We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service makes the difference”
Review of Hilton Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Providence
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Providence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a total of 10 nights over the last 3years - most recently last weekend. Basically, it's a vanilla downtown Hilton with all of the perks and amenities that you'd expect including a good indoor pool, a full gym and a Starbucks. But, what sets them apart is that every time I've stayed, the service has exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: High and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Providence. We strive for excellence in service, and are pelased to hear we have met that expectation throughout each of your stays with us.

Thanks again, look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed for one night to attend a cheering competition. The proximity to the Convention Center is great--a two minute walk, at most. The hotel was clean and my girls enjoyed the pool. The men at the parking desk were pleasant and the women at the front desk wished my girls good luck several times. Our room was very nice and the price was much better than the other hotels around. Here's what I will never forget, though. One of our daughters realized halfway home that she forget her blankie. I called the front desk and they had someone check the room---no blankie. We looked through all of our stuff when we got home--still no blankie. I called again and they looked again--still no blankie. At that point, although I figured it was gone, I decided I would drive all the way back and look for myself. I called back one more time to tell them I was coming. I spoke with Evan, the front desk manager. As a dad himself, he said he totally understood and said he would go check the room himself and then would go check the laundry room in case it ended up there. He called back in about 10 minutes and that's where it was. I can not thank Evan enough for going that extra step. My daughter is so appreciative!! We'll be back next year when the new competition season starts again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenTurieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. I am sure your daughter was thrilled that Evan was able to locate her blanket. We look forward to hosting you and your daughters during the next Cheerleading competition.

Thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed last week and this is a nice hotel. Door man greeted us as we arrived, room was clean and updated. I walked behind hotel and convention center (5 minute walk) to the Mall which was Huge! There is a IMAX and movie theater which I saw a movie and visited the food court. Walked back to hotel and was once again greeted by the door man. Quiet and comfortable and bed was divine. Look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hilton Providence. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Perfect location for someone wanting to get the most out of what Providence has to offer.
Easy walking distance to Federal Hill, Downtown, Brown University.

Plenty of interesting places to spend time, especially when the weather is nice.

Hotel staff are very friendly. Rooms are spotless. They have some kind of funky punch in the lobby that sounds bad but tastes good, especially if you've been out walking the city all day.

Parking is on site....@ $20 a day.....definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FritzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, and the staff. The complimentary beverage we provide in the lobby is infused water. Our Chef's selection of fresh fruit (local, when in season) is combined with Natural Spring water resulting in one of the most refreshing drinks.

Thanks again, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nites in April 2012 for my son's basketball tournament and to visit another son at an area college. As others have mentioned, its all about location. Several colleges are nearby and there is easy on/easy off access to I-95. Easy walk to restaurants, The Dunk Center, and very large indoor mall. Ask at the desk for discount coupons to area restaurants. The staff is very friendly and eager to help.

Room - We were on the 11th floor and never had a problem getting an elevator. Room was very clean and well appointed and temp was easily controlled. Room is slightly small but for a city hotel I have no complaints. Bathroom was very clean and towels were plush and plentiful. Only minor issue was bathroom fan is inadequate. After showering the room looked like a steam room. Very minor. There is M-F newspaper delivery and on weekends I saw the NY Times and a Boston paper available for sale at the front desk. I think the Sat. NY Times was $2.50 and they can charge it to your room. The hotel seemed very busy but rooms were quiet.

There is a gym and and indoor pool both of which we saw but did not use. They both looked good.

There is a Starbucks located just outside the Hilton. You literally have to go down a small flight of outdoor stairs. So convenient. There is also excellent coffee in the room to make. The coffee maker is very easy to use and looked pretty new.

While I don't love paying $25/nt to self park, I found the parking garage very convenient and always found a parking space. Also the garage and area surrounding the hotel seemed very safe and well lighted. Once you park at the hotel you don't have to take your car out to shop or eat. Everything you could possible need is in short walking distance. We have stayed in hotels further from downtown Providence and the hassle to go out to eat or shop and park isn't worth it. You think you can save money by staying slightly further away but you really don't save anything in the long run. There is a Hilton shuttle, but we did not use it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boysrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Our location, and superior service are two items that are continously recognized by many of our guest. We hope your son chooses to attend one of the great colleges in RI, and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hilton's finest assets are its locations and personnel. I was able to get to every location and get 2 great days of bicycling in to ease the pressures of work. It was one tank of gas to a pleasant clean city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthJerseySulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Sounds like you came to Providence while we were enjoying the 80+ degree weather. It is a great City for business and pleasure. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and staff. We look forward to having you come back again soon - more beautiful weather for Providence will be on its way for you to enjoy another bike ride.

Thanks for sharing, and choosing the Hilton Providence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A friendly reception staff. Easy self parking. Very convenient location to Federal Hill (Little Italy) restaurants, as well as downtown restaurants and Trinity Theater. A short drive to Brown U and RISD. Breakfast buffet had a good selection and a friendly cook at the egg station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rchiarelli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, service, and our award winning breakfast buffet!

We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,757 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Address: 21 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#2 Green Hotel in Providence
#6 Business Hotel in Providence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $139 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing