We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,319)
Filter reviews
1,319 results
Traveler rating
747
350
115
61
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
350
115
61
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrace churchbrick wallarts districtcharming hotelvalet parkingchain hotelswithin walking distancestreet noisethe general managerjunior suiteloved this hotelvalet servicefront desk staffgreat roomheart of downtownking bedbrown university
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 1,319 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2016

We stayed for a weekend and had an excellent experience. The hotel is beautiful, room and bathroom clean and modern. Staff was outstanding. They accommodated a rush dry cleaning request which was very much appreciated. Location and hotel building itself was perfect.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank M4737PWmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattChauvin, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016

Hello M4737PWmichaelb,

Thank you so much for taking a time to leave a review of our hotel. I am glad you found your room to be clean and the hotel beautiful. It is also nice to hear we were able to get that dry cleaning rushed for you as well. We all here at Hotel Providence look forward to seeing you again soon and hope you have a great holiday.

Regards,

Matt Chauvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2016

We stayed at the Hotel Providence the weekend of December 3rd. The building is beautiful, the location is wonderful and the staff is stellar!!!! However, the walls are very thin, not that this is anyone's fault, just be aware! We ate at the bar and through no fault of the staff, our food was cold. There was a big party going on and they looked understaffed. We had no trouble walking to the Providence Mall and the theater was one block away. I hope to come back to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cancer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattChauvin, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Hello,

Thank you for leaving a review of our wonderful hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you found our location to be a "prime location" and thought our building is beautiful, i think most would agree with you! I do apologize that your food was cold there is no excuse for that. I will share your comments with the food and beverage team. I hope to see you again soon as well.

Happy Holidays,

Matt Chauvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2016

We absolutely love everything about this establishment: the old architecture of the building, the simple elegance of the lobby, the beautifully appointed quarters, the fitness center and most of all the location--right in the heart of the Providence cultural center! Our dinner at Rosmarin was an epicurean dream, a jewel of a setting, intimate and welcoming. The staff made us feel like royalty. Unbelievable cuisine, wine selections and presentation.
Looking forward to visiting again!

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N38DDnataliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattChauvin, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Dear N38DDnataliam,

Thank you for such a great hotel of our hotel. I love your description and it is great to hear that you had a magical evening in the hotel and in Rosmarin for dinner. They certainly do a great job over there. We are looking forward to your next visit as well.

Happy Holidays,

Matt Chauvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2016

Impossible to sleep because of thin walls. You could hear literally what other guest were talking about and when the talking moved into action. Got a 50 usd discount on the room rate after complain what was appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for room without neighbors
Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank fred k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattChauvin, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise issues during your stay here with us. Our building is very old and unfortunately some of the walls are thin. We did soundproof all of our windows this year to help with outside noise. Some of our rooms have double doors to help with sound from hallways and adjacent rooms as well. I am glad we were able to offer you a credit to your satisfaction. I hope that next time you are in the area, you give us another shot.

Happy Holidays,

Matt Chauvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016

We have stayed at Hotel Providence for many years now - it is always consistently wonderful. The staff are accommodating and friendly, the rooms are lovely, the area and locale is perfect. I wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Providence whenever you are in the area. You will be very happy.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattChauvin, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Hello Nancy w,

Thank you for taking time to write a nice review of our hotel and it is great to hear that you found our hotel to be "a wonderful place to stay". That really does mean a lot to us. I will pass on your nice comments to the staff as well. Thank you for your whole hearted recommendation and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Providence!

Happy Holidays,

Matt Chauvin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews