We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Food at its best!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterraneo - CLOSED

Mediterraneo
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Italian Food at its best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went in for dinner for our First Anniversary and it was amazing! We opted to sit inside but were put right on the edge where it opens to outside dinning. It was actually very nice. Everything was perfect,our waiter and all of the servers were very attentive. I had the Chicken Nino which as an Italian girl I could eat every day!! My husband had another chicken dish that he also enjoyed. We did have a Groupon, which was a great savings. Even without it, we will definitely be going back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyForever80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    65
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Went there with a groupon my fault should have read the fine print dinner only. They we very nice. Food service fantastic. Will come again when we are back in town.

Helpful?
Thank Fortguy1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could care less...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by on a not so busy Saturday night to see if we could sit outside; our intention was to order drinks & apps. The hostess said "no" right away. She was rude & could have cared less. They did eventually set a table up outside but were reluctant & put us far away from everyone. We left. They lost our business & we will never go back.

Helpful?
6 Thank Sunflwr429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, mezza mezza service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

What great food. Service was a bit off but the quality of food was right on target. My wife had lobster ravioli, badabing, and I had pasta bolagnese. We both tasted each others dish and gave them outstanding two thumbs up reviews. Valet parking was great, the service and personality of the valets, tremendous. They allowed us to walk around Federal Hill and leave the car in their lot after dinner. Some of those mediocre reviews you can just FUHGEDDABOUDIT. This place is outstanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spankems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
280 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Loud, Crowded, but Decent Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Not a place conducive to quiet conversation, Mediterraneo is a bustling Federal Hill Italian spot, offering your usual assortment of reasonably-prepared entrees.

The Gamberi shrimp and calamari appetizers were indistinguishable from most other local restaurants, and leaned a little to the oily/greasy side. The pasta dishes were better than their entrees, with the tagliatelle bolognese and the gnocchi standing out a bit more than the Alfredo and their (pricey) lobster ravioli. Sides are a la carte. The entrees were overpriced relative to the quality. Nothing stood out as excellent, but there were no unpleasant surprises either.

Service is fast and efficient, as turnover appears to be the name of the game here. Diners are packed in very closely, making for a cramped atmosphere. Valet parking is available, otherwise look for spots on the back streets.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mthom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterraneo also viewed

 
Providence, RI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing