We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Providence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

An architecturally beautiful property that was originally constructed to be a Masonic Temple, but was never completed. Marriott converted it to a hotel and what a wonderful job they did. Beautifully decorated, but not ornate.......with a warm and cozy vibe.......great location for a weekend getaway. The property is situated directly adjacent to the State House, with great views of downtown Providence. Within easy walking distance to most downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "State House View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horlbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and your comments about our wonderful accomplishment in restoring this historic Masonic Temple into a beautiful hotel. We are situated in the Capitol District directly adjacent to the State House, with great views of downtown Providence. We look forward to be of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is located in the heart of all the action, steps away from restaurants and bars and directly across from Capitol Hall. Rooms are spacious and clean, with plenty of sunlight and great views of the park and the abovementioned building. The inside can feel a bit cold, for it is a transformed Masonic Temple. Service was very good, but room service food menu and quality can improve. Valet parking is included (no extra cost, except for tips) and check in/out was a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and your observations of our wonderful location and our guest services. We look forward to being of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful, remodeled masonic temple adjacent to the state capital. Rooms very updated and comfortable. It is adjacent to a huge shopping complex with plenty of restaurants. Check-in was very efficient and staff pleasant.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the capital building, it is beautiful, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBarker34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank-you for your comments about our hotel and how beautiful you found it. We look forward to being of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am a Marriott Platinum member and have stayed at this hotel numerous times. I was quite surprised to see it rated No. 1 as there are several other hotels that I think are better, including the Westin downtown.

The biggest issue with the hotel is that they only offer valet parking ($28 per night) and there is ALWAYS at least a 15 - 20 min. wait to get your vehicle, not to mention always having to tip the valet. In the morning, there are times when I have had to wait longer, which can get quite annoying. The main lobby is very small and always seems to be packed with people waiting to get their car from the valet.

Another quirk with the hotel is that each time I've stayed, the hotel hasn't credited nights and points to my Marriott account - I've had to call Marriott Rewards to get my account credited. Only happens with this hotel and cannot understand why I should have to do this extra step every time.

The rooms are okay, but not as good as what you will typically find at most Renaissance hotels. It is hard to rate the overall experience as anything but average.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RunBikeSwimDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

As a Marriott Platinum member thank-you for your loyalty and thank-you for your feedback. We are rated #1 on Trip Advisor, which is no small feat with the wonderful hotels in Providence but we have maintained that position for a majority of the six years we have been open because of our fabulous service and product. I apologize that you found some challenges with our operation, however I can assure you we will react to your feedback.
Once again we appreciate your loyalty and your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thanks to a Christmas gift of a coupon, we stayed here to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had a little trouble finding the place with Providence's one-way streets and the odd location of the hotel, but it was worth the trouble. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was almost suitelike. The bathroom in particular was impressive, with two swinging doors and ample room. I've been in a lot of motels where the shower and toilet are in one room and the sink and mirror is across from the closet, so this was luxury for us. Although this is not the sort of hotel we can afford on a regular basis, for a birthday, we enjoyed being pampered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and it is wonderful to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that your room exceeded your expectations. We look forward to being of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nicely appointed property, but service needs help.

My first room was on concierge floor but was located next to a broken exhaust fan that vibrated and squealed loudly and couldn't be fixed. So they moved me to another room - a smaller one not located on the concierge floor, without the ameneties. Not a problem even worth mentioning, if it were the only one...

Concierge lounge's hostess was in a very bad mood - didn't greet or smile, spent most of the time in the kitchen and served warm food - warm cheese, warm salad, and lukewarm meatballs (warning!).

Went to bed and found sheets weren't changed from last guest. Ewww. Although i was extremely displeased i felt bad for the guy who was sturggling with changing them and helped him.

A Marriott Gold guest should not be changing the sheets in her room in a downtown Renaissance at 11:30 at night. That's just wrong.

I heard and read good things about this hotel and was looking forward to closing out a busy week on the road in luxury and comfort, but that's not what i got. Perhaps i just hit it on a bad night or during a management transition? It Doesn't really matter, because I will not return to this property.

I've stayed at pretty much all the downtown Providence hotels, and IMO, the Marriott Courtyrad is the best.

Room Tip: Get a room at the Marriott Courtyard on other side of mall - it has clean rooms and great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdultTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank-you for your feedback and I do apologize that we gave you this impression during your stay. As we are currently #1 on Trip Advisor and currently rated 18 of 88 hotels in the Renaissance Brand for Overall Guest Satisfaction, it is highly unusual for a guest to have a challenge with each and every service we provide at the hotel. I do apologize if we somehow gave you that impression. I understand we did offer you complimentary accomodations because of your feedback and awarded you additional Marriott Rewards points because of your perception.
I can assure you that we strive to be #1 in all we do and this is reflected in our current rankings on both Tripadvisor and with the Renaissance Brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is beautiful hotel located right across the street from the Rhode Island State house, right next to the Veterans Memorial auditorium and very close to the Rhode Island convention center, and only one block away from the mall. So it’s basically close to almost everything. I made my reservation online a couple of weeks before my arrival and save some money due to early reservation. The room was very neat the service was fantastic. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmbm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and our wonderful location. We are recognized by our guests for our proximity to many of the venues and amenities that make Providence such a wonderful place to visit. So happy that you enjoyed our hotel and everything we have to offer in Providence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,157 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,361 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $150 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing