We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Quoddy Head Station
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

What a great place to stay. We arrived later then we thought we would because I didn't have clear directions to the location. You have to follow the signs to the State Park. Once we arrived there was a note waiting for us telling us our room was open and the key was inside. It was as promised and the accommodations were terrific. It was a really chilly, windy evening when we arrived but there is a heater we were able to turn on. One of the bonuses was when I found out we could use the laundry facilities!!! For FREE!!! Seriously, we'd been traveling a week and needed to do laundry and I figured I'd have to spend a morning or afternoon at a laundromat, but instead was able to do laundry while cooking dinner and relaxing in the evenings. Fantastic! Of course they emphasize that housekeeping has priority, but I never had a problem sharing the space. The kitchen was nice and we found a grocery store in Machias on our drive in so loaded up on groceries for our stay. We also passed a small IGA on our drive through Lubec but didn't go inside. We really enjoyed the sunsets and walked down the road to the state park, and were planning to hike the trail but it would have cost us $6 to enter the park and we weren't willing to pay for a hike so walked back and drove over the bridge into New Brunswick. The most beautiful beach you must visit is Herring Cove. It was empty except for one other person and is a beautiful sandy crescent-shaped beach. A hidden find. We would highly recommend this to others and would stay again if we were ever to travel out that way. We bumped into a few people who called themselves managers but everyone was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PsgVikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This place was a total find!

I went here with my mother and sister. We got three of the four rooms in one of the three buildings there, called the former equipment building in another review. It's right up the road from the actual lighthouse and the place itself is equally lovely. The owner, who was staying there at the time, is an antique and knick-knack collector and so the spacious rooms are accented with nice lamps, wall hangings and other furniture. The building itself also has a spiral staircase that goes up to a small crow's nest area up top where you can get a 360 degree view of the area.

There was so much to love about this place from the very large rooms with full kitchens and ample sitting and sleeping rooms, to the functional wifi and cable tv to the ease of access to the lighthouse and many hiking trails to the low price for all of this. We spoke to the owner who let us know that there would be some workmen coming in the morning which we felt was a considerate touch. Sleeping with our windows open and hearing the ocean and the birds outside was a delight. The place seems newly remodeled and redecorated and everything about the kitchens and sleeping rooms was clean and smart looking.

My room was the larger downstairs room, the Kimball room, and it had its own bedroom [with two queen beds] and a large 3/4 bath and a full sized kitchen and sitting room [with fold out couch] all for about the price of a hotel room. There were ample blankets, and fans and heaters in each room which is good for the mercurial Maine weather. We really enjoyed having the space to spread out and explore and be able to have a kitchen space after a while travelling for vacation. My only regret with this place was that we couldn't stay longer, but we will certainly be back.

Be aware: your cell phone may pick up a cell tower in Canada which could be a problem with your phone bill, make sure you check!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessamyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale, NH
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in 6/08 and just came back from a week there. The former equipment building has 4 suites very nicely remodeled with kitchens (full size stove/oven, frig., microwave, coffee maker). Some suites have 2 beds. There is also a washer/dryer on the premises that guests can use. There are tabletop gas grills you can use as well and large pots to cook lobsters. The place has WiFi and all units have Direct TV. Large groups can stay in the former Coast Guard residence building. There is also a small cottage on the grounds. There is a enclosed crow's nest you access from a circular stairway on the second floor of the equipment building and on clear days and nights the views are great. Be warned the area does get a lot of fog but then the foghorns go off at West Quoddy and nearby lighthouses and it does sound nice. This place was recently recommended by Yankee magazine. The cost is very reasonable. We did spend most of our time on Campobello golfing, walking the beaches and trails and visiting the FDR summer residence/visitors center. The local Masonic lodge hosts a number of BBQ's and pancake breakfasts during the summer months. Plan to attend if one is scheduled while you are there. Lots of good food at cheap prices.
http://www.quoddyvacation.com/

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeaganLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Great place. This was an old coast guard station -turned into a rental property. -The Station House, The Cabin or the Lodge (4 kitchenettes). What a find! Right down the street from the West Qouddy Head Light House & hiking trails.
Our room had 1 double bed, sofa sleeper, satellite tv , full size kitchen, local phone only (spotty cell phone coverage). Washer & dryer available for all guests. Quiet peaceful, so dark at night you can see all the stars. Get up early enough and be the first to see the sun rise in the United States. West Quoddy Head Light House boosts of being the farthermost most eastern point in the United States.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NCC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD USA
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

This is an old Coast Guard life-saving station, fixed up as a bed and breakfast in 2002 (without the breakfast). It is about a 10 minute walk to the West Quoddy lighthouse, or a short drive to it. To drive into the town of Lubec takes a few minutes; likewise Campobello Island. There are around 10 rooms.. My room had a fully-equipped kitchen as well as a bed, sitting area and bathroom. You can rent for a night or a week. It would be a great place to spend a whole week, with the kitchen and access to a washer/dryer. I loved this place - very peaceful and quiet, with modern furnishings inside an old building. I paid $80 for the room, which was really more like an apartment. If you're really on a budget, I'd try the Eastland Motel, which is cheaper and just a little ways outside Lubec. If you're willing to pay a bit more, go for West Quoddy Head Station. However, I'm not sure if they take credit cards, so if that's a problem, go somewhere else - or go to the ATM in town!

  • Liked — Very comfy bed and furnishings; unique experience staying in an old life station so close to a lighthouse
  • Disliked — Didn't take credit cards
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Roothy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
3.4 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
18.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
27 reviews
11.1 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
52 reviews
19.8 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Redclyffe Shore Motel
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Quoddy Head Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Quoddy Head Station

Property: West Quoddy Head Station
Address: 823 S Lubec Rd, Lubec, ME 04652-3675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of June 2014, we now have 8 Vacation Rental units in 6 buildings. The Station House, Keepers Cottage,The Cabin, The Camp and 4 units in The Lodge. Quoddy Hall, with a breathtaking event room, is available for weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, meetings, etc. We have the best panoramic views from all points of our complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Quoddy Head Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Quoddy Head Light Station Bed And Breakfast
West Quoddy Head Light Station Hotel Lubec
West Quoddy Head Station Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing