We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to Deliver”

Hemenway's Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 10/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #6 of 939 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Hemenway's, an icon in the Rhode Island food scene and the go-to destination for fresh, top-of-catch seafood has been serving both locals and visitors to the capital city for decades. Constantly innovating, Chef Max Peterson delights in creating dishes that utilize the freshest selections from New England's fishmongers and purveyors. At the heart of the restaurant is our heralded Raw Bar, where guests indulge in our signature Shellfish Platter while enjoying views of the Providence skyline. Centrally located, the proximity of the restaurant to PPAC, the RISD Museum, Waterfire, Brown University, Johnson & Wales, hotels, and the RI Convention Center make us an ideal destination for those visiting the city.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hemenway's is an old standby in Providence. You can't go wrong here. It had been a while since we were last here, having moved to Florida like so many Rhode Islanders! I thought the service had gone down a bit - probably as a result of the available pool of workers. That is the reason for not rating this 5-stars. The food, however, was as good as we remembered so I continue to give this a thumbs up.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank francom367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you francom367! Happy to hear that we still deliver on exceptional food although I am sorry if you felt the service was not up to the same quality. We still remain focused on providing an unmatched service experience and we never like to hear that we failed to deliver. We hope that on your next visit we can earn back that fifth-star. We appreciate the feedback.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In Hemenway's we had a business dinner after a lengthy meeting: what a wonderful and relaxing place! Fresh seafood, and a good advice concerning the wine were much appreciated.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aleksandr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Aleksandr! Happy to hear we could be a place to enjoy after a hopefully successful meeting. Glad you enjoyed and hope you come back again.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ambiance is awesome food was good nice atmosphere. Our waiter Brian was awesome. I ordered the Paella, can't say I loved it but other than that the place was awesome. A bit pricey tho.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samiam11542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for joining us samiam11542 and for leaving a review. I am glad you enjoyed and happy to hear that Brian took good care of you. We do hope you would choose to join us again.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fresh seafood. Good service and good food.
We had the lobster ( mashed potatoes were too salty), oysters, mussels, lobster bisque, crab cakes.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank anat4om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you anat4om! Very happy to hear you enjoyed (and we will take your mashed potato feedback to heart. Hope you come back to join us again.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the reviews we were expecting much more. The fish was okay but the side dishes were not. The broccoli rabe was fried and bitter and the mashed potatoes were gummy.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank AndrewComens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobey S, General Manager at Hemenway's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to hear this Andrew. We never like to hear that we did not live up to our reputation, especially when you were anticipating much more. I will share your feedback with our culinary team as we remain dedicated to serving exceptional food to every guest. We hope you will see more tastier results if you decide to return.
Gratefully,
Tobey Sanborn
Senior General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemenway's Restaurant also viewed

 
Providence, RI
 

Been to Hemenway's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing