We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Classy hotel in the heart of Providence. Check in was smooth and quick. We got a room on the sixth floor. A robe and some chocolates on the bed greeted us. This room is so colorful with the colors of blue and gold heavily draped curtains to the red striped wallpaper in the bathroom. His and hers recessed lights above the bed. The room included a safe, frig, and two free bottles of water. The most surprising feature was the closet space with two doors - one door by the room and other one at the bathroom. You could walk thru the closet to get to bathroom. It is nice feature to grab your clothes from the closet while in the bathroom. I prefer to enter the normal way to bathroom which had these French doors. Overall, A comfortable and clean room.

I did not try the restaurant/lounge on site. I did go to the gym and it is really impressive. Everything is brand new and modern. There are green apples for you to take by the gym entrance. There is a lounge for Marriott members but it was closed on Saturdays and reopens on Sunday late afternoon.

The only downside was the valet parking fee of $26. There are many valets working and you call from your room to get your car because it takes a few minutes for them to retrieve it. The valets were really great as they ask if you needed directions as you receive your car. You are across the street from the Providence mall. If you have a car, drive to Federal Hill neighborhood, and go park at Atwells ave. A lively main st of restaurants, bars, and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

Beautiful hotel, extremely helpful staff. I was placed next to "party central" and realized I wouldn't get much sleep. So I asked to be moved and they did so right away - right after security took care of the situation. Everyone....from the doorman at the Temple restaurant, ton the front desk, to the security employee were gracious and helpful. A good hotel takes care of you when everything runs smoothly. An excellent hotel takes care of you when something isn't right. This is an excellent hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
Thank DonzieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I visited the Renaissance Providence Hotel for a business trip. We were travelling about 75 people. The hotel was perfect for the group. There wasn't one thing that went wrong. The rooms were beautiful, beyond clean and very comfortable. Our dinners were wonderful. Everything was handled with professionalism, perfection and care. I can not say enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cljttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Hotel was right across from the state capitol. Small lobby, but attentive staff. Clerk recognized my elite status with Marriott and asked me to wait a few minutes while she found a room with better view. Bought us a drink while we waited. Used restaurant for breakfast only, but servings large and split a yogurt/berries/granola with wife and had plenty. Nice amenities in a small room, attractively furnished. Rates very reasonable to me for this, only $189 a night. Slight negative: valet parking $26 a night, and with a tip, you are looking at $28-30 a day for parking. Overall, however, 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steakman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Reasonably priced renovated hotel near Waterfire venue. A healthy uphill walk from downtown Providence, but quite doable. Right near the Providence Place Mall. Good breakfasts. Very clean rooms which were recently renovated. A step above basic.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel several times when business travel brings me to Providence. The rates are competitive with other hotels in the area, so if there is availabilty, I try to book here. Valet parking has gotten better (faster) over the last few years. The rooms are fantastic - furnishings, linens, bathroom, etc. Renaissance Hotels now even have Aveda products in the bathrooms (little perks are great on business trips). Some of the rooms (at the end of the hallways), however, are smaller than others so ask about this when you check in. Great location and convenient to the highways, shopping, restaurants, etc. Overall, I highly recommed this hotel - you won't be dissapointed,

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vps5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

After reading some of the reviews on the website, not to mention the #1 ranking currently, I was thrilled when found out it was our Priceline bid. With all the raves, I was not supprised that it did live up to its reputation - impressive exterior, great interior (I like the long hallway leading to the bed area, cutting down on any noise from the public hallway). The bathroom is spacious. The linen is very comfortable with asortment of pillows.
We did not have a great view of the state house, which at first seems a disappointment. But with the price that we paid, I truly think it was a wonderful room. As to the $26 parking, it easily became more than $30 after utilizing the in-and-out privillege. Then, you can't find a cheaper option, either. It is just part of the game!!
One thing to keep in mind - we asked for breakfast advice and the staff inside told us if not dining in the hotel, the nearest one is miles away. We asked the valet guy and was told that IHOP is just within a short drive. The concierge did seem to treat guests as 5-star - do keep that in mind :)!!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HugoEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,201 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,970 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,267 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $177 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing