We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel, great staff, reasonable prices”
Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel, great staff, reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had a great night's stay here. The room was stylish, clean and very comfortable. Room service was quite reasonable in terms of cost and good food. The service was outstanding throughout, and the rate was quite reasonable. I would recommend it without qualification.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mem212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    288
    89
    54
    40
See reviews for
223
335
69
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was thrilled to find myself in a junior suite, the size of large apartment, until ... at just after midnight on the first night a really annoying vibration started in the wall behind my bed - I waited for approx 15 minutes until it became clear that it wasn't going to stop. I called down to the front desk, who told me "oh yes it must be the fan in the kitchen" (clearly this wasn't the first complaint from this room). After a few minutes the noise stopped, only to start again at 6am when someone went back in the kitchen and switched on the fan again! Next morning I went to the front desk, and was assured that they would get an engineer in to look at it and ensure the fan was switched off at night. Just after midnight the next night, off it went again - I called down to the front desk and was told they would go and switch it off - I waited 20 minutes during which time the nosie continued - so I called again and was told "sorry, we had two check-ins and I will go and switch it off now". To their credit they did credit me for one night, but I would suggest avoiding room 214!!

Room Tip: Not room 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipArmonk_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Providence last weekend. Unfortunately, Blizzard Nemo augmented our plans for the weekend, with the driving ban and heaps of snow forcing us to stay two nights instead of one. The hotel was EXTREMELY understanding throughout the whole weekend -- letting us check in early (to get ahead of the storm, we got there at 10:30 AM -- WAY before the usual 3:00 PM check in time -- and they showed us to our room without any wait), letting us check out late (2:00 PM instead of 11:00 AM) on both Friday and Saturday morning, and giving us a discounted rate on our second night because of the storm. In other words, they were awesome and understanding.

The room was lovely -- huge bed, beautiful bathroom (with nice shampoo AND conditioner), and a good TV (spend many hours watching that during Nemo!). The hotel restaurant, Aspire, was very good (we got room service twice) and the fitness center was perfect for getting some indoor exercise while the storm raged outside.

Although we didn't go out much, the hotel is right around the corner from an amazing bookshop, Cellar Stories, that I went to on a previous Providence visit. Also it's close to a ton of good food (including Gourmet Heaven, which is walkable) and the mall. Definitely the place to stay in Providence.

We will definitely be back (hopefully during a warmer season)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappycamper321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Cape
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We always stay at this hotel when we visit Providence. There is something special about the place, it's intimacy, it's charm, it's location, it's food (breakfast especially) and it's customer service. We have not interest in staying in any other hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights, while we were doing college tours in Providence. She described it as "schmancy" and we both enjoyed the decor and the attention of the staff - both at the front desk and in Aspire, the restaurant, where we shared a very nice dessert after a long day on campus (chocolate lava cake). It was very nice in just about every respect with only one glitch. For some reason, after we returned to the hotel for the second night, the stopper in the sink in the bathroom was broken. Not sure why but we didn't want to bother calling downstairs to get it fixed. A noticeable annoyance but otherwise a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this hotel tremendously. We only stayed one night but would have loved a longer visit. The room was spotless, the service was exceptional, the bed was comfortable, the water pressure and temperature were perfect, the heating/cooling worked properly, and the church bells across the street went blessedly silent before we went to bed. We had a wonderful breakfast at Aspire the next morning. We'll definitely stay here again next time we're in town.

Room Tip: We had a room directly above Aspire and were concerned about the neighboring church's bells, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby92004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Property: Hotel Providence
Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing