We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true Oasis in a desert of disappointing accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christopher Dodge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Christopher Dodge House
Ranked #1 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true Oasis in a desert of disappointing accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

WOW! Where are the adjetives needed to describe our stay!!

So restful with gormet breakfast , relaxing sitting rooms, and oh so comfortable and clean rooms! And, to top it all off ,we were walking distance to Brown Campus and the heart of town. Truly country charm in an urban setting!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    60
    26
    13
    1
See reviews for
58
150
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Christopher Dodge House is a great place to go if you are seeking a historic and upscale B & B in providence. The food was outstanding The room was clean and big and had wonderful high ceilings. There is parking available and Wi-Fi.

This place has charm, class and free cookies. Definitely worth a little extra money for a nice occasion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droots22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Christopher Dodge House for two nights so that I could run in the half marathon. After reading numerous reviews on Tripadvisor, I was more than nervous about what our stay would be like. However, I was drawn to this location based on its proximity to the start and finish of the race. However, I nneded not to worry- we had a great stay overall! Our basement room (G2) was nicely appointed, even having a small kitchenette. While laying on the comfortable king sized bed, I could see the top of the Capitol building! Otherwise, our views were of the grounds and parking lot, but we did not spend too much time in the room. Although we could easily hear people in the hallway and in the kitchen (right next to the room), we had privacy and a nice, comfortable room. Despite some of the reviews that mention that this is a "chain", we were comforted by the fact that an innkeeper is always on the grounds. She was great- answering every question that we had and preparing yummy breakfasts! They even offered me a "bag breakfast" on the morning of the race, since I would not be back in time for the real breakfast. When I returned from the race (raining the ENTIRE time), I was drenched and they offered me a warm towel to dry off before I entered our room. All in all, it was a nice stay. My husband and I have stayed in many B & Bs throughout the years and this one was just fine for us! We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMommy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were delighted with our stay. Our top floor room was very large for two, and had a great view overlooking the city. It was spotless, as was the entire inn. The beds were comfy for those of us with back trouble and the room was extremely quiet. But best of all were Alynne's breakfasts. We mistakenly passed on waffles topped with fruit, but dug into the yummy frittata and loved the afternoon chocolate cookies. The staff were very friendly and always helpful with restaurant recommendations and driving directions. We heartily recommend this lovely inn to anyone staying in Providence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night only. Our GPS could not find West Park St until we put in W Park Street. We booked here because of Trip advisor reviews. The room was large and nicely furnished with bathroom. There are a lot of stairs in the bulding so this needs to be taken into consideration when booking. There is a pleasant reading /computer room. The breakfast room was bright and friendly with a good selection for continental breakfast. The cooked breakfast was only average. the muffin was cold and chewy underneath the egg. The B&B seems to be run by a manager as there are quite a lot of rooms. We like the personal touch and prefer a B&B run by owners. There is on site parking which was welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for not so many stairs to your room and overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Christopher Dodge House was a lovely B&B, full of old-fashioned charm. Our room was large and bright with a colonial charm. The bed is quite high with a little step stool, but quite comfortable. The staff is warm and helpful and the breakfast is especially wonderful. There is a variety of offerings plus a daily special. It is quite gourmet.

We would recommend this place to anyone and return again.

Room Tip: We had the largest room on the second floor. It was very gracious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent two nights in this charming inn. The facility is very clean and well maintained, the rooms spacious and the breakfasts were surprisingly good. The hot breakfast, included in the price, was crafted individually for each guest and in addition to the self service continental breakfast offering. The friendly and helpful staff made our stay a highlight of this visit to Providence. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeris41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Dodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Dodge House

Property: Christopher Dodge House
Address: 11 W Park St, Providence, RI 02908-5724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Smith Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Dodge House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Providence, the Christopher Dodge House Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast was renovated to its original stately grandeur, a stunning 3-story brick Italianate mansion. Enjoy the convenience the Inn offers to attractions such as, Providence Place Mall, Convention Center, RI School of Design, Brown University and world famous "Water Fire". Rooms are spacious and offer comfortable accommodations with many amenities such as fireplaces, hand-crafted furniture, WIFI, and a delightful, home cooked breakfast. Special packages include historic tours of Providence, fabulous restaurants, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Christopher Dodge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Dodge House Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing