We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff!!!”
Review of Hilton Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Providence
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Providence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When traveling i feel that the staff of the hotel will either make or break your stay. The Hilton Providence lived up to every expectation. From the Concierge to the Overnight Desk Person, they were always accommodating and had great recommendations an absolute pleasure to chat with. i would recommend this hotel to any one that wants to feel cared for and have a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the city side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are thrilled to hear that our service keeps you coming back to the Hilton Providence. We strive for excellence, and appreciate hearing that you feel we have an "Amazing Staff".

We just completed upgrading our mattresses in over half of the hotel, and will be replacing the remaining floors at some point this year when when our occupancy permits us to do so. Although the mattresses are fairly new we want to continue to improve the comfort of the beds for all of our guest.

Thank you, and we look forward to your return to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Hilton 10+ nights over the past few years for events at the Convention Center. It's a great hotel in an excellent location. I agree with some of the below that it's not the best Hilton out there, but certainly not the worst. My best contribution is likely listing some key points:
- The location, easy walk to Dunkins Center or Convention center
- They offer a courtesy vehicle to take you to locations in town (helpful on business dinner meetings).
- Parking is very pricy (careful if you have a large vehicle/truck).
- Restaurant is Shula's - an excellent steak restaurant with a nice bar attached. Also offer breakfast in the morning (for additonal $).
- Busy, if there is a large show at the convention center, the hotel will be well booked, busy and possibly loud.
- If there is something happening at the Dunkins Center, the area gets very loud and busy.
- Staff is responsive. Rooms have no fridge, but available if requested
- Direct tv is poor, signal weak.
- No in room internet (really?) unless you are willing to pay!
- Strong hot water and comforitable beds
The rooms could use some updating, and free internet should be available throughout the hotel (please get with the times).

Overall - clean, welcoming though sometimes busy hotel to stay on business or for a show. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineTravelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you over the past few years.

Please accept our apologies for the reception issues with the cable television. We were in the process of adding 30 more channels to our line up of which a majority carried the High Definition signal. The changes to the service have been completed and the reception is great. Our High Speed Internet Access is complimentary to our HHonors Gold and Diamond level members. Please contact us to get you enrolled and we can get points credited to your past stays. We have also added a connectivity station to the main lobby with Mac computers, and the use of the internet on these terminal is complimentary for all guests of the hotel.

We are continuosly upgrading the hotel with plans to continue improving the hotel. We appreciate the feedback, and look forward to your next visit so you can enjoy the latest upgrades to the hotel.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I like to stay at this hotel because it is right across the street from the Dunk. I prefer the valet parking as my car is kept in covered parking. The rooms are nice and very clean. Shula's is a great place for drinks and munches before the game. The staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krista D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for the review. Our location and service continues to be one of the main reasons why the Hilton Providence is a great choice to stay when traveling to Downtown Providence.

We are glad that you chose our hotel when coming to the area, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

great clean hotel super comfy beds and i melted into the pillows i will be buy them online if i find them :)..

we attended a event at the dunking donuts center and stayed for one night at the hilton..

the location was perfect we went out the front door took and left and dd center was one min away.. it was perfect we did have to pay 24.00 to park on top of the hotel rate which they did give a lower rate when you mention you will be going to the dd center so i didnt mind as much.

they have a great gym area and a small pool which my son was happy to jump into..

the hotel restaurant is pricy so we skipped breakfast there and went to starbucks which is right out side the door..

only bad thing i can say is that we had a room the had a view of the street and there was some type of outdoor party going on across the st. form the hotel and the load music sounded like it came from next room it was so loud i could tell what every song was from the loud bass thumping noise.
i did call the front desk the man said he would look into where it was coming from i never heard back from him so i called back the desk he then told me about the block party and that it prob wont be till after midnight till it stopped never offered to switch my room and compensate me at all..

Room Tip: i would stay in a room without a view of the street i was floor 11 room 1115 and the loud music form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3crazyboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Being located directly next door to the Dunkin Donuts center, and a couple of blocks from Federal Hill is one of the many reasons we are such a popular hotel.

The Hilton pillows can be purchased, and if you would like to contact the hotel we would be happy to get them for you. We are sorry that the Saint Patricks Day block party down the street caused some diffculty for you to sleep.

We look forward to hosting you again soon, and next time you are here I highly recommend Shula's 347 for an outstanding meal.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is definitely not the worst Hilton we've stayed at, but not the best either. The room was reasonably spacious, but the beds were not as comfortable as in many other Hiltons we've stayed in. The hotel was noisy - to the point that I thought there was someone else in our room with us - the noise from the adjoining bathroom through the vent was crystal clear. The room was not cleaned until close to 4pm on one afternoon which was inconvenient as my husband had returned from his business meeting by about 3pm still with work to do on his laptop and had to allow the maid to work around him.

The hotel is in good walking distance of many good restaurants and other attractions downtown and in Federal Hill. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It just seems a shame that this hotel, which seems fairly recently renovated, has some major drawbacks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize for the inconveniences and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that we take the necessary steps needed to improve our guests' experiences. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area. I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Needed a quick mini vacation, and decided a night in the town in providence was the answer. Hilton Hotel location was great, parked the car and did not see it till the next day, walked to federal hill for dinner then downtown for a night cap. Staff was solid, no issues at checkin, fast and friendly, room was clean, checkout was quick and accurate, and the Sunday valet guys were in surprisingly good spirts considering they were at work on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sf201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

It is great to hear we provided you with a "Stress free Saturday night" on your quick mini vacation to downtown Providence.

We are here to service all of our guests seven days a week, 24 hours a day, and the valet staff really enjoys Sunday mornings as they get to meet everyone on their way out of the hotel. We know you have many choices when traveling to downtown Providence and we appreciate having had the opportunity to host you.

We hope you will come back to the area again over the summer so you can enjoy one of the several "Waterfire" nights.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel was in great location -walking distance to mall, fed hill and bars and restaruants. The staff the minute you got there was great!Very friendly, helpful. I heard this hotel was run down, but I did not find that at all. Clean and the rooms were very nice. Really had a great time here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaritamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank your for posting a review about the Hilton Providence. Our hotel is situated in one of if not the best locations Downtown Providence has to offer. In addition to the restaurants on Federal Hill being within walking distance, the hotel also has Shula's 347 restaurant on site.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the service and your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,757 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Address: 21 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#2 Green Hotel in Providence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#6 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $139 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing