We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Consistently good service and accomodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
373 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Consistently good service and accomodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was a dad-daughter overnight, and even with use of points, accomodations and service were more than up to standards for a Renaissance property. Valet and check-in were seemless, and as others have sugegsted, asking for a view of the Rhode Island State House produced the desired results - a terrific view of the state capitol building. We had pre-requested a two-bed room, and were assigned a beautiful Queen-Queen. My daughter used the seventh-floor exercise facility and reported that it was clean and well-equipped. We enjoyed brunch the next morning, and found the service and food quality of a typical Sunday Brunch setup more than satisfactory. Overall, we were very pleased, would return, and highly recommend the Renaissance to others.

Room Tip: To avoid hallway noise during busy event weekends, one might want to request a room on the far side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyKingBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank-you for your fabulous comments. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to create a great experience for you and your daughter. Your comments about your experience in Temple are much appreciated and I will ensure I share your feedback with our team.We look forward to being of service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    376
    79
    34
    20
See reviews for
320
359
63
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

No other hotel as unique in Providence. Rooms are great with super-comfortable bed, linens, pillows. Very, very nice modern bathroom. Temple Bar maybe the coolest bar in the City but the mixed drinks are not good. The food and the service is good; not inexpensive and not the best place to eat in Providence but worth trying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrg355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback and your recognition of the unique character of our hotel.Next time you are in Temple please ask for Vincent, our GM of Food and Beverage, and he will personally make you one of our fabulous cocktails. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed one night at the Renaissance during a family weekend at Providence College and were very happy with our stay. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. We had a room with a king bed and it was very spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. We'd asked ahead of time for a rollaway bed for our youngest and had to call a couple of times to have it delivered once we checked in but they delivered it before dinnertime so that was alright. The only negative experience during our stay was retrieving our car from the valet on Saturday night. The valet staff had warned us that there were many events going on in the area and to call 25 minutes ahead for the car. We called 30 minutes ahead and still had to wait an additional 30 minutes before our car was finally brought out. We were late for our dinner reservations but thankfully the restaurant was not full so it wasn't an issue. During our wait, the valet staff apologized, explained the reason for the delay and informed us they would waive the daily valet fee. Their behavior made you feel at ease and understanding of the situation, so I give the staff kudos.

All is all, a great hotel and will be my hotel of choice for future trips to Providence.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and it is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay. It is fabulous that you found our staff helpful and accomodating and that the valet team responded to your concerns and exceeded your expectations.We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again when your visit Providence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

They took an old historic building and made a really nice up scale hotel . The rooms are a touch small and a bit drafty ( but I was there on a very , very windy day ) but the are well appointed and very nice . Great location and will stray there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank-you for your comments. Because of our historic restoration and construction, we do have 46 unique room configurations, many oversized, some standard size, with great views of the Capitol Building. We do have a great location and we appreciate that you will stay with us again the next time you visit our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Unfortunately my friend and I only were able to stay here in this hotel for one night and we wished we had more time to spend there. The hotel staff was very helpful in helping us find a place to eat late at night and giving us directions and recommendations.

The main thing about this hotel was that it is in a fantastic location. The hotel is an extremely short walk to the Amtrak station and a short ride from the airport. It directly faces out to the state’s capital and it is a beautiful sight. The mall, the convention center, and the historic walk are right next door to the hotel. My friend and I walked to Federal Hill from the hotel and it was a safe walk (make sure you use the pathway from the CVS to the Westin for a fairly indoor walk).

The rooms are large and looked very regal. There was a fridge in the room and we loved the decor. The beds themselves were comfortable and large. The internet was not free though so that would be the only thing that didn’t make this hotel perfect.

If I came back to Providence, this is definitely a place I would book again without question.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilPiggyQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It was wonderful to hear that your one challenge was that you did not have more time to stay with us! Thank-you for kind comments about our staff, our product and our location. We look forward to being of service in the near future to help you discover more about why our hotel and our city is so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our second time to stay here at this hotel. We had a family weekend to attend at Brown University and this location was so perfect. It couldn't have been any better.
At our first stay, we had a problem with extremely slow valet service, and we were hesitant to come back here again, but we could not resist this location, and gave it an another try. We were pleasantly surprised how everything was so smooth and valet situation was very much improved. I do like the docor of this hotel.
We had a beatutiful junior suite which had a separte living room and a good size bedroom with 2 queen beds. The docor was very artistic, beautifully done and the beds were very comfortable.
Junior suite has a nice size living room with a counter top mini kitchen.
The hotel is a walking distance to the Providence mall where they have so many shops and restaurants.
We were treated very nicely with the hotel staff members and I was so pleased we stayed here again.
I highly recommend this place if you are visiting Providence and hope to have a comfortable stay in the beautiful rooms.

Room Tip: Junior suite is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaPianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank-you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you again. I am very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations on this visit and that our staff and your room was wonderful. Your feedback and loyalty is very important to us and once again we would like to thank-you for discovering us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on 11/3/12 for a birthday celebration. Hotel was 100% occupied and although the staff was getting flack from impatient guests I watched their response and witnessed conversations. The staff at the front desk were all very young and could not have been more professional and helpful to the guests and kept a sense of humor. The young lady that checked us in sent a personal handwritten note to our room thanking us for staying with the hotel and hoped that we were enjoying our birthday celebration. She knew who we were when we went to the desk and kept a friendly smile and always asked how may I help you. I was in the travel business for years and if I could hire a crew of these young people I would do it in a heart beat. The hotel was very nice and I would recommend it as it is centrally located next to a mall, restaurants and you can walk to many places.
Casey was the young woman at the front desk that we were most impressed with her professionalism and energy.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor and we did not have any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbiz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank-you for your fabulous comments about our staff. It is wonderful to hear that you observed a team of young professionals focused on creating magnificent experiences for our guests. It willl be my pleasure to pass your observations on to our staff, particularly Casey, who we will recognize and celebrate her performance with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#5 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903-1103
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing