We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time in providence”
Review of Hilton Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Providence
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Providence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel was in great location -walking distance to mall, fed hill and bars and restaruants. The staff the minute you got there was great!Very friendly, helpful. I heard this hotel was run down, but I did not find that at all. Clean and the rooms were very nice. Really had a great time here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaritamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank your for posting a review about the Hilton Providence. Our hotel is situated in one of if not the best locations Downtown Providence has to offer. In addition to the restaurants on Federal Hill being within walking distance, the hotel also has Shula's 347 restaurant on site.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the service and your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed many nights here for work. The staff is willing to bend over backwards to make sure your stay is the best. Very professional and friendly staff. Alll the front desk agents, the breakfast servers/hostesses, the supervisor Joe and the valet guy Mario, all kept me coming back to the hotel. Rooms are clean too. The food in the restaurant is decent. For the 4-6 months of being there probably only ate a few times in the restaurant.

Thanks Everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hey_Letsbefrank_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we are glad that you chose our location to host you over the past several months. Our staff strives for excellence in service, and I appreciate your kind words about Mario and Joe.

We look forward to your return trip to the Hilton, and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location - walking distance to the mall (through the convention center if it is open which helps on chilly days) and walking distance to federal hill.

Our room was quite large and initially seemed very clean, however, it was not well cleaned and only partially restocked during our stay (e.g., the tea/coffee maker was not replenished).

The pool was disgusting. First of all, there were no towels. I went to the gym next door to grab a bunch of hand towels to dry off with. Then, I tried to swim some laps and had to stop because I was grossed out by the fact that I couldn't see through the water - it was so filmy and cloudy. I also realized, while toweling off, that the windows to the pool face an alley where the staff goes to smoke. So, I turned around to see three gentleman staring at me through the window. Creepy.

I could hear everything going on in the room next door through the vents. On top of that, people were running up and down the stairs screaming. At first I thought someone was being injured then I realized it was probably the 100s of kids we saw running around, now running around in the stairwell. I had to leave the hotel to get work done because the noise on the stairs + music noise from the vents was too distracting.

I noticed in the book in the room that there was a shuttle to the train station but when we called to arrange the shuttle we were told there wasn't one (on a weekday morning). The final "ugh."

So, nothing terribly wrong with this place, but, tons of annoyances.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose the Hilton for it's proximity to the Dunkin Donuts Center and could not have been happier! We were there for a hockey event. The room was spacious with plenty of room to stow two sets of hockey gear. The guest rooms were clean, modern and quiet. All our requests at the time of our booking were met. Will definitely book there again for the next tournament!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for the review, and we are pleased that you chose the Hilton for your recent trip to Providence.

Ou location, next to the Dunkin Donuts Center and a couple of blocks from Federal Hill makes our hotel one of the most popular choices. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the area.

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Planned a reception and had a room block the night before. I could not ask for a more welcoming and accomodating team of men and women! The rooms were comfy and the food was most delicious! The entire team was most helpful during our family's stay! Although a little cold and windy, Shula's was a warm atmosphere to enjoy a beverage and good company! The breakfast buffet left nothing to be desired! Providence is a great city to walk around as the Dunkin Doughnuts Center is right next door along with the Convention Center. Many other great restaraunts on Federal Hill (Italian style) a short drive or walk from the hotel!

Room Tip: The two double beds were adaquate for one night and four people! The king room a little more roomier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to hear that your group enjoyed their stay.

Our Food and Beverage staff are very talented, and a number of them are Johnson and Wales University Culinary graduates. Shula's 347 is one of the best Steakhouses in Providence, and their Signature Shula Cut steaks are the best money can buy.

Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to hosting you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stay at this hotel for the past 3 years on new years eve. Every tiem we have stayed here we have had great service and very clean rooms. The location is just outside of the Convention Center and Dunkin Donuts Center. It is within walking distance from virtually everything.

The only draw back is the parking. I have yet understand why it is $25 to park valet and $23 to self park? I mean it's Providence RI not New York or Boston. But no matter where you go to park or shop you hae to bring your wallet. BTW, if you want to go the Casino and plan on taking a cab it's $40 plus tip round trip. So, either way your going to pay to park or for transportation.

All in all the Hilton Providence great place to stay in downtown Providence

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We hope you enjoyed your time at the Casino, and that you left with more money than you started with!

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that our staff provided such great service. Parking in Downtown Providence is fairly reasonable compared to other Downtown locations, and we are fortunate that a garage is located adjacent to the hotel. The valet parking is the way to go as the attendants are available around the clock to retreive your car. Being so close to Federal Hill and all that Downtown has to offer makes us one of the best hotel locations in all of Providence.

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

For the AHL All Star program we stayed here. Great choice. Outstanding location-Arena right next door, easy on off the Interstate, excellent parking and local dining options galore. To be greeted by the parking lot guys with a broad welcome, then the ease of check-in, the nice, clean and quiet rooms[not a lot of room options though], to have everyone on the staff be so helpful and really welcoming is a compliment to the business. It is on the list of repeat locations!

Room Tip: Not too many room style choices. If there are groups in the property, ask to be located elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our location next to the Dunkin Donuts Center, the RI Convention Center, and a couple of blocks from Federal Hill makes us a very popluar hotel. We have one of if not the best locations in all of Downtown Providence.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff. We strive for excellence in service, and I am pleased that our staff took good care of you.

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,973 reviews
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,203 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,389 reviews
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#10 of 13 in Providence
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Address: 21 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Providence
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#6 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $144 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing