We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown Providence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel in downtown Providence”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I've been on a long-term business project in Rhode Island and have stayed at the Renaissance Providence nearly every week for the past two years. I wouldn't consider staying at any other hotel in Providence; the Renaissance is in a perfect location, the rooms are big and clean, and the staff is fantastic.

If you don't have status, I recommend upgrading to the club lounge. The food is always great, and the staff upstairs is great. Marisol is my favorite. She's courteous, friendly and always willing to go out of her way to make your experience perfect. Thank you, Marisol!

If you're staying in Providence, for business or pleasure, I highly recommend the Renaissance.

Room Tip: Aim for a room with a view of the Capitol building -- it's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous review and continued loyalty. Our staff is very passionate about ensuring we exceed your expectations each and every time. Marisol will be happy to hear your comments and I will be happy to celebrate your recognition of her with our team. We look forward to being of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    398
    86
    38
    20
See reviews for
335
382
68
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Comfortable, clean, great staff and easily accessible. Came to town for the weekend with two 13 year old girls in tow for a concert in nearby Foxborough, MA. Room was wonderful. All staff is great, however, front desk staff was fabulous. Special shout out to Nicholas and Bianca, but all front desk very helpful and spot on with recommendations. In hotel restaurant was absolutely first rate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooandYoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and for your comments about our staff and product. Wonderful that you had the time this trip to experience Public Kitchen and Bar located in our hotel. Hopefully on your next trip we can help you discover more about what makes our hotel and the city of Providence such a unique destination. Your comments and recognition of Bianca and Nicholas will be celebrated with them and our team. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A nice smallish room with a great view of the State House. Good sized bathroom with shower only. The lobby was being remodelled so unimpressive. Ordered the business travellers staple of steak and fries late evening and it was speedily delivered and very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate your feedback and great to hear that you had wonderful dining experience and enjoyed the view of our historic Rhode Island Capitol Building adjacent to our hotel. We will be complete with our lobby redo this month and it truly will be impressive when finished. We look forward to sharing it with you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
268 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've been coming to this Renaissance since it opened for business travel. It's lovely, really breathtaking and a special property for a Renaissance - it's starting to show wear and tear, but when I was there last week I noticed they are redoing the lobby, so I think they're probably acknowledging this.

The employees here are a real positive. I've been impressed with each valet, front desk employee and other staff member I've met. I want to give a special call out to the friendly and warm Marisol in the Concierge Lounge - she engaged each person as they walked in, was very helpful. She is a great person to have in that role - you're lucky to have her!

Parking is NOT included in your nightly rate, so know that you'll have a $28 charge coming. I have found food at the hotel to be rather expensive and mediocre, so take advantage of the proximity to many fantastic dining establishments within walking distance. The gym is really great, and they've just upgraded all the cardio machines, these are nicer than at either of my gyms!

One last thing, and it's totally a hang up for me and not many others, but the thermostats in each room are motion triggered, so when you fall asleep in the room, the fan and air shut down if it doesn't sense movement ... from what I can figure out it's a 2 hour trigger, and I'm up every two hours waving my arms to turn things back on. I will be looking for a work around during my next stay, as it's resulted in poor sleeping conditions for those of us sensitive to temperature. It might be the only reason I would look to stay elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: If you are not from the area, ask for a room facing the campital/state house. It's really beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous feedback and observations. We truly appreciate your positive feedback about our staff, particularly Marisol, and I will be happy to share and celebrate your recognition of her with our team. We have recently refreshed our health club and currently will complete our lobby later this month. We are also in the design phase to redo and refresh our rooms and once we complete design approval we will be conducting this redo later this year.
Relative to your comments on our thermostats and sensors, the sensors are infrared sensors and will detect occupancy in the room even without movement, we have also adjusted our sensors to reflect an 8 hour time frame. I will be happy to research your comments with our engineering staff to ensure all of our rooms are performing to this specification to ensure your comfort on your next stay. Thank-you for your loyalty and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
326 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed one night as a getaway. Valet and front desk staff efficient and personable. Front desk provided maps of local area. Upon request they made us taxi reservations AND dining reservations - super helpful and appreciated. Room was located on 2nd floor and was very quiet except for hearing the next room open and close the closet doors. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean - no dust bunnies lurking anywhere. Bathroom is sizeable and papered in red.
We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Food was well-prepared and very tasty. I am told there is a great brunch buffet there on Sundays. I would eat there again.

Pros - Staff is excellent. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. Hotel is located across the street from the capitol and close to Providence Place Mall (a very large shopping complex). It is an approximate 7 minute drive to Federal Hill restaurants.

Cons- Just one - the doors to the bathroom. While they look great and add a touch of class, they are not really functional. They consist of two small pull doors that close and click with magnets. They are noisy. It is not great in the middle of the night to use the bathroom with that style of door.

Room Tip: The more you pay the better view you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2HVTRAV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful detailed review and fabulous feedback. We truly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel, amenities and service. Great that you were able to sample Public Kitchen and Bar during this visit and the team will truly appreciate your comments that you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to being of service the next time your travels bring you to Providence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This was first time back to Providence in 25 years. The staff was so professional and provided exceptional service. The hotel was immaculate and walking distance to the mall and downtown area.
Can't wait to return to our new home away from home...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful review and welcome back! We look forward to being of service in the future and thank-you for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by an efficient and very friendly valet. Our check in was seamless and the desk clerk took the time to point out on a map, the various Providence landmarks, as well as recommendations for dinner.
The building was an old masonic temple and is very interesting in design. The room was comfortable with all amenities and the person who assisted with our luggage could not have been friendlier.
We attempted to have breakfast the next day, but was told it would be a half hour wait, which was disappointing. However, it is very close to the mall, which has many options for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank-you for your stellar review and fabulous comments. Wonderful that our team exceeded your expectations from the moment you arrived until you departed. Our team is very passionate about ensuing your comfort each and every stay and we look forward to being of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,478 reviews
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing