We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Jacky's Waterplace and Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Jacky's Waterplace and Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 804 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Stillman Street
Transit: We are located at 200 Exchange Street, Providence, RI. Our restaurant is directly under the Luxury Waterplace condo spaces.
Description: Upscale Asian restaurant specializing in sushi.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I went with my boyfriend during Providence restaurant weeks ( 3 course dinner meal for $29.95). I had beef skewers, pan seared salmon with onion, broccoli, asparagus and corn ( and a side of white rice), and chocolate mouse cake. The bf had satay chicken, general tso chicken and the same dessert. The food overall was very good. It would of been pricey if it wasn't restaurant week prices. Each app was $8-$20 and the general tso was $18 and my salmon was $26. But good food. However, the service was not very good. The waiter took forever to refill our water. Also took a while to get our plates cleared.

Overeall, good food, not so great service. Pretty view of downtown but not sure it would be worth regular prices...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Am I in Scottsdale or Providence?”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Classy upscale Asian fusion restaurant (decorated by RI's own Judd Brown et al)...makes this decidedly a great place to dine, or sit at the bar and have a drink, look at city lights, or even better...watch the lighting of braziers at Waterfire..! The decor looks more like a chic establishment in Scottsdale that we used to frequent... (thus my title)! Yay, Providence!! Three meals here now (one with bff's, one with hubby, and one with another couple) have all been great. Drinks are wonderful. Servers friendly and helpful. And best of all....free valet parking on those busy Providence nights. No parking hassles! Woohoo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
237 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The ambiance gave this place a very swanky feel with an excellent view of the water. Our waiter was outstanding, and we even had an interesting conversation with him. My wife and I ordered one of the sushi platters and calimari. We both thought that this must have been the best sushi we have ever had, and all for a fairly reasonable price when the high quality is factored in.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SB5248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An evening well spent!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

It was Christmas Day and we had said farewell to most of our family and needed a nice, no effort dinner. Of course, our first thought was Asian food. We ended up at Jacky's and had a great time. The ambiance was upscale (especially for Chinese.) The view was beautiful. Good service with a minor language barrier. The food was delicious and the presentation lovely. We had Peking duck, General Tsao's chicken, stir-fried lobster and fried rice. Soooo good even the fried rice was special. There were four of us and this was a bit too much food but we ate every bite. We drank mostly beer but I couldn't resist trying a Cosmo... Yum! We've been to Jacky's in Bristol and it was OK but this was pretty special. Not cheap but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank carolyndg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lots of seating, great views, TASTY menu!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was nervous about the prices but they served very large portions - the special rolls are out of this world. our service was top notch in helping us decide. We had a large booth for 5 ladies with a great view of the water. GO HERE!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ckonlyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacky's Waterplace and Sushi Bar also viewed

Providence, RI
 

Been to Jacky's Waterplace and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing