We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in the city”
Review of Pot au Feu

Pot au Feu
Reserve with OpenTable
Pot au Feu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 808 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Providence
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Haven in the city”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Bistro atmosphere was perfect for my birthday celebration. We had a leisurely dinner on a Saturday night, the place was full but there was no indication that we should move out because others wanted our seats. My husband and I had a delicious meal with outstanding service. Our server was helpful when asked for suggestions but not constantly at our table. Delicious french food expertly prepared, we plan to go again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vermonter05655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Best French Restaurnt in the state”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Rhode island is not known for its French Restaurants, but it should be. As a native New Yorker, I had my choice of French restaurants, all of which are inthe who's who of French restaurants, and Pot au Feu ranks right up there with them. Put it on your to do list.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank hll333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food and Atmosphere Were First Rate”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Bistro atmosphere was in perfect harmony with menu that was "fine" but not too delicate. The server was knowledgeable as to history of restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I were walking around down city and found Pot Au Fri by accident. Normally, we don't go for French because we don't like our food smothered with sauses.

The restataunt is located downstairs in 175 yo building in its original location. The decor is very French and romantic.

The food was an equal surprise, super fresh and flavorful and nothing is covered up with sauses. We are so sorry we didn't discover it sooner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjalterman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I got the pot au feu special (French Sunday dinner). Everything was just ok and a little bland. It reminded me of corned beef and cabbage from the crock pot (although they use beef). All in all for the price I just found it ok. Atmosphere and service was fine but probably would not go back

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brewstersmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pot au Feu also viewed

Providence, RI
 
Providence, RI
 

Been to Pot au Feu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing