We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had the opportunity to visit Providence for the first time and stay at The Hotel Providence. From our arrival and the welcome hospitality to our departure, we were surprised at this quaint hotel in downtown Providence. We approached the hotel on a sunny afternoon to be greeted by their outside patio that serves as Aspire's al fresco dining spot! The place was buzzing with patrons dining and enjoying the beautiful outdoors. The arrival bell service was friendly and professional and check in was a breeze. The lobby was quiet and my wife and our dog were ushered to our room on the 7th floor. The room was gracious in size with a large sitting room, white bathroom and an ample sized bedroom. Everything was super clean. It was hot that afternoon and the AC was working perfectly! Later in the day, we decided to take a stroll with the dog and asked the concierge for the best itinerary. We had a chance to stroll on the river walk, Johnson and Wales, RISD and Brown University. What a beautiful city! That evening we had the opportunity to check out the Bar @ Aspire. Great drinks and a friendly staff made our pre-dinner experience pleasant. We ate dinner al fresco at Aspire and had a wonderful time. The food was spot on and service A+. All in all, our experience was very positive in the way they treated us and our dog. We will definitely be back and tell our friends about this special hotel. Thanks again for your great hospitality!

Room Tip: My advice would be to speak to the front desk or general manager. They are most eager to please you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

It is most gratifying reading your positive Trip Advisor review. All of us are delighted that you and your wife, and your dog had such an enjoyable visit. Our al fresco dining in Aspire's A-Garden is a popular watering hole and so pleased you had the opportunity to experience it. Thank you for your gracious compliments which will be shared with the wonderful staff who work at the Hotel Providence. Looking forward to your return, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Providence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

I would love to return to this hotel. The entrance was cool and clean with sophisticated lounge area. Our front desk clerk was courteous and professional with a pleasant smile. My hotel suite was very clean, infact, spotless with tastful decor and extremely comfortable bed. Our stay was great and the restaurant /bar next store only added to the comfort. We will be back.

Room Tip: we asked for the top floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardener1Sturbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

We are delighted you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to your return. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor, which we wil share with all of our staff.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Hotel couldn't say enough about it.It was totally done over about a month ago. So clean, service was great,restraunt was good and the price of the room was right. Can't wait to go back. Rooms were all decorated like vintage

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

All of us are so delighted that you had an enjoyable experience staying with us. Your gracious compliments will be shared with everyone here. We appreciate your alerting Trip Advisor about your most recent visit. Looking forward to your return, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

As a frequent traveler, hotels are extremely important to me for cleanliness, pleasant staff and safety, This hotel was superb! The church bells someone complained about actually don't go off all the time, and you can request a room away from the bells if it is bothersome. I didn't hear them at all except when I went to the restaurant for dinner. Personally, I found them beautiful! It's right in the center of Providence, so walking to the bank or local restaurants was very easy and it's a safe area. It is definitely a romantic and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njbeverly87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. All of us are so pleased you had an enjoyable visit with us.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Providence.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I decided to stay here after a Joe Bonamassa concert rather than drive 2+ hrs afterwards. It is close by via a short walk to the Providence Performing Arts Center. From the moment of check in to the time of departure the entire staff was attentive and courteous. The hotel was spotless, My suite was was very comfortable and quiet. This hotel has old world charm with the most modern of amenities. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Room 201 is a King bed suite. It's very nice and spacious.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swingbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your gracious review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay after attending the concert, and found the accommodations and staff to your liking. I will certainly pass on your compliments to the staff.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Been here a couple times and they have made improvements to their noise issues, especially the bells. The newer rooms are key for a more silent night. Not much one can do about church bells. Staff is very helpful and newer rooms are nice and roomy and quieter ..take a room on the back side for quiet. Pricey with graduation two nite minimums but it was very convenient to several campus' . We recommend The Little Italy section for dinners..very nice! They hire college kids so check them out!

Room Tip: Pick a newer room with soundproofing...new wing not old.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dane1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We are so pleased you stayed with us and found the hotel to your liking and enjoyed being close to all of the places you needed to visit. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to your return, when next in Providence.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel was a great choice! I was in town attending the Johnson and Wales Alumni reunion it was listed as one of the hotels for alumni to stay at. When I go to Providence I try to stay at a different hotel each time. The location was perfect. It is in walking distance to Johnson & Wales University, the Dunkin Donuts Center and the Providence Place mall.

The staff was very friendly and quickly checked me in to my room upon arrival. The only drawback to this hotel is the $28 valet parking fee. There is no self parking and street parking in this area is few and far between.

The rooms were clean and modern. I particularly liked the comfy king sized bed. If you are looking for a quiet environment in your room, make sure to ask for a room that doesn't face the street. It's gets kind of loud in the evenings when everyone is heading out to the clubs.

A great bonus of this hotel is that they offer free wifi and are pet friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Sheniseleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very much appreciated. All of us are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you upon your next trip to Providence.
Kind regards,
David G. Benton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,704 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 13 in Providence
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Price Range: $177 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing