We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful remote location with great sunrise/sunset viewing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Quoddy Head Station
Arkansas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful remote location with great sunrise/sunset viewing.”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This property is a remodeled Coast Guard station and a must stay if you are in extreme northern Maine. Our unit was comfortable and well equipped. We were able to view both sunset and sunrise without leaving our unit - there was a stairway to a viewing area in our building. Plus you get great views of the tide changes. There is a small downtown and a couple of restaurants. Close to town is FDR's Campobello National Park in Canada. There are many hiking trails along the ocean and light houses. Our GPS had us turn about one tenth a mile too soon - so follow owner's direction closely.

Room Tip: Building with Washington Suite has stairway to the viewing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UofA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
52
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Wonderful place, we stayed in Kimball with our pet, the scenery is breathtaking, and the accommodations were great. Quiet, comfortable and very relaxing. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of a tourist trap - this is the place to stay. A lot to do if you are the outdoors type. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights in the Yeaton apartment with our Labrador Retriever. Not only was the station very pet friendly, but the location was beautiful, accommodation spotless, and the owner and manager were helpful and friendly. Having a fully equipped kitchen (dishes, pots and all) to cook our meals after a day of enjoying the great outdoors was also a great help. We are history buffs, and this former Coast Guard station has been lovingly restored wth modern convenience and coziness. This spot will be a definite regular for us!

Room Tip: We were very fond of the Yeaton since it was on the first floor and the downstairs apartments have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMaeVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My family and I stayed a week in the station house. In all, it was three adults and two infants. The station house was perfect and ticked all the right boxes: Clean, comfortable, and plenty of space. The station's former galley (now kitchen) is well equipped for meal preparation (including the demise of the live lobsters from the Inn at the Wharf) and the room furnishings are great. We made the walk to W. Quoddy Lighthouse everyday with a baby stroller and the informative chats about the station's history and local lore with owner Bill Clark were great. To avoid any potential surprises, I checked with Bill before making the trip and he was available both via email and telephone to answer any questions. I cannot wait to return again next year.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with little ones, the station house is the way to go..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We spent two nights in the Jefferson room earlier this month. The room was comfortably furnished, the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed and the location was absolutely marvelous. A quick trip to the grocery in town and we were set for dinner and breakfast - on our schedule. We appreciated use of the washer/dryer and the recommendations for hikes, best places to view sunrises, etc. Bill reminded us several times prior to our arrival in Maine, that cell service in the area was spotty (and when available, would most likely be canadian service) so we made sure one of our phones had a US/Canadian calling plan. We absolutely loved our time here - and would return in a moment!

Room Tip: check out the floor plan - and ask for recommendations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This restored Coast Guard rescue station was BETTER than I had anticipated. The website has good photos, BUT after staying in the Jefferson which was large enough to sleep 6 as well as being able to view the inside of the Large House with multiple bedrooms, seeing was believing. Lots of antique furnishings, well stocked kitchen with large refrid. CLEAN. And yes, the LLBean Bed was great. We appreciated that all the other guests were very respectful of others and quiet as they headed out to see the sunrise (since you are the first in the US to see it at the eastern most point of the US). Quiet is the key to W. Quoddy. No machine noises of airconditioners. Leaving the window open all night for the cool breeze and the soft, distant buoys was a joy. The lighthouse is a mile down the road, great lobster dinner at the Inn at the Wharf, and Canada across the bridge from Lubec. Don't miss E. Quoddy Lighthouse in Canada at low tide (only time you can get to it after climbing the ladders)
On our way to Lubec, we stopped in Machias at the large, well stocked grocery store. There is an IGA in Lubec that most likely would meet basic grocery needs
Bring your own shampoo for the shower, but everything else you might need is at the station. Don't forget to go to the next driveway down to the W. Quoddy Gift shop for your W. Quoddy Lighthouse fleece/sweatshirt. This was one of THE most memorable places we have ever stayed. Thanks, Bill (owner) for your restoration detail, right down to the kitchen clock with temperature AND hygrometer for humidity.

Room Tip: The four rooms in the lodge have great sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellass50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at West Quoddy Station during our ten-day touring trip of Maine. It's an interesting alternative to motels or B&B's because it allows one to set up housekeeping, given the full kitchens, and provides absolute peace and quiet. Most of the time the only sound outside is the slight whirr of the windmill. The sound isolation between units is very good. We stayed in the Jefferson room one night, and the Kimball unit the next (because neither was available both nights - be advised to make reservations more than a month in advance). One might think all the apartment units in the Lodge are the same, because they are the same price, but I recommend looking at the floor plans on the web page. The 1st floor units (and the Cabin) have a separate bedroom; an advantage, for example, for a family with young children who might have an earlier bedtime than their parents. The second floor rooms have better window views, and a slightly more home-like feel to the decor. The number of beds in the units varies, as well. The third-floor observation tower is at the top of the main stairway, a commons area. There's ample room for children to play outside. The expanse of water closest to the buildings, and the nearest water view, is a tidal basin between there and Lubec.

We appreciated having use of the clothes washer and dryer in the Lodge's Utility Room (available 8 AM to 8 PM, unless housekeeping is running the sheets and towels), because it was the mid-point of our trip. One of the nights we were there got cold enough we appreciated having heat. Bill made a good equipment selection on Rennai heaters, that have thermostats and automatic, variable fan speed. Once the room temperature comes up to your setting, the fan speed slows way down, so it is quiet, for sleeping. If you are used to finding a box of Kleenex in motels or B&B's, note you will need to provide your own here, (but the bathroom tissue Bill provides is high-quality two-ply). We appreciated the oversize bath towels too.

West Quoddy Station is very convenient to the Lighthouse Visitor Center and the West Quoddy State Park, with its trails, but otherwise it is quite isolated, 3 1/2 miles from the center of Lubec. There is, however, the West Quoddy Gift Shop almost next door. It has an assortment of Coastal-Maine-themed items, such as cards, calendars, coffee mugs, and clothing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaigesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
21.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
265 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
18.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
8 reviews
11.2 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
46 reviews
19.8 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Quoddy Head Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Quoddy Head Station

Property: West Quoddy Head Station
Address: 823 S Lubec Rd, Lubec, ME 04652-3675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As of June 2014, we now have 8 Vacation Rental units in 6 buildings. The Station House, Keepers Cottage,The Cabin, The Camp and 4 units in The Lodge. Quoddy Hall, with a breathtaking event room, is available for weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, meetings, etc. We have the best panoramic views from all points of our complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Quoddy Head Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Quoddy Head Light Station Bed And Breakfast
West Quoddy Head Light Station Hotel Lubec
West Quoddy Head Station Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing