We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PEACEFUL STAY w/Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Quoddy Head Station
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL STAY w/Great Views”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here September 5 - 8, 2012. We stayed the first two nights in Washington on the second floor. LOVED IT! The views are beautiful from the outside deck. The room was large and it was very nice having a full kitchen, although we used it very little. The third night we were moved to Yeaton on first floor (we were aware of this prior to booking - waited to late). It felt a bit claustophobic after staying in Washington, but still was sufficient for our needs. We don't stay at a hotel room much when vacationing. I have to say the beds were not the most comfortable, but they were ok for a few nights. The location is fabulous! The views of the bay and the town of Lubec in the distance and the bridge to Campobello is very nice. We would definately recommend this place to friends, but would suggest asking for the second floor rooms. It is nice having the deck outside your door for picture taking or just watching the tide come in and go out.

Room Tip: I would suggest the second floor as rooms are larger and the deck is right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
52
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here one night while heading up to the maritimes. It's a perfect base to check out Campobello Island and lighthouses in the area. We booked the jefferson room on the second floor. It was huge and had a full size fridge and kitchen. There are great views from the deck outside the room although it's not totally private. There is no breakfast served so its not a b&b, but it's unique and close to many attractions and great for large groups. Lubec is small and restaurants close very early. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our family loved it. We stayed in the Jefferson room. Didn't have much a view but that was because of the fog. Hotel had no control over that. It was great to have the kitchen so we could feed 2 teenage boys without going broke. Easy to get to Lubec and Campobello Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The restored Coast Guard station was just right for our party of seven adults on a swimming adventure. We had two suites and made out fine. It was a little crowded, and lacked some privacy, but our group did not mind. Probably better for families than just friends. Friendly guests in the other units added to the fun. This is a beautiful town without a lot of lodging choices, so this place fills a niche.

The location is beyond compare, the hosts are efficient and unobtrusive, and the absolute quiet is a break from city living. There is actually no breakfast at this "B&B", but there are full kitchens in each suite. The IGA in Lubec has all you need including beer/wine, etc. if you plan to cook.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubleespresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just got back from spending a week here. Weather was foggy most of time, but just travel a few miles inland for beautiful weather. Views were amazing when the fog cleared. I have stayed in Lubec before and the fog is typical, but doesn't deture from having a great time. Station has had plenty of room to spread out our party of 4 adults and 2 children. It was nice have 2.5 bathrooms and the kitcher had everything we needed to make breakfast and dinner. Bought lobster locally and cooked it at the house. Bill was helpful when we needed him, but allowed privacy when needed. Enjoyed day trips to Lubec, Eastport, Campobello Island, and St. Andrews NB. Great area for whale watching and just enjoying the slow life. Very close to West Quoddy Lighthouse and I must say that we barely heard the fog horn, which we were worried about being so closed to the lighthouse. Would rent from again.

Room Tip: If you have a large group, I would choose the station house. We had 4 bedrooms with a possible 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I wanted a room that was close to the bridge to Campobello Island. This was the worse. I needed a room with 2 beds. I emailed the owner because it was not clear from the listing. He said he had a one bedroom with 2 beds. The second one was actually in the kitchen area. Everything looked clean at first glance, but then we found ice cream had been left in the freezer and the fridge wasn't really clean either. The shower stall was gross. The room above us had a really large dog staying there so we could hear a lot of noise from there and also from other rooms. In the morning, when we looked out the bedroom window, we saw 2 huge propane tanks against the building. That struck me as incredibly dangerous. The check out time was 9am. I usually sleep late but I was up and out early. The owner was away, so our key was left in the room for us and we had a phone number to call until 9pm if there was a problem.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parkmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The West Quoddy Station is an amazing restored Coast Guard Station with huge rooms, full kitchens and amazing views. And the price is very reasonable. There are few places around where you can have modern amenities and historic lodgings. And all in ready access to the sea, hiking, cycling and areas to just relax. This place fits right in with Downeast Maine as a comfortable and quiet place to relax without the touristy atmosphere. Be aware that weather can vary and fog is not uncommon so you may be at the mercy of the sea as to the view. But even in haevy fog you can usually take a short drive into town and enjoy clear skies. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lodge Rooms are better for families as they have separate bedrooms. The cabin is open and good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonypegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
21.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
265 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
18.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
8 reviews
11.2 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
46 reviews
19.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Quoddy Head Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Quoddy Head Station

Property: West Quoddy Head Station
Address: 823 S Lubec Rd, Lubec, ME 04652-3675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of June 2014, we now have 8 Vacation Rental units in 6 buildings. The Station House, Keepers Cottage,The Cabin, The Camp and 4 units in The Lodge. Quoddy Hall, with a breathtaking event room, is available for weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, meetings, etc. We have the best panoramic views from all points of our complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Quoddy Head Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Quoddy Head Light Station Bed And Breakfast
West Quoddy Head Light Station Hotel Lubec
West Quoddy Head Station Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing