We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably excellent”
Review of Blue Grotto - CLOSED

Blue Grotto
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Cross street: Weeden
Description: Visit one of the oldest and most well known Italian restaurants in all of Rhode Island. Located on Historic Federal Hill, The Blue Grotto has continued to provide exemplary traditional Italian cuisine throughout it's 30 year history. In an upscale, but casual environment, The Blue Grotto offers attentive service in a relaxed setting. The wine list is one of the best Providence has to offer.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reliably excellent”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have eaten here several times and it has been wonderful every time. The atmosphere is nice and quiet, with room between tables. The food selection is great - plenty of choices for meat eaters and vegetarians. The servers are attentive and familiar with the menu. I plan to go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    16
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“bad service, bad food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This place had a $15 three course lunch deal sign out front that made us go in. Too bad the food isn't good. The shrimp & lobster bisque was the only thing that did taste good. But there wasn't even one tiny chunk of meat in it. The chicken parmesan they served two of us was old and tough. We couldn't even really eat it. I could barely even cut through it with my knife. One person I was with complained about it and they gave us two whole new meals to bring home which was very nice. But complaining about the food makes me scared that they are going to spit in it! The service was really slow here too. We had to wait so long just to order because the waiters were nowhere to be found. And there was only two other tables of people there, so it wasn't as if they were too busy to get to us. There are a ton of restaurants on the same street, so don't waste you're time here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ayameofazuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Will never be back”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We arrived early so sat at the bar until our reservation, it took 10 minutes to get our drink order taken by the bartender. When seated we were served our appetizer promptly but an hour later we still didn't have our entrees. We finally flagged down the waiter and asked what was going on, he said it was a full house, busy kitchen. At 1 hour 15 minutes my boyfriend spoke to the manager, she found out our order had been lost. Although she stayed until the meal was delivered to check that the filets were cooked right (one was, one wasn't - which she had redone) and promised 20% off for the bad experience, when the check arrived it was the full charge. We sent that back as well. Two years ago this place was great, something changed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Staubenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and a very misleading menu.”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Five for brunch. Only / or 3 other tables of people but the wait for every bit of service was long. When food arrived it was cold, eggs were overlooked, my caprese Benedict was void of the intriguing balsamic hollandaise promised on the menu. No home fries which were promised with every order came. When we mentioned this we got one small order. $200 for brunch. Seems like little value here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mhubbard124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Intimate, delcious”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Blue Grotto is a great little Italian place. It's intimate and has excellent food ... definitely recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Natescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Grotto also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing