We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REFUSED SEATING AT JULIAN'S RESTAURANT”
Review of Julian's

Julian's
Ranked #33 of 803 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Description: Julians has been serving Providence and beyond since 1994. Our award-winning brunch and seasonal menus locally source and house make as much as possible for the highest quality, most delicious dishes ever!
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“REFUSED SEATING AT JULIAN'S RESTAURANT”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

...We were a party of 7 adults and a 7-year old child coming from a family funeral unveiling at 11 AM on a Friday October 5, 2012 to a place with which we were familiar-having had breakfast/lunch many times over many years.. We live and work in Rhode Island for 6-generations.
We were 1st told there was no table taht could accommodate 8-seats. I looked quickly to see 2-tables of 4-seats adjacent to each other. I turned and asked the female hostess if we could place the 2-tables of 4- together. She responded that it was not possible. There was no other part nor customers awaiting a table.A.
I then asked if it it was okay to seat 4-of us at the 2-tables-we would split up to accommodate her "rule".. The hostess said that was also not possible.
We then left the restaurant to seek another which we found in a delightful restaurant in Providence called Rue de L'espoir on Hope St. near Brown Univ.
I would not recommend Julliane's in any way, shape or form...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgold33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    67
    21
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford RI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hip, funk, cool, great vegan options”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We love Julians, for fantastic specials and a creative menu. Get the beer sampler. The downside is that the music is invariably cranked too loud and the conversation decibels are deafening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shivaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute BEST”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My personal favorite breakfast place in the history of breakfast. This place is AMAZING. Killer bloody mary. Warning: do not go here for a "quick bite", there is always a wait, and everything is prepared and cooked fresh by order. Definitely pay special attention to the special board for interesting dishes and drinks!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdvc1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wait with hipsters for a table at one of the best brunch and drink restaurants in Providence!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Wait with hipsters for a table at one of the best brunch and drink restaurants in Providence!
Menu is extensive with options for any dietary restriction.
Bathrooms are complete with action figures and a television.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GUS0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ignore the decor, focus on the food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are averse to artistic waitstaff heavily laden with tattos and piercings or dramtically dyed hairstyles with a touch of grunge, this is not the place for you. But if you can keep your head down and your eyes on your plate, then you should try Julians. Food here is excellent. There is always a wait, and that's because the place is tiny, but also because the food is creative and delicious. Don't miss brunch on a crisp fall day. You will not be disappointed. Quite possibly the best latte I've ever had in my life (inculding in Italy), and the meals are a good size and reasonably priced. It's worth (at least one) trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank vespucciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julian's also viewed

 

Been to Julian's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing