We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food like Grandma's kitchen”

Cassarino's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cassarino's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 800 Restaurants in Providence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food like Grandma's kitchen”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Recomended by our hotel and we were glad we went. Nothing fancy, but the food was delicious. Lots of locals so its not just a tourist place. Offered glutenfree penne so everyone in our party could enjoy pasta. My fettuccine lamarge has huge shrimp and tender scallops along with fresh tomatoes, broccoliand mushrooms. Itwas delicious! Very glad we went.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    75
    31
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Wife and I had an early dinner there last week.
Appetizer of mussels were good,but both main courses disappointed,the veal picatta and chicken saltimbocca weren't up to federal hill standards.
Dessert was good,and both of our wine selections were good.
Overall,there are lots of other restaurants to try within walking distance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nitroae23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

After long recommended by many friends finally had the chance to go,worth the wait,chicken parm with linguini for me was great the calamari was also good,my dinning companion got the penni ala vodka she was alittle disappointed that it wasn't creamy enough,but overall excellent evening we'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank topcat595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
154 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

took my wife to Cassarino's for valentines dinner based on good reviews and we were not disappointed. granted it was a wednesday night in February, but we had fast and convenient valet service, quick seating and excellent service. They have a good gluten free and seafood menu which was great for my wife. Food was superb and the service was excellent and attentive. Dessert was great too, try the tiramisu.. Upon leaving, my wife noted that a good sign of great service was that once we got the check back after having been charged by the waitress we wrote in the 20% tip and left the little folder on the table, she never came back to get it despite having walked by us about 10 times. A true professional waitress/waiter does not take your completed check from you until you have left the restaurant or specifically hand it to him/her. Very happy and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbum393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Had NY day lunch with family and we were all blown away by the tremendous food. The table shared appetizers of calamari and veal meatballs on toasted italian bread with mushroom sauce that was spectacular. We ordered classic italian for entrees that included shrimp scampi and lobster ravioli with vodka cream sauce. The flavors were so genuine and delicious and the portions were very generous. Great wine, great service. No room for dessert sadly. Would have lked to experience that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassarino's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cassarino's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing