We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Providence”
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel Providence is a great botique hotel minutes from Federal Hill, the Civic Center and downtown shopping mall. It is also only a brief walk from the public bus station to get anywhere in the city. The hotel itself is absolutely fantastic. Everyone is very friendly and helpful, from the doormen to the desk staff to the housekeepers. The lobby is very well appointed, with lots of room to gather with friends. The rooms were spacious, very clean, with large comfortable beds (ours was king-size). The Aspire Restaurant and Bar, on the first floor is great for a late night drink or Sunday Brunch. On Friday nights they have a jazz combo that our group (9 of us) thoroughly enjoyed. Again, the wait staff were fun, courteous and accomodating. We were there for an entire weekend and would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: We traveled with a small group (9) that were in 5 separate rooms in different parts of the hotel. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved the hotel. I was concerned about the church bells but they did stop at night. The room was emasculate and the service was good. The hotel is within walking distance to many types of restaurants and shopping.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no pool which I didn't care about anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtrkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Providence is small boutique hotel. I only stayed one night and not during a weekend so it was quiet except for the ringing of the church bells which were nearby (outside of my window). The ringing does not go on all night and in the day it really did not bother me. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable and the marble bathroom was clean as well.

Since this is a smallish hotel the lobby is not crowded (but very nicely done). I was attending a book signing and the meeting rooms were adequate. On the ground floor the hotel connects to a bar and a restaurant. I tried some appetizers at the bar which were half price during 5 - 7.

Overall for a one night quick trip this hotel was quiet, clean, friendly and small enough to be informal. Check in check out was smooth and the front desk staff were attentive and friendly. I would stay here again if the price and availability are good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. You touched on many areas, giving a well-rounded review of the property, and we appreciate your helpful feedback. We hope you will have an another opportunity to stay a little longer next time. Providence is alive with creativity and culture and it's all within walking distance of HP. Take care and safe travels.

Thank you,
Tom Fitzgibbons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Providence for the first time and were quite happy with everything overall. The hotel is right downtown with easy access to some great areas. Service is good and hotel is well-maintained. Just have two negative comments: the hotel doesn't offer free coffee in the lobby for early risers -- instead you have to wait for the restaurant to open and then pay $3+ for a cup of coffee. A bit stingy... Other negative: they tack on a 20% gratuity to room service bills and then leave a blank line for "gratuity." Quite easy for most guests to double tip if they aren't observant and the 20% gratuity aleady added in is already sufficiently generous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZRHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We do not supply coffee in our lobby, however, we offer a complimentary seasonal beverage beginning at 10:30am each day. You will find it to the left of our retail cabinet across from the front desk.
Every guest room is equipped with a Keurig coffee maker and a supply of coffee/ tea pods (regular & decaf) for two people. Additional pods are available upon request.
Lastly, the service fee and gratuity are clearly stated on the in-room dining menu, as well as the room service receipt that the guest signs. Yes, there is a space for additional gratuity, should a guest be inclined to leave something extra, but it is in no way hidden or expected.
I hope that I have helped to resolve the issues that detracted from your experience and you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Providence.

Sincerely,
Tom Fitzgibbons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife surprised me with a Birthday get-away. We love Providence and all it has to offer but had never stayed in the city.

The Hotel Providence is located in the very center of the best part of providence. Walking distance to everywhere.

The room was elegant, clean with a beautiful bathroom and reasonably priced. The valet & bellman could not have been more helpful.

Jazz in the bar was a treat, we'd return for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, as we agree that HP is the ideal vantage point from which to enjoy the beautiful city of Providence. We look forward to your next visit.

Be well and safe travels,
Tom Fitzgibbons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tricia C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location of the hotel was fabulous and the staff was excellent. Loved the hotel restaurant, Aspire. Unfortunately, we were assigned to one of their subterranean rooms which was rather unpleasant.....an underground room with a view of a brick wall less than 1 foot from the window.....no natural light in the room. Noise was a huge issue on the night of March 23 when roving bands of kids / young adults were running up and down the hallways screaming and jumping down the small flight of stairs that led to the subterranean rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, team members, and restaurant. Many guests return because our location offers so many things to do within walking distance. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the unwelcome noise that you experienced. There was a hockey tournament in town at that time, and while we didn’t participate, some family members stayed with us and a few were a bit boisterous.

All of our rooms are above ground. Because of the nature of our historic property and downtown location, each room has a unique view. When booking your next visit, please inquire about view options with one of our front desk agents.

Warm Regards,
Tom Fitzgibbons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#5 of 13 in Providence
2,968 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 13 in Providence
948 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Price Range: $139 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing