We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this place while traveling on business.the place has a beautiful look.it is very close to providence train station which makes traveling to boston very easy.The place is great.got great history, nice building, i found the staff very helpful' theywere courteous .the hotel is in proximity to good eating places like cheesecake factory, Panera,the union station.it is also walking distance to providence mall.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohit p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank-you for discovering our hotel during your recent business trip to Providence. It is wonderful that you were able to experience our city, enjoy our location and take advantage of a number of the sites, restaurants and amenities that surround our hotel. We look forward to being of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    398
    86
    38
    20
See reviews for
335
382
68
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks on my business trip to Providence. Loved the place. Very friendly staff & service was excellent. Apart from organizing the cab for my daily work, the staff gave a lot of tips for my weekend trips.I stayed in a room with window facing the State house. The sun rays illuminate the dome & the statue on top. A wonderful view to see when you wake up in the morning.

The restaurant in the ground floor is fair enough. Though the menu may not be huge, breakfast served was good.

Only thing disappointing me was lack of WiFi, internet is still provided by cable. So while working had to place my laptop on the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the State House side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PradeepKumar_Mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank-you for your comments. We appreciate your loyalty and it was fabulous that you were able to enjoy our hotel and discover our wonderful city. We do offer both wired and wireless connectivity in all of our guest rooms as well as wireless in our lobby areas.Hopefully you will be able to take advantage of it on your next visit.
Once again thank-you for staying with us and we look forward to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting colleges. The room is large and clean. The beds were comfortable. Our window looked out directly at the Providence State House. The bathroom was large with Aveda products. We were able to take a long walk to visit Brown University. The city of Providence is beautiful and charming. The hotel is attached to the Veterans Memorial Auditorium which could be fun. However, the night we stayed at the hotel, a heavy metal band was performing and the crowd milling around the hotel, smoking outside the front doors and hanging out in the lobby were a little intimidating. It might be worth checking the theater's schedule to see who is performing while you are visiting so that you know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threekidsplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank-you for staying with us and it is fabulous that you discovered our hotel and our wonderful city. We look forward to your next visit and are very happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel and everything Providence has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a member of the rewards program I always enjoy staying at the Renaissance brand hotels in New York and have had a terrific experience there. Not this time around in Providence. The water came out of the faucet brown/yellowish which was kind of disgusting. I was told by a staff member that "it was the minerals in the water" and that "there is nothing that they can do". The upholstery in the room was dusty, so bad that a friend that stayed in the hotel based on my recommendation asked what kind of hotel I had booked. He too experienced the water problem. In my room, the TV did not work since the remote was dead. The telephone did not work either. Both were replaced by a staff member. Still, it left me thinking were the quality of the Renaissance brand went. The last night there was a huge new years eve party that escalated into a big fight at 5am and we could not sleep. The hotel's security staff did not show up until we complained a second time.

On the positive side I commend the valet service gentleman who offered us a courtesy ride after the taxi cab we had called was taken by another guest and also the prompt attention of Manager, Mr. Angelo, who offered us a credit given all the problems we had experienced.

Still, I doubt that we will be returning to this location. My friends chose not to complain and are simply not coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback once again and appreciate your recognition of our staff and my previous response to your concerns.I can assure you that your feedback has been addressed and that as the #1 rated hotel on Trip Advisor in our market, these issues are not reflective of our day to day services. Thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east greenwich, rhode island
Level Contributor
804 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

You can't find a more beautiful hotel in this city. Centrally located to the theater, waterfire, great restaurants and shopping. Well appointed rooms complete the picture. Only concern now is with the new owners....will they be able to keep things as they were? Unfortunately, the new owners have closed The Temple restaurant...one of the many wonderful features this hotel offered.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank-you for your comments we appreciate your fabulous feedback. To clarify, the new owners did not close Temple Restaurant, Temple Restaurant was a proprietary concept of the previous owners, who removed all information relative to Temple when they departed. The restaurant is currently operating in the Temple space with all the same staff and managers, a new restaurant company has been contracted to retain the restaurant with a new, vibrant concept that I am sure will surpass Temple Restaurant's expectation.Keep your eye out for the press release.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a unique property. This building was originally constructed as a Temple. Marble and stone construction in the lobby and hallways. The rooms are also well appointed, great shower and Aveda products. Our room had a great view of the RI State house

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the RI state house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank-you for discovering our unique property. It is fabulous that you found our hotel exceeded your expectations. We do have a most impressive view of the RI State Capitol from our Capitol view rooms. We look forward to being of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Very nice rooms and restaurant. Convenient to the mall and downtown. Perfect for a Providence stay. Lots of restaurants in the immediate area. Really cool old building that has been repurposed for use as a hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank-you for your wonderful comments about our rooms and restaurant. We are centrally located to the mall and downtown and perfect for a Providence stay. We look forward to your next visit and are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,478 reviews
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing