We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay before the 1/2 marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here, not only because I am a Marriott Gold Elite member but also due to the other wonderful reviews.Yes, there are guests that will find faults but I found none...except for perhaps the $26 parking fee but you have to expect that when there is no other parking. I have paid much more in Philadelphia and the DC area. Upon arrival, we were greeted very nicely by the valet staff and asked if we needed help with our luggage. We didn't as we we only had a roller bag and backpack each. The front desk was courteous and very friendly. Our room was ready and it was one of the rooms with a view of the State House. It was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable with the best pillows that i have ever slept on. Since we arrived on a friday and had a late departure on Sunday....all we needed was 1 day of maid service...and that was done in a timely manner. I was impressed that I had received an email asking if I would like a later departure time. I don't know if they asked because I was on a special "marathon rate" and thought that I might need a little more time....and I did. What a big help it was to not have to hurry to check out. Thank you Renaissance DTS! Valet service was always on the ball . When I called for the car....by the time I came out, it as there.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Riverwalk, Federal Hill with it's numerous Italian restaurants and the Providence Mall which is just a block away.
For me, it was very convenient to the start and finish of the Rock n Roll marathon...no need to get up at the crack of dawn to catch a shuttle and such a short walk back to the room after running in the poring rain.
I must apologize to the management for the puddles and slippery floors that were caused by the runners. We just couldn't avoid bringing the weather inside with us. However, the staff was there mopping the floors and trying to keep them dry so that falls could be prevented .
Thank you Renaissance for a wonderful weekend stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank-you for your fabulous feedback and we are already looking ahead to hosting the Rock and Roll 1/2 marathon next year. It was a pleasure being of service to you and all the marathoners. We are pleased that we were able to make your stay here at our hotel and in the City of Providence a memorable one.Once again, thank-you for your kind words and rest assured I will share them with our team, they will be very appreciative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at the Providence Renaissance the weekend of Aug 7th for the Rock and Roll marathon. We were forced into a 2 night minimum, when we booked that same week - because why wouldn't they take advantage of the fact that people were coming into town for an event, right? Ugh. We checked in on Friday, but did not use the room, since we have a home nearby. We wanted the hotel because it was near the start and finish line, so my husband could have a short walk to the start line, and shower after the finish.

When we checked into the room on Saturday, all seemed ok. However, once my husband entered the bathroom, he was shocked, and more disgusted, to find feces smeared all over the outside base of the toilet bowl. HOW could housekeeping have missed this??? We called the font desk and told them we needed housekeeping asap, and to "please bring lots of cleaning supplies for the bathroom." Housekeeping showed up, with no cleaning supplies and looked at the bathroom, seemed more concerned about why we didn't use the room the night before, then left to get cleaning supplies.

The day of the race, when we returned after the run, my husband was desperate to take a cool bath as planned. however, when we ran the water in the tub, it was brown. It looked like rust. I called the front desk again, and asked why the water was brown and was told by, Linda I think, that "oh, that happens all of the time, and you just need to run the water for like 10 or 15 minutes." SERIOUSLY!!! So, desperate to shower from the run, we ran the water for 30 minutes, and it never cleared up, it just became less brown, and looked more like weak ice tea.

This is supposed to be a nice hotel, one of the nicest in Providence, and they did this city a huge disservice by providing gross accomodations.

Oh, and despite having 5 people working the valet, it took 20 minutes to get out car the 2 times we took it.

The only good thing was the Temple Restaurant. The food and service were great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pital16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

We appreciate your feedback and thank-you for bringing this challenge to our attention. We do not historically have any issues in these areas. We are currently rated #1 on Trip Advisor in our market and #1 for Room Cleanliness year to date for our brand, I can assure you that your experience is not indicative of our ongoing performance and rest assured based on your feedback we have reacted to this isloated instance appropriately. Once again thank-you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is the best hotel in Providence. We stayed here on August 5th for an overnight getaway to one our favorite cities in the Northeast. The hotel's location is outstanding, Right next door to the Providence Place shopping mecca. Hotel rooms are very unique and everything is first rate. The hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful. The Temple Restaurant and Bar is very nice too. We have reservation to comeback in September for another overnight visit

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jremra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Providence is a little off the beaten track for tourists, but our experience at the Renaissance was excellent. The hotel has a really quirky feel to it, with interesting and bold designs. Location is first rate. Right beside the hotel is the Rhode Island State House. This is open to the public and well worth a visit. 200 yards down the street is the Providence Place Mall, with all the shopping you would want.
The rooms are well fitted out to a very high standard, with tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge and safe. The bathroom is really nice and the beds VERY comfortable.
Our deal included access to the Club Lounge. This not only meant a room on a high floor, but also complimentary breakfast, hors d'oeuvre and desserts, as well as free Starbucks coffee, water and soft drinks all day in the Club Lounge. This was also a great place to chill in the evening, to read, watch TV or just relax in one of the sofas eating the complimentary M&Ms!
It wasn't perfect. Car parking was $26 a day and internet was $11 a day. Both were too expensive.
However, this hotel was a joy and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Rev007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank-you for taking the time to experience Providence as well as our hotel.It is fabulous that you found your experience at the Renaissance excellent and we appreciate you highly recommending our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our daughter had been living in Providence for the past three years, and we had never been to water fire. The location was great. The staff, including valets, were very attentive. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Although there was a wedding and a wedding rehearsal in the hotel during our stay, we never heard a sound. The price was comparable to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank-you for your feedback and it is wonderful that you found our location great, our staff, including valets, very attentive and our rooms tastefully decorated. It will be my pleasure to pass on your feedback to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We booked the Renaissance Providence on Priceline, getting a rate of less than $100 per night. I think it was characterized as 3.5 stars. However, it was much more like a 5 star hotel. The building was once the Veteran's Memorial Auditorium, so it is an architectural gem. Marriott has maintained that original beauty while providing modern amenities.

The rooms were beautifully appointed, as were the public areas. Every amenity was found in the room, including bathrobes. Service was first rate as well. I had not been in Providence for many years and was delighted to find the Renaissance a perfect location for visiting the city. The hotel faces the magnificent State Capitol Building, which sits on park like grounds. It is a 6-10 minute walk from the train station. Walk down the street to discover a new mall, restaurants, shops, etc. We were in Providence for an event of our son's at Brown University, and the University was just a 20-30 minute walk away. We were so impressed we would like to find another reason to return to Providence, both because of the great hotel and the great discoveries in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank-you, we are happy to hear that you were impressed by our hotel and our fabulous city. Hopefully you will find a reason to return to Providence in the near future. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My family and I came to Providence to tour Brown University. We were unlucky enough to arrive in Providence during a time of record-setting high temperatures. Coupled with high humidity, the weather was sweltering to say the least.
The Renaissance is a gorgeous renovated Masonic temple. From the minute we arrived, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.
The rooms were comfortable and very spacious, which was a major plus for a old hotel in an urban area. There was plenty of room for three people in a double queen room. There is a coffee maker and a refrigerator in the room.
The location seems very appealing with views of the capitol across the street, but can be misleading, as it is a bit of a walk to downtown. Perhaps it was the heat that got to us, but we were experiencing a bit of envy passing the Westin and the Biltmore (which are in the heart of downtown) as we trudged up the steep hill back to the Renaissance. I'm sure this wouldn't be nearly as much of a complaint if the weather would have been normal. For example, we were planning on walking to our tour of Brown, which is a little more than a mile away, but ended up taking a taxi because the heat was so unbearable.
The hotel restaurant, The Temple, has an excellent breakfast. Although the continental breakfast is not complementary, it's an absolute feast, complete with an omelet bar and all sorts of delicious breakfast items. There's a breakfast menu as well, if you're not as hungry.
The only real complaint we had about the hotel is the maid service. We were out all day, came back around five P.M. and the room still hadn't been cleaned that day. We called the front desk, and they said that maid service can come "throughout the day." We were a little frustrated, but we weren't going to leave just to have the room cleaned, so we just requested some fresh towels and more coffee and left it at that.
Over all, we were very pleased with the Renaissance Providence.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliviarand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank-you for your kind feedback and I apologize that we did not service your room prior to your return. I am happy to hear we did respond to your requests and that you were very pleased with the Renaissance Providence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,183 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,940 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#7 of 13 in Providence
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: $152 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing