right out front. Lubec is delightful - a small, unspoiled village. Dining options were good though - we ate at Frank's Dockside and at Cohill's, the pub. Both were excellent but be prepared to eat early (6pm!) even on a weekend.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Friends we talked to asked why we would go to Lubec, Maine. My response would be its well worth the drive up the coast. The Peacock Bed and Breakfast just made the trip that much more special. What a find. Not only were their rates extremely reasonable, but the place was just great in every way. Comfortable and clean room, wonderful breakfasts and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with places to eat, directions and things to do. Two night was not enough to see everything and enjoy the area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the Seaglass Suite which we totally enjoyed. The owners Sue and Dennis have a very beautiful and meticulously kept inn. Their home is so warm and welcoming from the minute you walk in the door until you leave. Dennis makes wonderful breakfasts(different every am). We enjoyed chatting with other guests and Sue always had such interesting conversation . Both she and Dennis have an outstanding inn. You will be extremely pleased-no question for the Lubec area-The Peacock delivers.

Room Tip: We loved the Seaglass suite-very spacious,private, and has its own off street parking and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redfishFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
342 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Peacock House in Lubec, Maine is a great place to stay while visiting Roosevelt Campobello International Park in Canada. Campobello is a little over two miles from the B&B. The Innkeepers do everything to make you feel at home. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. We only stayed one short night, but would definitely stay there again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Peacock House B & B lived up to all the excellent ratings they've received. Our room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The living areas were very comfortable and inviting and we enjoyed the time visiting with Sue and Dennis. They were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was delicious- loved the "Dutch Babies" and the presentation deserved 5 stars. We will stay there again and recommend it to other travelers.
Doug and Robbie, Salem, SC

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie_and_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I found Sue and Dennis to be a wonderful couple to speak to.
Their B&B, anyone can see, is always in a state of continued care and upkeep..If anyone were to buy it, the new owner would be getting a turn key jewel. My wife and I slept very well, in the very comfortable Summer Room, except for the fog horn in the distance, but it was so faint, that I was surprised that it bothered me, as usally that type of sound makes me sleep even better.The breakfast the following day was overboard. If I were younger, purchasing this B&B would be something I would pursue. Great value for the money spent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
47 reviews
10.1 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
22 reviews
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing