We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Lubec...superb attention to every detail”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Peacock House for three nights, two in the Peacock Suite and one in the Captains Cabin (because the Peacock was booked). Both rooms were well appointed and spotless with comfortable beds, excellent lighting and even a special wash cloth for make-up removal. The common areas and rooms were inviting and beautifully decorated. Sue and Dennis are perfect hosts. They greeted us warmly and prepared delicious breakfasts each morning. They were very helpful in providing guidence on restaurants and things to do in the area. The house is walking distance to restaurants in town and very convenient for visiting Campobello, a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Peacock Suite is more spacious and has a fireplace and small fridge. We also found the Captains Cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Peacock House. This was as close to being at home as you could be at a B&B. The rooms are really well appointed and the bed was quite comfortable. Wifi is strong and consistent. The common area is spacious and comfortable. The hosts, Sue and Dennis go out of their way to make feel at home. They are very familiar with the area and they provided excellent guidance on where and when to go visiting the sites in the area. They will send you off with a very substantial breakfast and good directions. Be advised that because of the location, cell coverage is sparse, and it might be via a Canadian cell tower bringing international rates. The best place to visit is Campobello, but as it is in Canada, bring your passport.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank johnawc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hosts Sue and Dennis are truly in the right business. They have created a haven of luxury, comfort and hospitality in the heart of Lubec, a charming Maine town -- so far Downeast, it's almost in Canada. Every detail has been well thought out, and they make sure you feel pampered throughout your stay. Our three breakfasts were all outstanding, with creative, mouth-watering food prepared by Dennis and served graciously by Sue in their lovely dining room. As good as B&Bs get (and we've stayed in lots!).

Room Tip: The Sea Glass suite has it's own entrance and driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I just spent four nights at the Peacock House in Lubec, Maine. What a great place to stay in Downeast Maine. We stayed in the Peacock Suite which was well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast each day was delicious and Sue went the extra mile to make each guest feel right at home. The house is in a nice location for visiting Campobello, Eastport, and St. Andrews. We both love the area and look forward to visiting Sue and Dennis again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arceeOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Peacock for 3 nights recently. We choose them after speaking with someone last year while visiting the area. It was an excellent choice!!!! Dennis and Sue make you feel at home and go the extra mile to make sure that your stay is special.

Each evening during our stay, Dennis and Sue go together with whichever guests were interested for a wine and cheese snack fest. Sue would also play the piano.

The B & B is spotless and welcoming. We have already reserved for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We chose the Peacock House for a quick stay in Lubec. This was a great B&B. We stayed in the Peacock Suite, which was spacious and very clean. Cookies available at arrival. Sue and Dennis were very friendly and helpful innkeepers, with recommendations for restaurants to try at dinner. Unfortunately, since we had to leave early in the morning for a puffin trip from Cutler, we missed out on the full breakfast, but we were provided a to-go breakfast of muffins, fruit, and juice to take with us. Lubec is quiet and charming, a nice change of pace from Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsyddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lubec, although naturally beautiful, is economically depressing. Literally is seemed that every other house, (even great old victorians), was abandoned, as well as business after business. It made me sad, it was kind of creepy, and if I had to plan my trip again I would not make the trek up there. You read all the great reviews of Campabello, its pretty, but so is the rest of the coast of Maine and its islands. That being said, The Peacock House is a bright spot in town. It is lovingly restored, the owners are fun and really seem to care about what they are doing. Breakfast was delicious - beds soft and fluffy. The shower was small, but in an old house you have to fit baths in where you can. My only complaint was for our second night we had to move rooms due to our late reservation, (that was fine and agreed to ahead of time) and the second room smellled SOOOOOO much like a lavender sache that it put my husband over the edge. I suggested we just check out early, and head back down the coast and he joyously took me up on the offer. Dear Lubec- I hope you find some way to make a comeback, because you have the potential of being a great little town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank puuwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
2.5 mi away
Eastland Motel
Eastland Motel
#2 of 8 in Lubec
415 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
0.2 mi away
Cohill's Inn
Cohill's Inn
#5 of 8 in Lubec
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock House offers gracious accommodations in the easternmost town in the US. The inn, built in 1860 has seven well-appointed suites (with king beds) and standard-sized rooms (with queen beds), all with private bath. Also enjoy four common rooms downstairs where you can mingle with guests, or find a cozy corner to relax. The inn is the ideal place for couples and girlfriends get-aways. Located by the Bay of Fundy, see the rugged coast with 20 foot tides, explore renowned hiking trails , and visit nearby beaches and lighthouses . Whales, seals and bald eagles frequent the area. Campobello Island, the summer home of Franklin Roosevelt is less than three miles from the inn. Peacock House is located within the village of Lubec, within easy walking distance of the local restaurants. A full breakfast is included with your stay and is created to please the eye and palate. Visit Peacock House and see why tripadvisor reviewers have given it the highest rating in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing