We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deena Does Providence”

Providence Tours by Deena
Ranked #4 of 14 Tours in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Providence's rich history with your own personal guide. Deena Liffmann is a lively and informative speaker who will share interesting facts, trivia, and secrets about the people and places that have shaped Rhode Island's capital city. She is also available as a step-on guide for tour bus groups.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Deena Does Providence”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow, this was fun. Deena started off the tour at the visitor center in Roger Williams Memorial park, giving some of the basic history of the Roger, and the settling of Providence. She was a teacher, and has a way of making the experience interactive. She'll give you information, but then also give you clues based on what she's told you (at later spots) to help you dig for info in order to understand certain things. This was one of the things that made the tour unique, and a lot of fun.

She's very kind, intelligent, and she's a local with an incredible depth of knowledge about the area. As well as a curiosity about it...a couple stories she told made it clear she continues to talk to experts and learn details about all sorts of things (the architecture, some hints about Roger Williams, etc.) that, well they're interesting and -- I had so much fun. Felt like I learned a lot after, and I also had that satisfied feeling you get after hanging out with a cool, interesting person. Time very well spent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cullman, AL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Providence Revealed Through History and Architecture”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Deena is friendly guide that is very knowledgeable about the city of Providence. After a brief overview of the early history of the city, we embarked on a brisk stroll through the downtown and river walk areas. Her spontaneous commentary pointed out the history and architectural diversity of the city. Things that would not have been realized without a lifelong local. No questions went unanswered and her enthusiasm and passion for telling the story of her beloved city was obvious. Her presentation on the tour was an extemporaneous natural conversation. A great way to spend 2 or 3 hours and make Providence a special city to visit. Delightfully personal is the best description of the tour and the lady.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank whitholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Deena is fabulous”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed one day in providence and we would like to know more about the history of this City. We felt so lucky that we booked the tour with Deena. She is extremely knowledgable and was able to answer any questions we had ( trust me, we had a lot of questions). I would recommend anybody who stay in Provindence to book Deena's tour!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wenzhuo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Getting to know Providence”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently moved to Providence and wanted to learn more about the city's rich history. Deena was able to explain and show us some amazing sites within half a mile. We spent two hours getting to know the roots of a wonderful city through her passion for Providence. Would definitely recommend a tour with her.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnieQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“A great way to see the city”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Deena did a great job and is very knowledgeable regarding the history of Providence. A wonderful and pleasant experience and one of the highlights of the trip

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenoB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Providence Tours by Deena also viewed

 

Been to Providence Tours by Deena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing