We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasta, Bread, Atmosphere and more”
Review of Pane E Vino

Pane E Vino
Reserve with OpenTable
Pane E Vino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 809 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: McAvoy St.
Description: Pane e Vino is Joseph and Esther DeQuattro's ristorante..... grounded in the rustic spirit and traditional recipes of southern Italy. Combining the very best of tradition with current executions to form a straightforward philosophy...local, simple, & fresh. The menu and daily specials highlight seasonal flavors, fresh local produce, an all-Italian wine list, and imported specialties from Italy. Signature dishes include a Buacatini Amatriciana, Frutti di Mare with squid ink linguine, and a Veal Chop Parmigiana. Whether you are celebrating a family occasion, enjoying a date night, or a working dinner, Pane e Vino offers many choices to customize your meal. Whatever you choose, Pane E Vino guarantees that you will be satisfied, as do the people of Rhode Island who voted it best Italian restaurant in the state in the Rhode Island Monthly magazine's reader's poll. .
South Florida, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pasta, Bread, Atmosphere and more”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Federal Hill area of Providence is an awesome mix of old legendary establishments and new favorites. We had a great experience at Pane E. Vino! The Cesare (Ceasar Salad) was fresh served with anchovies for a great salty taste. Their housemade caesar dressing, tasted fresh, and lighter than most dressings.

I had the Spaghettini Al Gamberi there were lots of pieces of garlic along with plump Florida Gulf Shrimp. I was a bit surprised they used Florida shrimp, however it tasted just fine.

My friend custom made her dish with meatballs and spaghetti. The maranara sauce was fresh, and you could tell it was house made. The meatballs were awesome, high quality like mom used to make, only better. We didn't have dessert because we had a half marathon to run the next day. (We were carbing up!) But all an all a great visit, and I would hope to go again next time I'm in Providence!

Tip: They accommodate Gluten allergies, with a special menu!
Tip: Make Reservations!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJNoah80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    95
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great and relax”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I went there as a date and the hostess was nice and friendly. She sat us right away. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect. A great place to go for a date.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket Island
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bellisimo!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Four of us enjoyed a fantastic dinner, late on a Sunday evening. Although we were the last ones in the restaurant, our waiter maintained a friendly and relaxed demeanor, never making us feel rushed. The menus are lengthy, offering something for everyone and the specials of the day were all tantalizing.

Bread and oil were brought to the table immediately and refreshed later. We shared stuffed figs with blue cheese, walnuts, balsamic vinaigrette and proscuitto - a perfect combination, as well as the traditional caprese salad. My entree was a lobster fra diavolo served over black squid ink pasta. Just the right amount of spice, lobster was cooked well and not chewy and complimented the pasta nicely. Another diner enjoyed the Frutti de Mar, a great selection of shellfish in red sauce, which he enjoyed very much. The waiter was very attentive to our drinks, refilling the wine as needed. We were all so full from our delicious meal that we had to skip dessert. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant as a sure-fire dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSugarPuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We met friends for dinner at Pan E Vino. We were seated promptly and the service throughout the meal was excellent. The waiter was attentive, silverware was replaced as needed without having to ask ( hate when the course is served and the silverware has been removed with the previous course!) we were offered ground pepper with salad and entrée. Appetizers were fresh, local tomatoes with buffalo mozzarella and basil and another tomato app with burrata. Entrees included a chicken saltimbocca, veal saltimbocca, lobster ravioli and veal piccata. All well prepared and served with accompaniments. Dessert included a huge, delicious tiramisu and a bread pudding which my friends proclaimed one of the best they had ever eaten. Will return in the near future. Good value, excellent food, excellent service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cyrus341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Where. Everyone gets off saying this is a great Italian restaurant I'll never know. Too much sauce, too little under cooked pasta (aldente ?), and much too much breaking on the veal. Lobster ravioli was fantastic, other dishes just ok. Restaurant was too much off and on to be considered great. For good Italian food go to Boston. Bread pudding was very good until it got cold. Italian sausage was served cool and had been cooked days before it was served. All in all a poor meal and a misleading review in trip advisor!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pane E Vino also viewed

 

Been to Pane E Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing