We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Aspire at The Hotel Providence - CLOSED

Aspire at The Hotel Providence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mathewson Street
Transit: Taxis, Bus, and Train close by.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Romance & the decor is dropdead gorgeous, the food was excellent ,we couldnt had such a great anniversary dinner <3

Thank true2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Aspire at The Hotel Providence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 195 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were walking around the near the hotel and I said "wow, that restaurant looks fancy" (which is usually another way of saying "I won't be able to afford eating there") then I realized it was Aspire and we were going to eat dinner there thanks to a voucher included in the hotel stay. The dining room was really lovely with large chandeliers, floor to ceiling windows, and very comfy seating. Most entrees were between $25 and $35, which is on the expensive end for us, but it is well worth the price. The calamari had a crunchy batter and was served with hot peppers, which gave it a nice kick. My main dish was sea scallops served over a risotto-like dish, all of it was cooked perfectly. Eating at Aspire really made for a great end to our day.

Thank WeezieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Poor service, bad meals, and dirty glasses. When I called it to the attention of our server, he took the drink in the dirty glass and poured it into another one! Simply abhorrent! Fish undercooked, steak overcooked. The worst dining experience, if you can call it that, in Providence!

3  Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Aspire at The Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Dermgoddess,

Please accept my sincerest apology on behalf of Aspire for your recent experience. Our staff is professionally trained and routinely tested on the finer points of excellent service. This behavior is shocking and unacceptable. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. It will be addressed immediately.
It's unfortunate that you didn't get to experience our wonderful menu, as you were disappointed with your entrees. I truly hope that you will give us another chance! Please contact me at tcarter@hotelprovidence to further discuss this matter. Have a wonderful day.

Cheers,
Tricia Carter
Marketing Manager
Aspire Seasonal Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fantastic selection and wonderful service! Definitely a place to put on my favorite restaurant list. I had the wonderful opportunity to have dinner on Friday that was complimented with a great jazz trio and guest singer; then breakfast was the type of meal that you want to wake up to! Absolutely delicious!

1  Thank Jeanette524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Aspire at The Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Jeanette,

We're thrilled that you had a great time at Aspire Seasonal Kitchen! Is there anything better than sitting outside under the stars with a beautiful cocktail and some excellent Jazz? We think not- and that's why we do it every Friday night!
You must visit again before the weather turns cold so you can enjoy the new courtyard furniture. We look forward to seeing you!

Cheers,
Tricia Carter
Marketing Manager
Aspire Seasonal Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Unfortunately we selected this restaurant for dinner during a recent one night stay in Providence. Bad choice. During at least 6 to 8 minutes we waited at the entrance to the restaurant as waiters and even the receptionist walked by without even looking at us. Then the receptionist finally came to his position and promptly took care of another party who arrived well after we did...!!!

Eventually we were seated. Then we had to flag down a waitress who brought us the menu and promptly disappeared. Service was at all times disorganized and uncaring, we ended up being served by 3 different waiters/waitresses, none of which provided good service.

The food was also not even mediocre; the duck spring roll appetizer almost had no duck in it, and the filet mignon main course was overcooked and did not taste or feel like top quality beef. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank francisco2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelProv, Public Relations Manager at Aspire at The Hotel Providence, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Francisco,

Thank you for sharing your experience even though it wasn't a good one. Perhaps the party that was seated before you had a reservation, or we were short-staffed that night so everyone pitched in to help with service...whatever the issue was, it doesn't matter. What matters is that you were disappointed and we would like another opportunity to make things right with you. If you decide to give us another chance, then please reach out to me and I will personally oversee your reservation.

Cheers,
Tricia Carter
Marketing Manager
Aspire Seasonal Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspire at The Hotel Providence also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing