We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel! I recently stayed for a business trip. I appreciate how easy it is to get to, right off the highway, near the mall and other places to eat. It was also very quiet. I happened to come during a snow storm, so I didn't get around much, but I'm looking forward to the next trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and our city during your business trip. We are located here in the Capitol District, right across from the statehouse, with access to many of the sites, amenities and historical places that make Providence such a wonderful place to visit. We look forward to your next visit so that we can spend additional time in showing you what makes the city of Providence and our hotel such a wonderful place to visit and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    388
    84
    36
    20
See reviews for
330
371
66
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We decided in mid December to book a room in Providence for New Years Eve. We always stay at Marriott properties and the Renaissance was the best deal at $139. What a beautiful hotel. Cozy lobby with overstuffed chairs and a fire (it was soo cold outside). Our room overlooked the state Capitol building which was beautiful. The bathroom was spacious and I loves the double French doors! The bar and restaurant Public Kitchen were busy. Nice old dark wood in the bar. The fitness room seemed adequate though I didn't use it. The beds were very comfortable. I liked this place better than the Marriott up the street. The location is perfect... A quick walk to shops and restaurants. What a great city.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and your wonderful comments. We look forward to your next visit so that we can spend additional time in showing you what makes the city of Providence and our hotel such a wonderful place to visit and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york,ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love this hotel.. We have stayed here so many times over the past four years because my son has been attending a college in Providence. It has been our favorite. My husband travels all over the country for business and is a Marriott rewards member. I was disappointed in our last visit though. We always book two rooms as we are a large family. Despite all of our visits and our loyalty, we have never received one perk from management. I worked for many years in the hospitality industry. It was normal practice for us to go through our reservations and check to see if we had repeat guests. We always would reward guests for their loyalty. A coupon for breakfast, free valet or just a room upgrade to a glass enclosed shower instead of the "curtain" would go a long way in ensuring our return in the future - especially since our second son will be a freshman in Providence this fall! It is a beautiful property, clean and the location is good. We may try another hotel next time though!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank givthks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous feedback.I would also like to thank-you for your loyalty to our hotel and please contact me personally so I can assist on your next visit. As you know Marriott has a superior loyalty program. Our desk ambassadors are empowered to take care of our guests on all levels, we will be happy to delight you even further on your next visit. Once again, thank-you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed, for the first time, at the newer Renaissance Providence the other night. The Hotel was opened in 2007 on the site of the former tumbledown Masonic Temple which fell on hard times before completion. Check-in was seamless and friendly. Our desk agent told us all about the Hotel's history and even showed us pre-, during and post-construction pictures and told us the history ... a nice touch.

Our room was wonderful ... spotless, comfortable and QUIET. During our stay we did not hear even one sound. We really enjoyed the black-out curtains, as well, which allowed us to sleep until and indulgent 9am! The bedroom and bathroom (with knock-out, eye-popping red-stripe wallpaper) were tastefully decorated with superb taste. The KING bed was wonderfully comfortable and we enjoyed the high-quality bed linens and double-sheeting. The accouterments (flat-screen TV, safe, closet with access from bedroom and bath (a clever touch), in-room coffee pot and ample work desk were really thoughtful touches). The chair and ottoman were so comfortable, I practically could have slept there!

The shower, with glass door and oversized, was really divine and we greatly enjoyed the needle-fine spray and wonderful Aveeda amenities. The bathroom was huge, way more than we needed, and stocked with plenty of nice (soft, not scratchy) towels and thoughtful placement of everything guests could possibly need.

Although the Hotel is located at the far end of Providence Place as opposed to the other in-town hotels (Biltmore and Omni), we enjoyed the lack of car traffic and it was a quick walk to the Mall for shoppers and IMAX goers. It was a bracing walk to Providence Performing Arts Center, but going through the Mall made it seem less arduous.

We would highly recommend the Renaissance Hotel Providence to anyone looking for upscale lodging near downtown. In addition, there is a very nice restaurant on the lower level, Public, which is beautifully decorated and has a spiffy lounge which should entice the younger crowd. The food was OK, but the ambience made up for its plainness and the fact of serving a Vodka tonic with FLAT tonic.

The staff was wonderful and they even indulged us by letting us park (at no additional charge) at the front of the Hotel while we had a Starbucks before our drive back to Cape Cod.

A wonderful lodging experience, we will definitely stay here again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the state Capitol versus the dismal back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous feedback. It is wonderful that you took the time to give us such a detailed description of your experience. I would also like to thank-you for your future loyalty to our hotel when visiting Providence. We look forward to your next stay when your travels take away from the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acushnet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

It's been a year since we were here last and I have to say that I'm glad we went back. The hotel is very well located in Providence, the staff is friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean, the price was right. What is not to like? I do know that we probably got a better than typical price because we stayed Christmas week when it is slower than normal.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor and a King bed and got both. Top floor was nice as you are not awakened b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank-you for discovering our hotel once again and your wonderful observations. Fabulous that you enjoyed our staff, our rooms and amenities. We look forward to your future stays to help you discover more about what makes our hotel and our city so unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

From check in to valet, the staff at this pretty hotel with spacious rooms could not be nicer! Concierge level has it's own small health club which is so convenient and hotel offers breakfast dining coupons for when lounge is closed. On site restaurant also top notch! Great view of the capital as well!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank d511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and your wonderful comments. We look forward to your next visit so that we can spend additional time in showing you what makes the city of Providence and our hotel such a wonderful place to visit and stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located, friendly and clean - perfect for a two night stop-over.

The Renaissance is set in an ideal location, with an amazing view across to the State Building, a short walk to downtown and only a 5 minute walk to the train station.

The staff were very friendly and helpful providing directions / points of interest for our short stay. The room was also very clean and spacious (as were all aspects of the hotel). Would certainly return.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank-you for staying with us and your wonderful observations about our staff and how helpful they are. We are centrally located and it is fabulous that you were able to get out and discover a number of areas that make the city of Providence such a unique destination. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing