We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea but flawed”
Review of Hotel Dolce Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dolce Villa
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Reviewed November 13, 2009

The location of this hotel is fantastic - Federal Hill is a total Italian enclave but within walking distance of the city centre. I like appartment hotels, too, but this one is seriously flawed. The decor is entirely white - white walls, floors, curtains, furniture. It's a bit like living inside a fridge. The first room they gave us smelled of cigarette smoke (can you believe any idiot smokes in a hotel these days?) so they moved us to another, which was bit darker and pokier. the windows didn't oen and the room was hot and stuffy, even in October. However, the main problem is noise. All the floors have cerami tile floors and there is little sound-proofing. The woman in wooden soled shoes and a large wheeled suitcase who checked into the room above us at 1 am would have wakened the dead, et salne us. By the time she had gone to bed, it was 3 am and the hen party group cameack from club to party some more. The enxt niht we got moved to the two bedroom suite with balcony on the top floor - frsh air and no-one above us. I wouldn't dismiss this place out of hand but avoid weekends and ask for a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianewestt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 224 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend and thought we had found a great place due it's location right in Fed Hill. We booked two of their suites that sleep 6 comfortably and was affordable. But that's where the positives end.

When we checked into one of the suites, we were immediately hit with a strong odor of gas the second we walked in the door, and saw that the gas fire place had a low flame that wouldn't go out. To add insult to injury, both of the 2 smoke/CO2 detectors in the room weren't working - one was pulled out of the ceiling and the other had the batter popped out. Sketchy. We called to notify the front desk, and they told us to blow out the pilot light and everything would go away. Now, come on - it's common sense that you don't blow out a pilot light ever. But it was done, and when we came back from dinner, the odor was still there and we were all getting headaches and dizzy within ten minutes of being in the room. We called the front desk again, and they told us not to worry about it, it happens all the time and to just crack a window and we'd be fine. I don't think so - there was no way we were going to risk carbon monoxide poisoning for this crappy hotel.

We called back - this time they told us the gas wasn't even turned on in the building, so there was no way there could be a leak. Um...if the gas wasn't turn on, then why was there a flame in the fireplace when we first check in. Then, at 1:00 AM, we called again and the only person who did anything about our problem was the night watchman on duty. After we convinced him we weren't exaggerating (Note: he was also the only person who actually came to the room to check out the situation and agreed it smelled strongly of gas and we shouldn't sleep there), he offered us the “only other vacant room” in the hotel. Only problem was, it wasn't a suite and could only sleep 3 not 6. So we then had to pull mattresses in from the old room to the new room so the rest of us could sleep on the floor. And no, help was not offered - we girls did this all by ourselves.

When we checked out, we actually had to ask for a compensation for all the problems - none was ever offered. We finally walked away with a $100 discount (not very much when we had 12 girls staying in that hotel). IMO, they should have comped the entire stay. I hope others read this and STAY AWAY from this hotel. The fact that there were even willing to risk having 6 girls sleep in a room that could have been leaking deadly gas is beyond my comprehension.

As an side, the hotel decor itself is very unusual. It's like they were built as apartments or condos then turned it into a hotel b/c the rooms had full kitchens. The decor was very odd - the entire hotel is white. Not a stitch of color anywhere - white floors, white walls, white sheets, white leather sofas, white rugs. Very sparse and insane-asylum feeling. I think they're trying to go for an Italian boutique feel, but it didn't work out. All in all, this hotel was a total FAIL.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BostonMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastRi, Steve Tremmel,GM at Hotel Dolce Villa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2009

Your comments are very important to us. We at the Hotel Dolce Villa want in no way to compromise anyone's safety. After immediately checking your 2 bedroom suite I found both detectors functioning properly and would have sounded if anything was unusual in the room. The fireplaces are in fact gas and do have a slight sense of that when only the pilot light is on as in your case. If we are correct you had 2 rooms for the 12 girls and the other room was set up the same and had the fireplace in that room. We did check that suite as well and found it be functioning correct as well.
We were in fact almost sold out on that night and only had the1 smaller suite available. Our night auditor was unaware you were moving mattresses or would have positively done this for you.

After reviewing your folio we did in fact credit you. Please be sure to check with the other 11 girls in your party to be sure you were not charged incorrectly. If so please contact us ASAP so we can rectify this. I know you had a special rate for the 6 girls per room.
I again assure you were not in any danger. As for the white we know it is not to everyone's liking. It does however allow us to have immaculate rooms as you can see from the many reviews on this site. Thank you again for your review it has been a learning experience for us.

Steve Tremmel,GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We moved from the Westin to here, and glad we did. We had a room with a full kitchen for a third the price of the Westin. Located in the heart of 'little italy", there are great resturants, bakeries and delis within walkng distance.There are no elevators, but I had no problem walking a few flight of stairs to save 150.00/ night.
Do not eat at Walters. The worst service I have ever had. Over 2 hrs to get a dinner served, after ordering!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrrawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We asked for a room for a jacuzzi. What we got was a bathtub with some air jets. I don't know what they clean the rooms with, but there were disgusting stains under the sheets and the smell from whatever they use for cleaning materials caused us to be nautilus. We actually had to leave an hour and a half into our stay. The tv guide said they offered HBO. That was not true. I had to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs. As far as the area, I know the area and it's nowhere I would want to be caught at night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelerx_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Location, location, LOCATION!! Right on the square to enjoy all the sights and sounds of this unique pocket of Providence. The room was immaculately clean, well appointed, and the staff was welcoming and very helpful. Will definately return for another stay. Be sure to ask for room with a balcony!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logicaltoluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Let me start by accentuating the positives:

1) The location in the Italian quarter is nice - the square on which the hotel is located has some good local eateries and great atmosphere
2) Although some have commented that the all-white colour of the hotel is offputtting, it is I think quite effective - the rooms are well appointed, the place is spotlessly clean and our first impressions were very positive.

So why the dreadful review:

1) We booked late for a one night stay on Sun 2 August
2) We were allocated a large room (3D) at the back of the hotel
3) This room backs onto the local nightclub which pumps music until past 1am in the morning and the accompanying noise at the end of the club when everyone comes out and has a "quiet chat" with their new friends from the club
4) WE WERE NOT INFORMED THAT WE WOULD BE PART OF THE NIGHTCLUB AND WOULD GET NO SLEEP
5) When we registered our complaint upon checking out, there was no manager available to talk to - the girl at the front desk did a reasonably efficient job at listening to our complaint and trying to placate us .... by saying that the duty manager (who was in a meeting) or the hotel general manager (who was on vacation) would personally get in touch with us to discuss our complaint (we don't believe that we should have had to pay for half a night's sleep in the hotel)... which leads us onto our biggest gripe
6) THERE HAS BEEN NO CALL FROM THE HOTEL DUTY MANAGER
7) THERE HAS BEEN NO CALL FROM THE HOTEL GENERAL MANAGER

Folks - this is the worst, bar none, hotel customer service treatment that I have ever received in America (and I have been travelling here for 15 years)

So, if you do stay in La Dolca Villa (and there are good reasons to do so)

A) Book directly with the hotel if you can get them to accept the lower prices that are available on all the consolidator websites - so that you can get them to remove your charges when you are put in a room which has the sound insulation of a paper bag in a vacuum cleaner
B) and most importantly, DO NOT STAY IN A ROOM AT THE BACK OF THE HOTEL on Fri, Sat or Sun nights as the BUMP AND SHAKE session in the attendant nightclub will literally visit your room until the wee hours of the morning

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastRi, Steve Tremmel General Manager at Hotel Dolce Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2009

revised

Accentuate the Positives!

First let me thank -you for your review and your positive comments. We strive for the best in all areas for a memorable stay when visiting the vibrant Federal Hill area. I do wish you would have contacted our guest service while you were experiencing the loud music from the local club. Let me explain why! We do in fact have a relationship with the many area restaurants and night spots and would have been immediately in contact with the management to alert them of your situation and to lower the music. In the 4+ years we have been here we have not had many situations like yours but would have gladly sent one of our 24 hour desk staff to the establishment to address the situation. It is always easier to fix a problem while it is happening than to regain confidence after the fact. We do strive for the best possible customer service while here and have had many positive comments on that at the Dolce Villa and unfortunately I was in fact on a short vacation. I do hope you will visit us and the great Federal Hill area in the future.

Steve Tremmel,GM
Hotel Dolce Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

the apartment was great. it had a living/dining/kitchen, separate bathroom with spa and a large bedroom. wireless internet. The surrounds are great. heaps of restaurants. its about a 20 minute walk from the main hospital and about 30 minutes to Brown (both places I had to go).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grassgrowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,383 reviews
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 13 in Providence
945 reviews
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,967 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Fox Point
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
Hilton Garden Inn Providence
#9 of 13 in Providence
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolce Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolce Villa

Address: 63 DePasquale Plaza, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Price Range: $73 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dolce Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dolce Villa is a unique boutique hotel in Providence, Rhode Island. The old world exterior combined with the bright trendy interior gives the hotel a mixed personality of country-side Italy and South Beach, Florida, inviting diverse crowds from all over the world.Dolce Villa offers 14 suites, 9 one-bedroom units and 5 two-bedroom units, all featuring memory-foam beds and pull-out memory foam sofa beds.All suites feature internet access, state-of-the-art electronics for business and entertainment purposes, a fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, pots and pans, dishware and flatware, a Jacuzzi tub in each bathroom with hair dryers and personal amenities, and a closet with a safe for valuables.Our two-bedroom units also include gas-fired fireplaces with remote controls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Dolce Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing