We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is beautiful hotel located right across the street from the Rhode Island State house, right next to the Veterans Memorial auditorium and very close to the Rhode Island convention center, and only one block away from the mall. So it’s basically close to almost everything. I made my reservation online a couple of weeks before my arrival and save some money due to early reservation. The room was very neat the service was fantastic. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmbm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and our wonderful location. We are recognized by our guests for our proximity to many of the venues and amenities that make Providence such a wonderful place to visit. So happy that you enjoyed our hotel and everything we have to offer in Providence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Did not get off to a great start.....we were originally in a room on the sixth floor right under the gym, and the noise from the early morning exercisers bothered me, but not anyone else in my family.....visited the front desk again and eventually they put us in a great room on the first floor....much better than the original room in every way. Also had dinner in the somewhat un-named restaraunt which turned out to be very solid. What put this place over the top? I put several of my favorite shirts / jacket in the bedroom dresser, and of course forgot them. When I called the hotel a couple days later, they had already gathered them, and were very accomodating and helpful to ship them back to me.....very thankful for that.....

Room Tip: don't stay on the 6th floor under the gym......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlalotsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank-you for your kind comments and feedback. It is wonderful to hear that our team was proactive in gathering your items and ensured that you received them safe and sound.Hopefully we will have the opportunity to be of service in the near future when you return to Providence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, inside and out, as it is set on a hill in a super location-quiet too! The price was reasonable, especially for such a classy hotel. There is a $28.00 valet parking fee, per day though. Our room was very clean and so lovely with wonderful linens and a beautiful bathroom! We had a great view of the state house which is an impressive building. The staff here were very helpful, kind and respectful! We had tickets to an 8:00 p.m. performance at the Providence Performing Arts Center and walked to this performance from the hotel--about a 20 minute walk-refreshing and fun to see all the restaurants open, people all around having a nice time. Also, we attended Mass at a Catholic church which was in walking distance of the hotel. We will definitely stay here again as it is a super hotel in a super location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJMBtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank-you for your fabulous comments and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our city. It will be our pleasure to be of service in the near future and we appreciate your loyalty.We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My daughter was married here and they were great. Food was terrific rooms were superior and service was top notch. Great spot fine staff and super location. We went to the Renissance several times before booking and they were great every time. You will not get a better place in Providence than they have to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and we truly appreciate your business. It is wonderful that we made your daughter's special day fantastic. I am happy to hear that the wedding and accomodations were spectacular. Thank-you for your comments and hopefully we can be of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were staying here during our trip to New England last October. We had the benefit of a friend who worked for Marriot who was able to get us a discount which swayed us into booking the hotel.

It was a great hotel with lovely rooms. The hotel is perched on the hill beside the state house and only a 5 minute walk from the train station and mall. We were able to enjoy the waterfire and jack o latern whilst we were in providence which were both great. Brown university is also worth a visit and has some great history. Providence is a nice relaxing place and this hotel is a great base to explore it from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank-you for your observations of our hotel being a great hotel with lovely rooms. We are conveniently located to everything that makes Providence such a wonderful place to visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fabulous!
Immaculate. Relatively new so it's all still fresh.
Great lounge open til 1:00 am on wkends.
Very quiet.
Great views.
Friendly, courteous, obliging service.
Valet parking.
WiFi, flat screen tv,iPhone ports, sundries, in room coffee/tea, Aveda bath products.
Nicely appointed. Lush linens. Marble bathrooms.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room w a Capital view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuevodive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and for your Fabulous Comments! we appreciate that you had the time to enjoy everything that makes our hotel such a unique experience in Providence. We look forward to being of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Located on Francis St across from the State House. An architecturally elegant building, well appointed inside. It's an old Masonic Lodge (c. 1927). Rooms are comfy. Parking is valet only.($28.00/nite). Walking distance from mall and restaurants. Short drive to Federal Hll where you can find several blocks of the best Italian Food anywhere, from deli to 5 star restaurants.
A shuttle would be a nice addition as parking is at a premium in this town. A very easy on-off of I 95.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the State House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and it is wonderful that you found our central location helped you to discover the best of Providence. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to be of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,177 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,371 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $151 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing