We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Downcity” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Providence
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Downcity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've stayed recently at this hotel for a friend's wedding and enjoyed my time there. The room was very clean and comfortable, and there were the perfect amount of ammenities to make it a great overall stay. The staff was helpful and attentive, and the meeting spaces were very well put together. It is great that there is a Starbucks attached, as we could just go down there and get coffee in the morning. Also good to have the restaurant and some people hung out there for some late night snacks. The thing that bothers me about this hotel is the ridiculous parking garage that is small and not very easy to get around in. The lobby also could use a little "Wow" factor. But it is a convenient hotel to all that Providence has downcity, as well as super easy highway access. If you are staying here, I recommend visiting Trinity Brewhouse which is a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of the city, but I think you can't really go wrong with any of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alissamgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for having selected the Hilton Providence during your recent trip to downtown Providence.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed our location and service. We are fortunate to have a parking garage located adjacent to the hotel as many other downtown hotels do not. The garage has enough spaces to accommodate the hotel guest even when we are running a full occupancy.

Thanks for your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    348
    189
    67
    29
See reviews for
258
249
66
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We loved this hotel so much although we only booked for 1 night we stayed for 3!
We stayed here towards the end of a long week of visiting colleges all over the USA. We stayed previously in some very nice Holiday Inns so when we got here it felt like luxury.
Let me stress the number 1 reason why we liked this hotel:
QUIET. The room was QUIET. We never heard a pin drop. No noise from nearby rooms, no street noise, nothing. Now, in exchange, we did not have a view, but that was just fine.
Also what we liked
1. room was very pleasantly furnished
2. room was good size
3. lovely marble/granite bathroom
4. television, etc functioned well
5. location was great because by our rental car we could get to the mall and to Brown and other points within minutes. I suppose you could walk to the mall, but it was raining when we were there
6. I got a good rate with AAA $144 before taxes and the other days a rate that included parking and internet for about the same price. Check on the websites to see rates as the hotel told me they would match the rate I found previously on Orbitz. The rate I got included parking and internet. That was worth it. So do check for a deal so you don't have to pay for parking or internet if possible, although we were here in April so not sure if this is their off season.
7. Had room service several times. The food was very good, especially the desserts. The portions were very good. My daughter enjoyed the burger and I enjoyed the salmon. We also enjoyed the crab cakes.
There is a Starbucks a few doors down from the hotel. And there is a restaurant in the hotel.
8. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating and being there 3 nights we really got to interact with several of them. In fact, I would say the staff is VERY well trained in that they are very attentive, prompt, acted like they cared and they like their jobs.
At the end of a long stressful week we blew off driving 4 hours to another college and stayed for part of the weekend to relax. This is a great hotel to relax and recuperate because it is so quiet, clean, and pleasant.
I would definitely stay here again if in Providence.

Room Tip: Our room did not face the street, it was in back and had a view of some buildings in the distance. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethStreetMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It was great to read that you had a wonderful stay at the Hilton while visiting colleges in the area.

We strive for excellence in service and it sounds like our staff met that expectation. Our location is one of the best in downtown Providence. We are located within walking distance of the mall, Federal Hill, the Dunkin Donuts Center, the RI Convention Center, as well as Brown and Johnson and Wales University.

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Providence for family sporting event at Brown University. Rooms as well as much of the hotel in need of upgrade. Pool area was especially disappointing as we had many kids staying there for the game. Not up to Hilton quality in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are disappointed to hear that you felt the hotel was average at best. The Hilton went through a multi-million dollar renovation just a few years ago, and we continuously work to improve the hotel.

We just completed renovating a number of our rooms and are hoping to complete the remainder of the rooms soon. We hope you allow us the opportunity to host you again should your travel plans bring you back to the area.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago for one night. Great hotel in providence. It literally shares a wall with the Dunkin Donuts center and is within a 5 mins walk from the Providence Place Mall. Brown University is about a 10-15 mins walk, the amtrak station is about a 10 mins walk also. Lots of great downtown restaurants/shops/bars nearby and the hotel is right off the highway. Parking was ample and reasonably priced. My room was just fine and the service was very nice. Overall, I would surely stay here again if I needed a place to stay in Providence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for rating us an Excellent Choice to stay in Providence.

Our Downtown Providence lcoation coupled with our service is one of the many reasons we are such a popular hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Check in was a breeze and parking is in the lot next to the hotel - self parking and valet comes at a cost. The rooms are nice and clean - there is a Starbucks at the corner 6which is great to grab and go in the mornings. The Dunkin Donuts Center is next door and there are a few restaurants around the area which are open late. Up the hill there is a pizza restaurant and down the hill there is Trinity Brewhouse - both great choices for dinner after 10PM. I was there for business and the hotel worked out just fine - rates are reasonable and overall the hotel is quiet. I dont know of many other options in that area for hotels and Hilton brand is always a great choice when traveling on the road.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor away from the elevators - also ask for a view from the front of the hotel vs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vallico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. The hotels location and service are the two primary reasons we are such a popular choice.

We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy all that Downtown Providence has to offer. We look forwatd to hosting you again soon should your travel plans bring you back to the greater Providence area.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good, standard U.S. Hilton quality, reliable and comfortable. The rooms are in good shape, not huge but comfortable. Beds have been redone to a good level. The location is fantastic for either foot or with vehicle - easy access to downtown Providence, Providence Mall, Federal Hill, Dunkin' Donuts Centre, and interstate.

Staff are generally friendly and helpful without 'wowing' anyone. I had a dinner at Shula's and was the only person in there, but the bar was busy enough. The meal wasn't as good as one might expect from this name, but I have to admit the steak itself was excellent quality. A little over-cooked, which is disappointing in a higher-level steakhouse.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room by the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsdunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience. We are pelased that you enjoyed your stay, and our location. We are the closest full service hotel to Federal Hill, as well as being located right next to the Dunkin Donuts Center.

The steaks in Shula's are outstanding, and we apologize that your steak was not cooked to your satisfaction.

We hope we are afforded the opportunity to serve you again, and please contact me when you are retunring to the area.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The cost for my most resent trip of 4 days was high, the service did not reflect that. The accommadations are comfortable but there are no extras provided. (no breakfast or reduced price in the on site restaurant.) You need to be a Gold Hilton Club member before the extras are provided.

Room Tip: Look for discount sites if you stay here, the Hilton fee is far to pricey. Ask for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are disappointed that your 4 night stay was not what you came to expect. We strive for service excellence and are sorry we fell short of that expectation.

Our on site restaurant serves an award winning breakfast buffet, and our made to order omelette and belgian waflle station keeps many of our guests coming back for more. Our HHonors Gold and Diamond members have the option of selecting complimentary breakfast or additional HHonors points. It would be our pleasure to enroll you into the program, and soon you will enjoy the benefits of a starting off as a Blue memeber and then moving on to a Gold and Diamond member.

Thanks again, we look forward to hosting you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Property: Hilton Providence
Address: 21 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Providence
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#6 Business Hotel in Providence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing