We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christopher Dodge House
Ranked #1 of 5 Providence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night only. Our GPS could not find West Park St until we put in W Park Street. We booked here because of Trip advisor reviews. The room was large and nicely furnished with bathroom. There are a lot of stairs in the bulding so this needs to be taken into consideration when booking. There is a pleasant reading /computer room. The breakfast room was bright and friendly with a good selection for continental breakfast. The cooked breakfast was only average. the muffin was cold and chewy underneath the egg. The B&B seems to be run by a manager as there are quite a lot of rooms. We like the personal touch and prefer a B&B run by owners. There is on site parking which was welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for not so many stairs to your room and overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    62
    26
    13
    1
See reviews for
61
154
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Christopher Dodge House was a lovely B&B, full of old-fashioned charm. Our room was large and bright with a colonial charm. The bed is quite high with a little step stool, but quite comfortable. The staff is warm and helpful and the breakfast is especially wonderful. There is a variety of offerings plus a daily special. It is quite gourmet.

We would recommend this place to anyone and return again.

Room Tip: We had the largest room on the second floor. It was very gracious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent two nights in this charming inn. The facility is very clean and well maintained, the rooms spacious and the breakfasts were surprisingly good. The hot breakfast, included in the price, was crafted individually for each guest and in addition to the self service continental breakfast offering. The friendly and helpful staff made our stay a highlight of this visit to Providence. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeris41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

What a beautiful room! One of the best beds I've ever slept in. Antique room with updated air conditioner and bathroom with excellent shower. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Same price as the generic hotels in Providence -- I'll take this place every time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfrdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Christopher Dodge House. Our room was clean, quiet and cozy. Breakfast was outstanding and prepared by a master chef who was warm and engaging in conversation. We highly recommend this Inn and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srkroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and cozy (the bed was wonderful!) and the breakfasts were delicious. All around it was a great experience. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Star17134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Really confortable place to stay, cousy atmosphere and nice deco, great location, nice and spacy rooms, with a lot of little details.
the breakfast is a lilltle bit basic, but good enough.

Room Tip: Rooms in the second floor have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellelerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Dodge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Dodge House

Property: Christopher Dodge House
Address: 11 W Park St, Providence, RI 02908-5724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Smith Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Dodge House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Providence, the Christopher Dodge House Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast was renovated to its original stately grandeur, a stunning 3-story brick Italianate mansion. Enjoy the convenience the Inn offers to attractions such as, Providence Place Mall, Convention Center, RI School of Design, Brown University and world famous "Water Fire". Rooms are spacious and offer comfortable accommodations with many amenities such as fireplaces, hand-crafted furniture, WIFI, and a delightful, home cooked breakfast. Special packages include historic tours of Providence, fabulous restaurants, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Christopher Dodge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Dodge House Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing