We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly people, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
1 review
“Friendly people, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We decided to travel to Lubec out of the blue, and boy am I glad we chose to stay at the Peacock House. We were greeted by name by Sue, who is just the most cheerful person I've ever met, and given a tour of the house. It is gorgeous, very open, inviting, and there's art hanging everywhere.

We stayed in the Peacock Suite which has a huge four poster bed that was very comfortable. The spacious room also included a TV and wifi (which we didn't need to use) and a kitchenette with a fridge and sink, and of course a bathroom, which was gorgeous and huge as well.

That night we drank wine down at the bar and enjoyed great conversation with Sue and Dennis and the other guests, who were all very personable. Sue even played piano for a little background music. In the morning Sue served us an unbelievably delicious egg and cheese souffle for breakfast. We're vegetarian and she was very accommodating to our wishes and thoughtfully served us before the other guests to let us enjoy our meal without having people ask about being vegetarian...something that even we didn't think of!

They really think of everything and keep the house in immaculate condition. Both Sue and Dennis are great people and we were sad to leave after only one night! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pameladhuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
186
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Without a doubt this was one of the best getaway experiences of my life. I had never been to Lubec, Maine before, and It is an amazing little town. The owners of the Peacock house, Sue and Dennis, are two of the friendliest people I have ever met. The room was perfect, the service was flawless, and the atmosphere was like something out of a book.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable (I stayed in the peacock room). There was a cozy fireplace and a wet-bar, a couch, and a beautiful bathroom. Every inch of the Peacock House has character and charm. My favorite part of the entire trip was how QUIET everything was. I could hear nothing but the birds and the boats faintly off in the distance.

Sue treated us to a wonderful meal Saturday morning (taking into account our specific dietary requirements), and the moment I headed home I began to miss the place. The house, the people, the town; everything was wonderful.

Bottom line: Peacock house is quiet, affordable, with friendly owners, immaculate rooms, delicious breakfast and a perfect atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremiahWirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

After staying for a week in Eastport and driving through Nova Scotia, I ended two weeks of travel at the Peacock House. Innkeepers were excellent and even greeted me by name upon arrival. Breakfast was lovely. The house itself was exceptional as was the bed and linens. Lots of thought was put into this B&B. I took their suggestion and went back over to Campobello Island to the beach and enjoyed a memorable walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport Mi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We traveled the coast of Maine, staying in various B&Bs, and this was the best bang for the buck. What a wonderful couple! What sincere hospitality and care. Very peaceful, lovely, quiet, homey. Sue was always there, like Mom, ready to help, advise, listen to the tales of your day. The town is sweet and warm. We'd come back here just for the B&B experience. Bravo.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan1954Nport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Loved it from the moment we arrived and we didn't want to leave! One night was just not enough! Dennis and Sue make you feel very welcome. The house is simply delightful. It's well decorated and maintained. The room was amazing (we stayed in the Captain's Cabin). If you want to know about things to do, just ask Sue! She told us we couldn't miss Campobello Island in New Brunswick and she was right! We absolutely loved Lubec!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askssk715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The nicest B & B we've ever stayed in. Wonderful restored home of a ship''s captain, lovingly cared for. Everythng is for the benefit of the guests. Host & hostess couldn't do enough in terms of making recommendations; accommodated ourt older bodies with the use of a side door, Made us feel entirely welcome. Fabulous breakfast and wonderful cameraderie with other guests. They put everyone in a happy mood.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We live in Maine and had heard about Lubec and the Bay of Fundy. We booked at the Peacock House and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The innkeepers, Sue and Dennis, could not have done more to make us feel at home. A beautiful facility and we were surprised at the number of restaurants in Lubec. We did a day trip through Canada which involved 2 ferries and all quite fun. Campobello is literally across the river and so worth it. You can just picture the Roosevelt's in their home there and how much the area meant to them. .Seeing the tides in the Bay of Fundy is worth the trip alone. We visited local chocolate factories, salmon smoke houses and Rayes Mustard.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jweston20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
20.6 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
240 reviews
10.1 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
27 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing