We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Christopher Dodge House
Ranked #1 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We only had a one night stay but found the Dodge House to be clean, friendly & in a very convenient location near the Capital building. Breakfast was excellent in their bright, cheerful breakfast room & there were juice and cookies available around the clock. Only negative was the traffic noise in our room on the east side which faces I95. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stay. We'll be back, & be sure to get a west side reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

A beautiful old home, exceptionally clean, and a great breakfast. A short and easy walk to the downtown area and the Providence place mall. We spent 3 nights there and found it to be a great location to Newport and Boston, both places an easy drive from the Bed and Breakfast.
Staff was great,very friendly, room was large with a nice bathroom. WiFi worked excellent and free!
Will stay again next time in New England. I highly recommend The Christopher Dodge House. Also, did not have any trouble finding it from the Providence airport.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank UMatt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Christopher Dodge House - we had a room on the second floor that accommodated the three of us. The staff separated the king bed so that we each had a twin. Breakfast was to die for, homemade cookies set out as snacks were delicious as well as the other treats. Room was clean, large, and very comfortable. Location was superb.

Room Tip: No elevator so keep this in mind when selecting your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Still a great place to stay. We stayed here last year when we visited Providence and decided to spend 2 nights here again this year - one night on our way in and one night on our way out. We spent one night in room 6 and the other in room 5. Both of these rooms are are on the opposite side of the building from the freeway. It was great to open the windows at night and not have to hear the traffic. Very comfortable rooms and building, close to downtown and eating. We walked down to view Waterfire and then came back to have tea and cookies. The staff is very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttandst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed there for a night this summer during the first leg of our RI trip. The Inn is central to Providence and easy to find with a GPS. It is pretty close to the high way and you can see the captilal from the parking lot. There was not that much noise at all and parking was easy on the day we were there.

Staff friendly helpful, food was good would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatraymondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My arrival was delayed by travel problems. Called Hotel to make arrangements for late arrival. Staff helpful and sympathetic - set up arrangements to let me have access after hours. Spotless room and bathroom; shiny hard wood floors and comfortable bed.
Spotless breakfast room with great selection of food; hot "dish of the day" available. Table service for hot food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 7catspeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed two nights recently in the hotel, and had a great time. The rooms were comfortable, staff were very friendly and helpful, and breakfasts were quite good. The best thing, though, was the location. It is a 5 minute walk from the state house and another couple of blocks brings you to the Vets Concert Hall, home of the Rhode Island Symphony, and then the huge Providence shopping mall. The historic district, Rhode Island School of Design Art Museum, and even Brown University, are within walking distance, as is the Federal Hill restaurant district. Providence is a lovely, walkable city, and the Dodge House is right there in the middle of things--highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,146 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,835 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 13 in Providence
895 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,354 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Dodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Dodge House

Address: 11 W Park St, Providence, RI 02908-5724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Smith Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range: $160 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Dodge House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Providence, the Christopher Dodge House Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast was renovated to its original stately grandeur, a stunning 3-story brick Italianate mansion. Enjoy the convenience the Inn offers to attractions such as, Providence Place Mall, Convention Center, RI School of Design, Brown University and world famous "Water Fire". Rooms are spacious and offer comfortable accommodations with many amenities such as fireplaces, hand-crafted furniture, WIFI, and a delightful, home cooked breakfast. Special packages include historic tours of Providence, fabulous restaurants, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Christopher Dodge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Dodge House Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing