We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in area, renovated building is cool and up-to-date.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I've stayed 98 nights this year in New England area hotels and this was my favorite. Not much traffic. Easy valet. Good price on corporate discount. Cool building. Very clean. Top-notch comforter, pillows, linens. Great staff at front desk. Fast internet. Only drawback is lack of things to do within walking distance, its separated like a plaza, but there is a nice mall and good restaurants at a 5 min drive. On my list of all-time favorites.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfrommedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank-you for your wonderful feedback.Hopefully we will see you again soon, the fall season is beautiful in New England and Providence is a great city to head out to see the foliage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I came to the Renaissance for our one year wedding anniversary. We came to this hotel based on it's reviews from this site as we have never stayed overnight in Providence before. As we pulled up, we noticed that there were many guests checking in as it seemed to be a few weddings taking place last weekend. We knew that there were going to be rowdy/drunk guests up late so we made the decision to ask for a room away from the wedding guests. Jai was very helpful during the checkin process and was able to provide us a king bed (as was initially booked) and put us on the 8th floor. It was a beauitful room, very clean and cool decor, not so much of a view as the building structure was blocking the statehouse, but it was worth it for not having to be near the wedding guests that we knew would be louder during the late night hours. Jai also provded us with 2 free appitizer cards to Hemenway's where we were heading to for dinner. We went downstairs at 6:30 where the valet service called a cab for us and we were off to dinner (we didn't want to drive as we knew we would be drinking, but the valet service is in/out). Checkout was smooth. We had to wait for our car for valet for about 20 min, but that is what we expected when you are leaving right at checkout. Overall everything was very smooth, pleasant and we will returning to this hotel if we decide to stay Providence again. Great location to downtown, the mall and restaurants. My husband and I didn't like the pillows, but that is just preference. Jai was great, even wrote us a little note wishing us a happy anniversary that was waiting for us when we woke up. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmp2415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Thank-you for discovering the Renaissance Providence and it is wonderful to hear that we were able to accomodate your requests. I will also pass your feedback on to our team and thank Jai for her efforts in going above and beyond to ensure you had a great experience with us. Hopefully we wil have the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My parther and I and another couple spent two nights here in two rooms on the same floor. We are repeat visitors who were vert happy with our past stay. This is a beautiful hotel with an excellent and efficient staff. We found the rooms beautiful and as clean as can be. We were out and about and found the car valet efficient if not a bit expensive ($26/day with in/out) each time we called for our auto. The only down side had to do with neighboring hotel guests. There was some sort of domesic dispute in the room next to ours that left us listenting to the crying of a female guest and an obnoxious woman in the room across the hall who thought drinking beer and talking loudly in the hall was appropriate activity well after midnight. To their credit, hotel security did respond to our (and apparently other) calls and dealt with these problems but we did NOT get much sleep with all the drama. It may have been our bad luck or it may be the trendy hotel caters to a group of guests who on weekends check in to make it their own private high end drunk tank. We have stayed her before, love the building and the staff but I have my doubts about checking in again for a stay that includes a weekend night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Thank-you for loyalty and it is wonderful to hear that you have discovered and chosen our hotel for repeat stays in the past. I am sorry to hear that you had a challenge with your hotel neighbors this past visit but it is wonderful to hear that you felt our loss prevention team acted appropriately and did their best to recyify the situation. I can assure you that we do not cater to a specific type of person on the weekend, we cater to all people, and we ensure the safety and security of our guests is our #1 priority during the week and on the weekend. We manage to accomplish this and at the same time execute a high level of product and service that continues to position us as the #1 hotel in Providence rated by our guests on Tripadvisor.Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a visually stunning hotel with clean and comfortable furnishings, good toiletries (though no bath salts), and complementary morning Starbucks coffee provided in the foyer of the hotel's Temple Restaurant. The downtown location is convenient for walking to points of interest (and a Panera Restaurant). Our room (#424) had a cool "secret" door from the inside of the closet to the bathroom--how perfect for a rennovated Masonic temple! Since the main bathroom door was adjacent to the bed, and the switch to the light was on the exterior wall, one could not use the bathroom at night without floodlighting the sleeping area with light. Sensitive sleepers take note. The closet entryway will be handy for you.

Our check-in was excessively labor-intensive. We had reserved a king bed. We had requested a quiet room. Neither was on offer. The desk clerk told us that room reservations were merely suggestions and would brook no discussion on our needs. She did not make eye contact. She was officious. We chose to go with the flow and arrived at our lobby-level two-queen room a few steps down the hall from the Temple Bar...and the music was so loud that it sounded like tambourine-bangers were on the other side of the door.

Extreme noise. Non-negotiable.

So we dragged our bags back to the desk, and, while my husband rushed outside to have the valet hold our car, I asked to see the night manager. At 11:00pm we were prepared to drive on. It was that bad.

Eventually, an assistant to the manager appeared. A king room on the fourth floor had mysteriously been "found." I know hotels keep rooms back. But I deplore this sort of gamesmanship. How much better for the desk clerk to have been proactive in communicating--and working with us--to reach a solution reasonable for all.

The friendliness that other reviews have stressed was not in evidence during our stay. In fact, no staff were visible during our stay, except for the energetic and always welcoming valet crew. They were truly hospitable, no matter the time of day or night.

Will we return? To Providence, most definitely. To the Renaissance, not necessarily. As my husband says, with the Renaissance's logic of reservations being merely suggestions, what's to stop them from putting us on cots in the kitchen?

Travel time is too short to be wasted in game-playing.

Room Tip: Have a Plan B and be prepared to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Thank-you for your wonderful observations as well as your feedback on the challenge you encountered at check-in. Our hotel is a fantastic historic restoration with 46 different types of room configurations making each stay unique. In addition,as with all hotels, we have a specific number of rooms with king beds and with double beds. We do take requests for specific room types when you make your reservation and at check-in we do our best to accomodate all requests. As we are rated #1 of 12 hotels in our market on Tripadvisor, I can assure you we do an excellent job meeting requests on a regular basis. At check-in, I am sure in order to help facillitate your arrival experience, we offered you the current room type we had available, that being a room with double beds as opposed to your request for a king bed. We do not make it our policy to "hold back" rooms as you described, however, additional room types do become available later in the evening as people continue to check out. I apologize at check in that we did not offer this alternative to move you into your room type of choice later in the evening and I will discuss this with our team for future reference. Once again thank-you for your feedback and observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The reason we stayed here was that it was within walking distance from the Amtrak station and the price was reasonable, but the room was clean, comfortable, and surprisingly big and stylish. A happy surprise was the quality of the food and service at the hotel restaurant. Choose the local seafood for dinner. The only gripe is that you pay extra for internet access, but all in all, excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zapf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and it is wonderful to hear you found our rooms to be clean, comfortable and stylish. We are centrally located to many of the amenities that make Providence a wonderful place to visit. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent a few nights at the Renaissance Providence Hotel. Appearance was great, 4 star hotel with great service. The shopping mall was right across the street, and close to most attractions. The Temple bar was nice too, nice bartender and staff. Rooms were clean and decor was fun Renaissance style theme.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycrounders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thank-you for discovering the Renaissance Providence Hotel and for your wonderful comments about our appearance and service. Hopefully we will see you soon and we will have the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We get what you expect of a Renaissance hotel: Great rooms, luxury ammenities and a very confortable bed. The service was accordingly good.

Providence center is not big so, even there is a short walk from the hotel to it, it is a good place to stay. The main shopping mall in the city is steps away.

Room Tip: If you can choose, ask for a room overlooking the state congress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARUANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thank-you for your fabulous coments on our rooms, amenities and our bedding. It will also be my pleasure to pass on your comments about the wonderful service you received to our staff. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,766 reviews
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,138 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $170 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing