We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delighted by tomatillo salsa, flour chips and guacamole...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Mexico Cantina Grill

Viva Mexico Cantina Grill
Ranked #120 of 794 Restaurants in Providence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delighted by tomatillo salsa, flour chips and guacamole...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was grateful for Viva Mexico's proximity to the Biltmore, for the very good food, for the gracious staff. The salsas were fab, as was the guacamole. Good mole, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 012345km
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not bad for a quick meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We sat out back by the parking lot. Was a nice night. Didn't realize that this was a alleyway. So yo would have people cutting thru on bikes and just some "others". Dinner was not bad had a talapia, with hot sauce. Service was slow and the margaritas were not worth it, very watered down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mustang66302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nothing to dislike here. Good standard Mexican food, value for money, wine and beer prices good too. About a slow 10 min. walk from The Providence Biltmore. No hesitation in recommending.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patch007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Prefer the Original”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been going tomtheir original, smaller place on Atwells Ave. the food seems better, not as chain-food tasting. The drinks here are ok. Lots of sour mix in their margaritas. Service was friendly, but tookmway to long to get first round of drinks.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
234 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb Margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Tried this place on a Wednesday night. The bar tender, Reggie, was great. He made the best non-frozen margarita that we have every had and made us feel very welcome. We ordered steak fajitas, which were quite flavorful with good portions. We really enjoyed the colorful atmosphere and music as well. We will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SB5248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Mexico Cantina Grill also viewed

 

Been to Viva Mexico Cantina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing