We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th visit and counting - fabulous place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“4th visit and counting - fabulous place!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Sue and Dennis are incredible innkeepers. The house is always in great shape (thanks to Dennis' handiness) and it's always a treat to catch up with both Sue and Dennis each year. The rooms are all beautiful, quiet and restful. The breakfast is great and the location can't be beat. See you next year!

Room Tip: The newly redone Seaglass Suite is our favorite, but all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
175
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 836 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed the night at Peacock House in Lubec after spending the day on Campobello Island. We were so glad that we stayed in Lubec instead of driving back to the Acadia Park area -- we had a more leisurely trip, and we had the opportunity to stay at Peacock House. We do not normally stay at B & B's -- just hasn't been our preference, but we will certainly consider them more often after our wonderful experience at the Peacock House.

Our hostess, Sue, greeted us warmly upon arrival, showed us the living areas of the house, informed us of local restaurants open for the evening, told us pertinent details, and showed us to our room. We stayed in the Summer Room which is every bit as pretty as its picture on the website. We enjoyed walking to the Cohill Pub and watching the sunset on the water.

Breakfast is an elegant treat in a beautiful dining room. Sue served the excellently prepared Dutch baby with bananas, syrup, sausage, and fruit cup. Dennis did the honors in the kitchen. Sue kept the conversation flowing with the guests -- no easy tasks since we didn't know each other. My compliments to both Sue and Dennis.

Would we go to Peacock House again? In a heartbeat! I just wish it wasn't so far from Tennessee. If we do make it there again, I'll spend a few more dollars for one of the larger rooms. The prices at Peacock House are very good for the quality of the lodging, breakfast, and hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This place is a real find in an area where quality accomodation isn't easy to come by. We had a large and very comfortable suite upstairs and the facilities were all top class. It was great value, breakfast was good, and the owners were simply delightful and so helpful and enthusiastic even as their season draws to a close. If you're thinking of starting a B&B spend a night or two here to see how it can be done.

Stay again. Sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Sue and Dennis were wonderful hosts, staying open an extra night to accommodate us. We arrived on Halloween night with no reservations. When it turned out that no restaurants in town were open, Sue set up the dining room table so we could have a picnic with ingredients from the IGA. Lubec is a beautiful town on the border with Canada. We hope to return, earlier in the year next time, and we will stay at the Peacock Inn for more than one night!

Room Tip: All of them are beautifully restored and furnished. Ours' had a view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaManley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Fl
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We visited this lovely bed and breakfast because we wanted to say we had been to the downeast part of Maine. It was what I would have expected a small coastal Maine town to have been like years ago...so quaint, so beautiful and the B & B was so much fun! The innkeepers were the best! This job is just right for you Sue! Breakfast was wonderful...a sort of popover with bananas in it...The rooms were clean and well equipped. And every guest seemed to have really enjoyed their stay! I had wished that there was one more restaurant open in town but our meal at an Irish tavern was very good!

Room Tip: Just expect a long drive with little in between between Bar Harbor and Lubec! Probably good to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you want cosseting, wonderful bedrooms, fantastic food, helpful hosts,comfortable lounges and a very relaxing place to stay this is for you. It's the best bed and breakfast in the world. Don't just take my word, go there and check it out for yourself. You'll love Sue and Dennis the owners.

Room Tip: We have stayed here many times and all the rooms are lovely, go on the website and pick the one most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed two nights September 15 &16, 2011. Sue and Dennis are absolutely the best hosts. If I could give this place a gold star, I'd give them 5! Caring, Interacting, Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful. Made all guests feel individually comfortable and this behavior was contagious. In most other places we have stayed at, there was very little if any guest interaction. Surprisingly, whenever we ran into the other guests in our forays into town, we would invariably stop and chat - as though we were old friends. A totally wonderful vacation resulted mainly because of this friendliness at "home base". The bed was very comfortable (although we normally travel with our own feather pillows) - and the whole place was kept in pristine condition. The only concern others may have is if they are allergic to cats (we love cats so that having cats as hosts was a plus for us). Most highly (and higher) offered recommendations for the Peacock House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
13.3 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing