We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising”
Review of The American - CLOSED

The American
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
195 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

When we pulled up to this former industrial location (later found out train related) I was a bit weary. Asked my husband where our friends found this place? Inside was warm and well appointed with large booths and inviting color scheme and friendly staff. The food was very good as was the choice selection on the menu. We started with crabcakes, mussels (in a dijon cream sauce) and fries as well as a caeser salad. We were all pleased as with our entrees of Swordfish in a white wine/caper/onion sauce, baked stuffed shrimp (5 generous shrimp), pasta with clams in a white sauce and scallops. The portions were generous as was the Mud Pie afterwards. Our server was friendly and attentive without rushing us, and the home made tater tots are a must try. Our only criticism was that dinner came on top of our appetizers - not well spaced by the kitchen.Otherwise, we will probably be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FerrariWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wednesday night”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

At 6:30 on a Wed. night the place was empty. Because it was so empty we couldn't help but hear the loud whirrr from the overhead heater fan. That said, the food wasn't bad. Onion soup was very good, and so was the pork chop. The salads were average. We know that the homemade tater tots are fried and very high in calorie but...they were very yummy. I will return and try a steak. I liked the large pictures around the outside walls of all the "old board room members" and the enormous pic of a locomotive above the bar is great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kripri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
1 review
“Great date night”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had date night at the American recently and had a wonderful experience. We started with the raw bar which was very fresh. My boyfriend had the pot roast and I had the pork chop, which was perfectly cooked and also had the tater tots, yummmm. They had a wonderful drink selection and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Also, them about the people in the portraits and you will get a good history lesson. We finished with some mud pie and perfectly done espresso martini. We will be back for sure

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Evening”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The American has totally changed the décor and vibe set by the previous restaurant in that space. It reflects casual elegance. The menu has offerings for a variety of palates and wallets. I liked the food and the ambience. The service was slightly under-competent, but the food arrived in a timely manner and was enjoyed by all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Was it the cook's night off?”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We tried this place on a Saturday night with good friends, and because we enjoyed their company and conversation I'll give the restaurant a "Poor" instead of a "Terrible". Swordfish was half-cooked, i.e. raw inside. My wife's cod had some sort of strange rubbery consistency where you couldn't cut it. How do you do this? Baked, broiled, or fried cod is flaky. Does it turn to rubber in a microwave? We sent it back and got appetizers and salad instead. The cod and clams casino were covered in dry, uncooked, unflavored bread crumbs. Cooking 101 has you mixing them with butter or something and then applying the heat. The waitstaff were trying but were making all kinds of basic errors - a little more training is necessary. We could eat the salad. This is such a competitive local restaurant market with so many good choices (and a prestigious culinary arts school churning out graduates) that food this bad comes as a shock. And they don't attempt anything fancy, just American classic simple dishes. If you go anyway and they offer to take your coats, we had to search for them ourselves when leaving and found them in a small closet with the mops and cleaning supplies.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhodebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The American also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing