We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Romantic Escape at the Hotel Providence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Providence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Providence
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Escape at the Hotel Providence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed in King suite with a "Lost in Bliss" package for one night. I cannot say enough about the excellent service we received. Service was terrific on the internet and at the hotel. It was my wife's birthday and I asked if we could have a cake waiting in the room. They ordered the cake and had it waiting in the room upon our arrival. The room was spacious and very clean. The king bed was was extremely comfortable. I can't say more about the wonderfully large bath with the jacuzzi tub. Very relaxing!! We had room service for breakfast and the food was delicious. I have read some other reviews discussing the church bells being "too loud." I did not find this to be the case. I thought the bells rang softly and would not wake you up from sleep. I highly recommend this hotel.

TripAdvisor member from MA

  • Liked — Jacuzzi tub & very comfortable king bed.
  • Disliked — Stay not long enough!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAZ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    283
    86
    53
    40
See reviews for
215
326
68
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

While doing a tour of area colleges, we wanted to economize, and I couldn't believe the luxury and elegance of this hotel for the relatively modest price. The room furnishings were sumptuous and beautiful. The lobby, though small, was charming. The valet car service was prompt and excellent (though the daily parking rate was not cheap). Service was very pleasant and warm, as a small hotel should be. Biggest criticism: The elevator was small and slow; I was on the second floor, and found it faster to take the stairs.

  • Liked — Beautful, sumptuous room decor
  • Disliked — small, slow elevator
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oatleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

The Hotel Providence is elegant and old fashioned in a cozy way. Nestled in a quiet downtown neighborhood, it feels like you went back in time to a place where staying in a hotel meant being taken care of. If they had an elevator operator, I would've sworn it was 1950.

I stayed in a junior suite. The bed was nice and the furnishings comfortable. I agree that the water pressure in the shower wasn't terrific, but it was far from bad.

I had dinner in the restaurant's bar. The selections on the bar menu are excellent and affordable. I also had a very nice breakfast in the restaurant, which counters what the previous reviewer wrote about room service only.

If you are concerned about the bells chiming, ask for a room on the opposite side from the church. I barely heard them.

  • Liked — Cozy feeling
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

The good - This is a beautifully furnished and very clean hotel in the heart of Providence. Service seemed quite nice although I didnt really put it to the test. I had a junior suite which was generous and I asked for late checkout and got it.

The annoyances:

- top of the list are the incredibly annoying church bells that are right around the corner and ring incessantly. They go on and on announcing the hour, playing a tune, or just ringing randomly. Amazing.

- the bathroom (which was huge) had what was a beautiful rain shower head, which, of course set high expectations of a lovely shower. You turn on the shower, and...a fairly modest trickly of water. About average for a hotel shower but plain wierd for that giant shower head.

- the restuarant in the hotel is very fancy but I wanted a simple brunch and they apparently dont serve breakfast. so room service is your choice there.

Overall I'd give this hotel a 3.5 rating. I wouldnt stay again because of the church bells.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank dkseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prov ri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Beautiful hotel in the middle of the city. Bring your ear plugs if you want to sleep late. The bells are loud but the rooms make it worth it, they are very clean and the best bed ever. Valet is promt, but they do charge 24.00 a day to your room. Try it out you won't leave upset.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

We really liked this place. Our room was beautiful. The lobby was beautiful. The bed was super comfortable. The staff was attentive. If you want to be downtown, location is unbeatable.

We were only there one night, but our experience was perfect.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank GilFennerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

When I made plans to attend a convention in Providence this past January, the sponsor suggested their third choice of hotel as the first two (a "chain" hotel and a "classic" hotel) were booked. After staying at The Hotel Providence, all I can say is that it will be my FIRST choice when staying in the city!

If you appreciate small, boutique hotels with character, charm and impeccable attention to service, this is your hotel. Decorated in the Belle Epoch style, with elegant, understated rooms, I found it tranquil and relaxing. It's in the Arts section of the city and everything is within easy walking distance (including the Providence Performing Arts Center and Brown University). The service is top-notch; the staff is friendly and attentive without being intrusive. My compliments to Derek, Brianna and Mark for handling all of my questions or concerns... for really making me feel like a true guest in their "home".

L'Epicureo is a wonderful, smallish restaurant and bar just off the lobby, with dark woods, beautiful stained glass and an unhurried atmosphere. Ask for Evan to be your waiter... he's sharp, funny, and can guide you through the subtleties of a brilliant menu. (The others in my party wanted him to sit down and join us!)

I've stayed in many different hotels, inns and resorts, and always look for unique experiences that leave a lasting impression long after the trip is over. The Hotel Providence is such an experience -- it's a world-class gem of a hotel!

**My use of TripAdvisor and/or its partner/parent companies does not constitute personal endorsement of TripAdvisor's products, services or practices. **

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skramnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Property: Hotel Providence
Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Providence is nestled in the heart of downtown Providence's Arts and Theatre district. Located mere blocks from boutique shopping, galleries and perfect little cafes/restaurants, Hotel Providence is itself a place where the arts are celebrated and where finding new passions (or reviving sleeping ones) are celebrated! We all have a passion...discover yours at Hotel Providence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing