We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Hotel Dolce Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dolce Villa
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here in mid-September, 2013. Room definitely needed an update, painting and all-around cleaning. Shower head was old, as was bathtub. Permanent blow dryer was from the 70s, and in desperate need of an upgrade. There was a funny smell, similar to overpowering air fresheners, throughout the hotel. While the location was ideal, I would not stay here again, as it just wasn't clean enough for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    27
    24
    46
See reviews for
31
79
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on two different occasions for a total of 5 nights. For the price we paid, it was a great location and great room quality. (I should note that we saw rooms there listed at higher prices than we paid, so it might be worth bargaining since the hotel web site encourages you to name your price.) Both rooms we stayed in were really suites with their own kitchens and separate rooms for the bedrooms. We found the beds incredibly comfortable with their memory foam mattresses. The location on Federal Hill is fun because of the variety and quality of restaurants within easy walking distance. We also walked downtown from the hotel, although that's a longer jaunt. Other reviewers have complained about noise. We weren't bothered by the noise on the square, but we were there in cold weather when there was likely less outdoor activity. We found the receptionists to all be very nice and helpful. They work alone, so there can be short periods when they are not there, but this wasn't particularly burdensome.

The biggest drawback is that cars cannot be left on the street for more than two hours, so you have to rely on the valet parking service from the hotel, which costs an additional $20 per day. The receptionists were always very quick to fetch our car, so it wasn't hugely inconvenient. The decor of the rooms is nice in a stark kind of way, but not exactly cozy.

Room Tip: Room 3A has two bedrooms, a balcony overlooking the square and excellent Wifi service. Wifi receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy-RPCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchton, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Loved staying here and walking to all of the great bars and restaurants on Federal Hill. We barely used our car at all the entire 3 days and when we did the valet (who is also the front desk clerk) quickly retrieved our car. We reserved a 1 bedroom and were upgraded to a 2 bedroom with a fireplace, which was nice since it was November and chilly outside. The staff was very friendly and our room was very clean. The memory foam bed was heavenly! We only had 2 complaints: First, our room was in the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor and very close to the bar, Smoke, where they play very loud music late at night. Luckily, it didn't disturb our sleep too much. Next time, I will request a room in the front of the hotel. Second, nearly every electrical outlet in our room and the common areas had a plug-in air freshner, which was a little overpowering. Not as nice as the Hilton or Biltmore, but can't beat the location and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlovergirl-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights earlier this week. We really enjoyed the location as there were restaurants every two steps in this Little Italy part of town (Federal Hill). People here seem pretty friendly. My favorite was the Constantino deli just a few doors over as they had ready-made food items that was delicious. Because it was already November, it entire town seemed a bit slow-including the downtown area. The Federal Hill area seemed more lively overall. Note the hotel is walking distance to downtown attractions (20 minutes) and it felt pretty safe.
The hotel itself seems like a remodel. They did a fairly decent job, but I couldn’t help but feel that it was still a remodel. We had a suite. The appliances were excellent and almost brand-new. The decor was modern and clean with all white (very glossy) floors, white couch, and a white bed. I appreciated this as it gave the room a cleaner feel. However, once you look closer, it’s clear this hotel could benefit from paying attention to the smaller details. There were scuff and crack marks already on the white floor tiles. On the beige curtains, there was a mysterious brownish stain. The hairdryer didn’t work. The heater and ventilation fan were both noticeably noisy. After looking over the bed sheets, I saw what I initially thought was a stain, but really was a thinning of the fabric. The living room TV shuts off on its own occasionally (it just did for the third time as I am writing this). The only view was of a wall. The whole door-locking and door-opening process was a bit tedious. The cons were that we had to work hard to open the main door bolt from the inside. When we left the room each time, the lock was a bit finicky to close. Each room is accessed by keypad access, which I have never seen at any other hotel before. This was okay to me as I didn’t have to worry about the keys. But I did wonder whether this made the room less secure as they wrote the room code on the hotel business card. If the card was lost, then someone would know the hotel address, room number and access code easily. On the day we arrived, we noticed a strong smell (maybe food?) in the hallway. It wasn’t bad or anything, but the maid but have noticed it too upon her return because the next day the halls smelled like bleach instead. Not sure what they have going on the third floor, but we heard lots of heavy walking/hammering/banging/dragging at times various times during the day and night.
I did call the front desk for help with the TV one night. While the other ones during the day seem friendly and relatively helpful, this one at night seemed pretty uninterested in helping. Note the front desk button the phone didn’t work and I had to press zero.
Overall, it was still a nice stay. However, I would probably consider looking at other hotels before considering a return stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel did not have good service. We had to wait in the lobby in the beginng for 10 minutes until someone showed up. There is a club directly across and loud music played all night. I would definitly not reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matth11011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Providence hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this hotel because it had a kitchen, but although it was clean, it was the most depressing place to stay. Although it's a smoke free environment, the whole suite smelled of cigarettes. The TV 's were so small you had to sit on a chair directly in front to see anything. The kitchen had one pot that was so small you couldn't even make a serving of oatmeal. The staff were very helpful but the parking situation is a total pain. Plus the bedrooms overlooking the square are noisy until 2 AM. We were never so happy to leave a hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard side because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Skigirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited this hotel for our one night visit to Providence. The location was excellent. The check-in was disorganized, but not too bad. Parking was an issue and having t carry two heavy suitcases up a flight and a half of stairs was not wonderful. Paying $20 for parking was acceptable, but when I got my car back, the seat had been moved as if someone had spent quite some time in the car, possibly sleeping.

The room was nice and big. we were actually given two bedrooms. we had a sitting room and a kitchen, which were nice.

The room was clean enough.

Overall, it was ok but not great.

Room Tip: Get a quiet room near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering-J-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolce Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolce Villa

Property: Hotel Dolce Villa
Address: 63 DePasquale Plaza, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dolce Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dolce Villa is a unique boutique hotel in Providence, Rhode Island. The old world exterior combined with the bright trendy interior gives the hotel a mixed personality of country-side Italy and South Beach, Florida, inviting diverse crowds from all over the world.Dolce Villa offers 14 suites, 9 one-bedroom units and 5 two-bedroom units, all featuring memory-foam beds and pull-out memory foam sofa beds.All suites feature internet access, state-of-the-art electronics for business and entertainment purposes, a fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, pots and pans, dishware and flatware, a Jacuzzi tub in each bathroom with hair dryers and personal amenities, and a closet with a safe for valuables.Our two-bedroom units also include gas-fired fireplaces with remote controls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dolce Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing