We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet place”

Lim's Fine Thai and Sushi Restaurant
Ranked #210 of 803 Restaurants in Providence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sweet place”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lim's is my go-to place for takeout, though I've also have been there with friends for sit-down. Honestly, I survive the New England winters simply by indulging now and again on the hot basil dish with chicken. Otherwise, I might have to move south (smile). But there is an array of interesting selections beyond that one and a nice set-up for sushi tasting. The people have always been friendly toward me, and have on occasion amended a dish for a dietary concern.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant but Expensive”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stopped by for a quick lunch on a Saturday. Not busy, but the hostess showed her displeasure when I specified where we wanted to sit. The food was fine, the atmosphere pleasant. Expensive for Thai food. Lots of other Thai restaurants in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank execmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
594 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Thai on Wayland Square”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Comfortable, modern decor and friendly staff. Menu includes a good assortment of Thai and sushi items. We had noodles, etc., and all was quite good.

Helpful?
Thank cararro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Consistently great for both Thai and Japanese Food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is my favorite Thai place in Providence. The decor is very tasteful and all the employees are very friendly. I will be honest, I have become a frequent diner here and am never disappointed. The Tom Yum Soup is the best I've had, a perfect blend of spice and flavor. I have also tried (on different occasions) the Pad Thai with Chicken, and the crispy Pad Thai. While both are wonderful, my tastes tend toward the traditional option. I have also tried the maki, which is excellent. I think it's rare to find a restaurant that can excel in both Thai and Japanese cuisine and Lim's is one of the few to succeed. The crunchy salmon roll is fantastic. I have eaten at the restaurant and also had takeout (lots of times :) ). My food is always still hot when arrive back home, which I appreciate greatly. If you haven't already tried it, I recommend doing so soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sasalliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable leisurely lunch at Lim's”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went there to meet a friend and enjoyed a nice leisurely lunch. Lim's has a small bar and Sushi area in the original part of the building. Small, tasteful and very comfortable. Lim's has recently expanded and has more seating. Early on Saturday, it was not busy. We started off with a couple of appetizers,Thai tea and Sake. There are two appetizer menu's, one traditional, the other sushi. Our friend had a dish that is seldom available in the local Thai restaurants, Spicy Holy Basil, my wife Crispy Shrimp Sushi, I made up a dinner of Pineapple fried rice, chicken fried wonton and spring rolls, no spices for me. My friend who eats Thai once or twice a week, more often if he can get it, loved his dish and said it had just the right amount of zing. Parking is along Angell street just off of Wayland Square.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lim's Fine Thai and Sushi Restaurant also viewed

 
Providence, RI
 

Been to Lim's Fine Thai and Sushi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing