We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic grilled pizza”
Review of Timmy's Legendary Grilled Pizza - CLOSED

Timmy's Legendary Grilled Pizza
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Federal Hill
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic grilled pizza”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Bob and Timmy's is an institution among family and friends in RI, and for good reason. The pizzas are pure deliciousness. Grilled pizza is something of a novelty outside of Federal Hill but it deserves some respect - the crust is nice and crispy with a hint of chewiness and char. Mmm. This place is nothing fancy, it's just darn good pizza.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Overland2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    39
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food at even better prices.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Firstly, try the grilled pizza. My wife and I had the three mushroom pizza and it was delicious. Honestly though, grilled pizza is different. The crust is extremely thin and has a wonderful charred taste to it. They also were not cheap with the toppings either. Some people are traditionalists and may not take to grilled pizza and they do serve traditional pizza pies as well even though I didn't try theirs. I also saw that they had a lobster bisque for only $3.50. I was extremely curious and also tried that. The waitress brought out this HUGE bowl filled to the brim with Bisque and there was a GENEROUS helping of lobster meat in it. I've had smaller bowls with no lobster meat in it for three times the price and this is arguably one of the best bisques I've ever had. Be forwarned, this place seems like a neighborhood joint so don't expect fine silver and linin. This is a basic neighborhood pizza joint that serves rediculously good food at rock bottom prices that are essentially a steal. Providence Rhode Island eats very well, and one of the reasons is Bob and Timmy's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boyblue4502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The important thing is that the pizza was Great. Salads are large and with good condiments. Where things break down is service (waitresses were friendly but overworked and understaffed) and seating (it's summer and the indoor seating felt like the pizza grill was at your table. Sit outdoors if you can). Nobody to take the name of those lining up, and were so understaffed that vacant tables sat unoccupied for some time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gizm0guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a letter home to mom”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Dear Mom,

Hello from Road Trip New England 2012! We checked Tripadvisor for the best pizza in Providence and found Bob and Timmy's Grilled Pizza. Grilled pizza, you ask? OMG, MOM GRILLED PIZZA. The dough is soft and bubbly, with a light, crisp outside. The faint flavor of charcoal permeates the pizza in delightful ways. The sauce is sweet and flavorful, the cheese top notch, and the sauteed wild mushroom variety that tops our pizza is, like, WHOA STOP THE WORLD I HAVE TO TELL MY MOM BECAUSE THIS IS SO GOOD. I've never had pizza with such a pillowy crust but now I have, and my life is better for it.

Mom, for serious: all the pizza you've ever had your whole life = warm, squashed peanut butter sandwich at the bottom of your purse compared to Bob and Timmy's.

Don't live your life this way.

Get on a plane.

xoxo,
Mo

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mocakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW the best pizza I ever had”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was within easy walking distance from the Hilton hotel. The place is small and not too fancy, but the service and food were the best! The salad was excellent, and the pizza was excellent. I highly recommend it. Try and find this place, it will be worth it. I had a diet coke, gorgonzola salad, and a create your own pizza. It was $27.00 with tax, before tip.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zondervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timmy's Legendary Grilled Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing