We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place to Stay in Lubec”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay in Lubec”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were woring our way up the Maine coast, and Lubec was one of our stops prior to going up to Canada. We were warmly greeted by Sue as we pulled up to their beautiful house. The room was comforable and absolutely pristine. Breakfast was really good. All in all an excellent place.

Room Tip: The captain's Cabin was quiet and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewAdventurer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
174
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

When we drove around the corner (from Rtt 1)into this little town (Lubec) we pulled up to a pristine white century home. The lawn was manicured, flowers were abundant and this was just the preview of this Classy establishment. We were greeted on the front steps by one of the owners with a cheery smile and light conversation. The totally renovated home is impeccably clean and well appointed. The home could be a showroom for furnishings. Though Lubec is a tiny town, you are minutes from Campobelo Island in Canada. It was the summer home of President Roosevelt. Of course we went over the small bridge through customs to tour the island and house.
Peacock House Inn/B&B and its furnishings look brand new, but they have been in business for 11 years. Both Sue and Dennis (the owners) do everything themselves. If I could give a rating higher than excellent it would be Excellent +. Homemade cookies in the early evening for all guests with coffee or tea. Great conversation flowed between the owners and guests. The breakfast should be filmed for the Food Network and HGTV could do a special of the entire house, and the yard is picture perfect. There is a summer camp for music lovers called the Summer Keys check it out if you are a novice or for enrichment.
We will go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

In all my years of traveling I have never stayed at a finer place than the Peacock House B&B in Lubec, Maine. The house is somewhat historic, having been built by a sea captain, but the owners, Dennis and Sue Baker have managed to make the place up-to-date and comfortable while retaining the 19th century charm. The common areas open to guests include a sunroom with a bar, a microwave, and cookies withcoffee and tea; a living room with a baby-grand piano (in excellent tune!); a library with an interesting selection of books, a deck that overlooks beautiful floral gardens, and an expansive grass-covered yard with Adirondack chairs. The guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and contain comfortable furniture. (Each has its own bathroom.) This house is located a short walking distance from the grocery store, the restaurants on Water Street, and the location of the SummerKeys music program for adults, which offers free concerts by professional classical musicians every Wednesday evening from mid-June through August. As for the breakfasts at the Peacock House, they are outstanding. Dennis Baker is a master at preparing delicious hearty food with a lovely presentation. Each breakfast featured a hot beverage, fruit juice, fresh fruit, a freshly baked muffin and a generous entree portion. I have stayed in many hotels, inns and B&Bs, but no other has ever compared to the quality of the Peacock House. Incidentally, in its earlier days, the house hosted notable Mainers such as Senators Ed Muskie and Margaret Chase Smith (for whom one of the rooms has been named). In more recent years, Seinfeld's "Kramer" spent the night while on a photo trip through Downeast Maine.

Room Tip: Check out the website to see the rooms and the prices. The photos are accurate, and there is a hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Cute, clean comfortable and friendly, with a nice breakfast and gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack06Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Lubec. The building is lovely and is extremely well maintained. Our room was large and comfortable. I don't think there is air conditioning, but there was an excellent ceiling fan over the bed, and the room was comfortable even though the weather was warm. There is no elevator, so you may need to carry your luggage up the stairs. Dennis was very helpful with this. The breakfast is very good. Sue is a delightful hostess, and can give very useful information about where to eat. Lubec is very near Canada, and apparently cell phones have a tendency to sometimes pick up a Canadian signal. Sometimes they pick up no signal at all. We were well advised to turn off our cell phones (or at least turn off cellular and/or roaming on the phone) to avoid nasty surprises on the cell phone bill. We were also advised that the cell phone is not good as an alarm clock there, because it may jump an hour if it picks up a Canadian signal. Mine did jump an hour; I ended up turning it off. The Inn has wifi.
We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay again if in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sullysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

For a relaxing time in Lubec this is a great stay. There's not much in town in the way of things to do, but if you're looking for a quiet time this is a good pick. The innkeepers are very knowledgeable and the family style breakfast was very good. The hardwood floors can make the room a little noisy if there's a crowd in the common areas having a loud conversation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamdoctorwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked the Peacock House based on previous reviews and had high expectations when we arrived. The comfortable home and gardens are as immaculate as described by others, and Sue and Dennis are truly exceptional hosts. We stayed in the Summer room, which looks exactly like the photos posted. The room was quiet and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We have stayed in many B and Bs and Peacock House ranks among the VERY best.

The little village is charming, and we are glad we followed the road less traveled. We took the short ferry ride from Letete, New Brunswick to Deer Island followed by a ferry to Campobello and then a drive across the bridge to reach Lubec. The ferry trips were easy, enjoyable and right on schedule. We visited FDRs summer "cottage" on Campebello and appreciated the well informed guides and free admission. We also drove north on the island and photographed the largest bald eagle we've ever seen as he perched in a tree near the lighthouse. It was a great spot to spend a couple of hours.

As far as activities in Lubec, there are a few shops and restaurants right in town. The evening we were there, not all the restaurants were open. We chose Cohills for its good tap beers and based on a recommendation from our hosts. The food and service were quite good with a nice view of the water. There are plenty of places to wander in and around Lubec and we wish our schedule had allowed us the opportunity to stay for more than a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KandCtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
13.3 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing