We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great value”

Joe Marzilli's Old Canteen
Ranked #47 of 810 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Description: We pride ourselves as being the oldest family owned Italian restaurant in Rhode Island, serving the absolute freshest and finest quality Cuisine for over 60 years. Our Chefs and Cooks, with their interpretations of the great tastes of Joe Marzilli's Old Canteen Italian Restaurant, make dining in our dining room a gourmet experience. We offer everything from appetizers to complete dinners. Italian food nourishes body and soul by celebrating fresh ingredients prepared with love - best enjoyed surrounded by loved ones!
Angier, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

An old favorite, we went up to the Hill for lunch recently to take advantage of the wonderful dining options. We decided upon The Old Canteen because of the great value, wonderful food, and long standing history of quality.

Atmosphere - has not been updated since..... Well, maybe never. And the customers would have it no other way. The thing that struck me was that they do not advertise the lunch menu outside, and if people come in to look at a menu, they often picked one up without the lunch insert - leaving them to believe that only the full priced dinners were available.

My wife and I split 2 lunches and some appetizers. The service, sad to say, on this trip was slower than slow. We were not in a hurry, but time and time again we (and other tables) found ourselves waiting for simple things (water, soup, etc.) Even the check came slow.

The food - always incredible and great portions. The lunch options came with soup, delicious bread, and even a simple dessert - all at a great price.

With tons of options on the Hill, you can not go wrong with a meal at the Old Canteen. This review and the accompanied ratings are for the lunch we recently enjoyed here. At night, it is more formal ($$$) .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    44
    19
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Synonymous with Federal Hill”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

When you think Federal Hill, think Old Canteen. It's old world at it's best; the food more than ample, delish. It's an "institution" on "the hill". Go, you won't be sorry.

Helpful?
Thank birkiecontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An un-hip place to eat, and you won't be sorry.”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Along a street that is dominated by modern Italian restaurants, the Old Canteen feels like a throwback. From the dated neon sign outside to the pink interior, it is unapologetically un-hip. Don't let that stop you. We've eaten there twice now and both meals were wonderful. This most recent time our waiter took pains to go over the menu, helping us with choices. Everything he suggested was right on the mark. And they had a delicious California cabernet, which was a bonus. (I hate it when the only choices are Italian wines.) This is one of several good Italian restaurants in Federal Hill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good, I'll drive an hour and a half”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I will often drive the hour and a half to Providence to go to Joe Marzilli's Old Canteen. It is from a bygone era. The decor is not modern, but who cares when the food is this good. The prices are extremely reasonable,especially for all the food you get. Antipasto, soup, entree and dessert are all included for one price. The food is spectacular, and Chef Sal goes out of his way to accommodate special requests. I love the chicken soup and veal and chicken hunter. The pork chops with vinegar peppers are my all time favorite. The bread is exceptional and the service is fantastic. Craig is our favorite waiter and I always look forward to seeing Astrid. Just great all around.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldfishgoddess209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A classic Italian institution”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This place has been serving up Italian classic food with flair and nostalgia since my grandparents' time. It's always a treat to go here with family, with friends, with business associates and with out-of-towners to show them "how it's really done". Bravo to Joe and staff on a job well done, and all who have preceeded them in a real New England, and real old world tradition.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Marzilli's Old Canteen also viewed

 

Been to Joe Marzilli's Old Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing